NEW FEATURES MORE

Over 20 tutoring hours

Faith S.

Stockton, CA

$28/hour

Experienced tutor in K-8th grade

In-person lessons
4.9 average from 8 ratings
Knowledgeable
— Ravi, Diamond Bar, CA on 6/19/15

Message Faith

Send Faith a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Faith or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 7 hours
Replies in 7 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of the Pacific
Psychology

Education

University of the Pacific (Psychology)

About Faith

Hello Everyone,

My name is Faith. I graduated from Walnut High School in 2013 and I am a current student at the University of the Pacific. I am majoring in psychology and working to graduate in 2017. I chose to major in psychology due to the many interesting aspects it has to offer. I love working with people and try to help out with their situation, whatever it may be.

I live to help others; so what better way to reach out to the community, than to help educate our future! Ever since high school, I have been proactive in the education of others. How did I start tutoring? I joined a club in high school, that tutored children in reading in an after school program. Every week, my fellow club mates and I would go out to a near by elementary school and spend the afternoon reading and doing various writing activities. My love for tutoring expanded.

During my college school year career, I have worked as a local Center Manager, handling tutor appointments, taking care of the center and as a tutor for most subjects. When I previously worked as community tutor, I was assigned to each a class with both 4th and 5th graders as an after school program at a near by elementary school. With individual tutoring, I was able to work one on one with students. My students have ranged from first graders to college students. During my sessions, I made sure that my students finished their homework. With the remaining time, I made sure that we were productive and taught them concepts that each individual was struggling with. In particular, I made sure one student, who was struggling in math, was an expert with the multiplication table. Another student struggled in reading and writing, so I made sure we went over worksheets outside of his class work.

In general, I teach students with whatever they need help with. I am very attentive in the needs of others. Understanding the basis of what your student learned and how he or she learns best is my priority. All students learn differently, and they just need to find their best fitting strategy. I am very patient and motivating towards helping your student learn. Any environment, whichever parents prefer and what the student is most comfortable with, is fine by me. I am willing to accommodate any needs!

I do ask that there be at least a 4 hour minimum notification of cancellation appointments. I am creative in my ways of teaching and hope to help you and your student! Please don't hesitate to contact me for any questions or concerns. I look forward to working with you!
Hello Everyone,

My name is Faith. I graduated from Walnut High School in 2013 and I am a current student at the University of the Pacific. I am majoring in psychology and working to graduate in 2017. I chose to major in psychology due to the many interesting aspects it has
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
4 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Stockton, CA 95207
In-person lessons

"Knowledgeable"

- Ravi, Diamond Bar, CA on 6/19/15
Math:
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Differential Equations, Elementary Math,
Geometry, Prealgebra,
SAT Math, Statistics
Science:
Psychology
English:
English, Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
Common Core, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SSAT, TOEFL
Language:
Speech, TOEFL
History:
Social Studies
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Dyslexia, Phonics
Elementary Education:
Common Core, Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar,
Handwriting, Phonics, Reading, Spelling,
Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I have much experience tutoring algebra 1 with middle and high school students. I provide a fun and memorable way of learning lessons.

Elementary Math

I have taught a classroom full of 4th and 5th graders on multiple subjects of elementary math. Also, with my individual tutoring, I have worked well with teaching his main subject of elementary math. Some tutoring methods I use are instilling the concept into the minds of the learners using dry erase markers and white boards, and using resources such as flash cards, and online computer games that add fun in the process of learning.

Grammar

I am capable of tutoring grammar very well. I teach grammar to my individual tutees. To help the tutee's grasp certain concepts, I make sure that my students read every day with me, making sure they understand how words and sentences are created and phrased. Books, computer games, and small activities are used in my teachings as well, in order to make learning more active and engaging.

Prealgebra

I am experienced in teaching pre-algebra. I have experience in teaching this subject. With my tutees, I make sure that they understand the subject by throwing many different examples at the learner. Repetitiveness is key in this subject. Making sure that the learner can fully complete problems that I assign based on the particular subject is one of my top priorities.

Spelling

Spelling is one of my main strong suits that I feel very comfortable teaching. Most of my tutees have progressed in their spelling capabilities, so I do have experience. Using flashcards, spelling games, and other activities, I'm able to teach this subject fairly well.

Writing

Writing is one of my strong subjects that I feel very confident in teaching. Writing is one of the main teachings that should be taught extensively, since the English language is very diverse. Using multiple tools such as the computer, books on writing, worksheets, and games, I feel as though I am able to help learners with this subject.

University of the Pacific
Psychology

Education

University of the Pacific (Psychology)

Knowledgeable — Revised paper an taught many concepts necessary to do well on paper. Patient and willing to go the extra mile. ...

— Ravi, Diamond Bar, CA on 6/19/15

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $28.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Faith will travel within 10 miles of Stockton, CA 95207.