Gretchen J.

Santa Rosa, CA


Experienced and Effective Elementary Tutor PreK-6th grade

In-person lessons

Message Gretchen

Send Gretchen a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Gretchen or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

North Park University


North Park University

About Gretchen

I love working with young students. I have had the pleasure of teaching in the classroom for the past six years and now look to continue teaching through tutoring. The opportunity to give one-on-one attention to your child is what motivates me. I am especially a lover of reading and math but have taught all subjects and all grade/age levels. I have a Elementary Education teaching degree and a minor in music so beginner flute and piano lessons are also options. You will also see other areas, in my profile, in which I am capable of helping your child.
The great joy of tutoring is seeing the look of pleasure on a child's face when they find a greater understanding of something they previously didn't have!
I love working with young students. I have had the pleasure of teaching in the classroom for the past six years and now look to continue teaching through tutoring. The opportunity to give one-on-one attention to your child is what motivates me. I am especially a lover of reading and Read more

1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 25 miles of Santa Rosa, CA 95403
In-person lessons
Special Needs:

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I catered with my family's company starting as a young teenager and into adulthood. I am an avid cook at home. I took "Cooking" for a semester my Senior Year of High School. I used some cooking in my job as a Summer School Teacher in the past. I have taught all 3 of my children to cook over the years.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education. I taught for 3 years following graduation. After taking time off to stay home with my young children I spent 6 years as a full time substitute teacher, mainly in elementary grades (Pre-K-6) but a lot in Middle School as well.
My other jobs have been teaching in nature. I have taught fitness classes at the YMCA, had 2 home businesses where I taught people to cook and create scrapbooks and now teach people how to Organize their Homes as in Professional Organizer.

Elementary Math

Math is one of my best subjects. I find it very easy to teach math to students and am able to come up with a variety of ways to explain it so that they understand, knowing that each child thinks and learns in different ways. What makes sense to one may not make sense to another. I have taught many years of Elementary Education of which Math is a core subject.

Elementary Science

I have taught at Elementary Schools for many years and Science is a core subject at those grade levels so it is something I have a lot of experience teaching. I am able to help guide and teach a child through the concepts of science so that they can learn to understand it.


I have worked out regularly since I was a teenager. I was a Fitness Instructor at the YMCA for 6 years, teaching Aerobics classes, Weight Training and Cycling. I have run in an Organized marathon type event and love to be active all the time. I play Volleyball, bike, run, and do a variety of other types of exercise.


I started playing flute in 5th grade and played through High School graduation. I have played ocassionally as an adult and helped to teach my daughter how to play the flute.


I am a stickler for proper grammar both as a teacher and as a parent. I think it is important for children (and adults) to learn to speak correctly in order to do well both in school and in other areas of life. It helps to sound intelligent and well spoken when looking for jobs and in many other areas of life.


Phonics is a part of the Elementary Education degree and I have a strong love of language and am rather particular about proper grammar and reading as it relates to phonics. I have helped students in this area as a teacher of young ages.


I took piano lessons as a child from third grade through 7/8th. I helped teach all 3 of my children how to play the piano. I would consider myself as being someone who can teach beginning piano but not more advanced.


Reading has always been one of my very favorite thing to do with children since my own were born (and before/since as a teacher)! I love to hear children read and grow in their ability to read and to comprehend. I enjoy teaching them to not only be able to read but to teach them how to think about what they are reading and figure out things about what they've read.


I took "Sewing" for 1 semester my Senior year of High School. I have continued to sew my whole adult life: clothes, curtains, pillows, chair reupholstering etc....


Spelling is a strong subject for me. I am able to spell most words without help and love thinking up tricks/methods for helping children be able to learn to spell words that they may have trouble with.

Study Skills

As a teacher and mom I believe I have many different suggestions/tools for helping students learn to have good study skills. As a teacher it was a continuous part of teaching to teach students how to properly "study" and not just "get their work done".


I love to teach children the meanings of words and synonyms and antonyms to help them better understand vocabulary and the use of it. This helps them to do so much better in their comprehension of reading and all other areas of learning. If you don't know what words mean you can get stuck or misunderstand anything.


I played Volleyball in both Junior High and High School. I also played on and off as an adult in different leagues. I now have a daughter who plays volleyball and we have worked together for her practice since she became interested in starting.

North Park University


North Park University

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Gretchen will travel within 25 miles of Santa Rosa, CA 95403.