Rosana Z.

Tarzana, CA



Background check passed as of 4/30/15

Message Rosana

Send Rosana a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Rosana or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 day
Replies in 1 day

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

York University
Politcal Science
Chicago School of Professional Psychology
Graduate Coursework


York University (Politcal Science)

Chicago School of Professional Psychology (Graduate Coursework)

About Rosana

I specialize in teaching English language skills such as spelling, grammar and vocabulary, reading comprehension, basic and essay writing, proof-reading, analytical and persuasive writing skills. I also teach ESL for newcomers, foreign languages such as Hebrew, basic computer skills such as Powerpoint, Word, Excel and Adobe Reader for adults and children.

Another area of expertise of mine is public speaking because I have excellent communication skills and able to attract others while I speak,and organization skills.

I am able to establish great rapport and relationships with my students, potential students and their parents/adults.

I have been tutoring test prep for two or more years for exams such as the ACT English, SAT English, ACT Reading, and TOEFL.

I am highly qualified working with gifted children, as well as children with ADD or ADHD, and Learning Disabilities in helping them form relationships with others, as well as in their organization skills, communication and speaking skills etc., ranging from children to adults.

I have a B.A. in Political Science from York University in June 2012. I tutored many students in Political Science, which is another area of focus for me. I am a Master's student earning a degree in Marriage Family Therapy under the clinical Psychology field from The Chicago School of Professional Psychology. I start in September 2015 and graduate with a Master's Degree (M.A). My anticipated graduation date is May 2018.
I specialize in teaching English language skills such as spelling, grammar and Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Tarzana, CA 91356
Background Check: Passed
ACT English, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, TOEFL, Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
ACT English, TOEFL
General Computer, Microsoft PowerPoint
ESL/ESOL, Farsi,
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Study Skills,
Microsoft PowerPoint

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I enjoy playing basketball and have been involved with being on various teams in school and outside of school for many years. I was the MVP one year for my high school team. It is a very fun sport to teach and also have fun in by interacting with other people. By playing basketball, you also learn more about yourself and other people and their behaviors and attitudes.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have tutored many students from kindergarten until grade 6 in math, reading and writing. More specifically, I have had experience working with my brothers and cousins on a one-to-one basis and diverting all my attention to their needs while tutoring/helping them. While tutoring various students, I applied different teaching methods which included games, prizes, flashcards, reading out-loud and writing simple sentences before harder things. I was also a reading buddy for students ages 8-10 and employed the same methods when meeting them once a week and everyone was satisfied and parents requested return visits.


Persian/Farsi is my mother tongue, and I grew up with speaking Farsi in the home with my family and relatives. I was born in Iran and moved to the States when I was two years old. I went to Farsi school to learn how to read and write better in Farsi when I was younger and was able to help my brothers with that language too. I am able to communicate fluently with others who speak Farsi as well and always practice learning new words in that language in order to be able to communicate with my family and friends and to better be exposed to the language myself.


I am very fluent in speaking Hebrew and am able to understand what is going on in a conversation. My writing in Hebrew is fluent as well. I went to Hebrew Day school until I entered College. During College in Canada, I took a class in Hebrew and managed to do well in it since I had previous experience in the language in order to improve. I always help my brother in high-school with his Hebrew assignments and he always manages to do very well on them with my help. He is very happy with the help I always provide him. In addition, I tutored a student for about 8-9 months for an hour twice a week in Canada before coming to move to LA and he was very impressed with my teaching/tutoring methods and if he was not moving to another state, he would have loved to continue working with me. He improved his Hebrew skills and even referred me to his other friends who needed help in this language.


I am obtaining a Master's degree in Marriage Family Therapy and clinical psychology. I have studied many courses in this field and have tutored students in college in introduction to Psychology. I have been able to create innovative methods during tutoring sessions for students to learn different concepts, theories and ideas in this subject.

Study Skills

I have had experience with working with students with different subjects, such as English. I would teach them methods on how to study effectively and receive better grades. This includes how to effectively use their time more wisely, how to efficiently study for tests and how to prepare writing a paper if needed for some students. Also in general, I taught them how to study properly in an environment that they are most likely to concentrate and do well in. I tutored these students by taking time with each individual for as much time as needed to get the skill instilled in them, and at the end they were satisfied. I also took a course in university to better educate myself on study skills in order how to improve on this skill and teach others. I have also helped my brother in particular with this skill.

York University
Politcal Science
Chicago School of Professional Psychology
Graduate Coursework


York University (Politcal Science)

Chicago School of Professional Psychology (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rosana will travel within 10 miles of Tarzana, CA 91356.