Over 5 tutoring hours

Robert M.

Santa Monica, CA


Certified Tutor Available

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 1/27/14
5.0 average from 2 ratings

Message Robert

Send Robert a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Robert or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 2 hours
Replies in 2 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

SUNY Purchase
City College of City University of New York, Hunter College


SUNY Purchase

City College of City University of New York, Hunter College (Master's)

About Robert

Hello! My name is Robert and I am 29 years old. I just spent a year teaching third grade in a French/English program in a public school in Brooklyn, NYC, and have now moved to LA to teach the French side of a French/English bilingual program. I acquired my French during the two years I spent living and working in France as an ESL (English as a Second Language) teacher in four different elementary schools just near Paris. It was there that I discovered my passion for teaching, while acquiring real-life experience week after week for two years. I worked with children from 5-11 years old and also worked as a private tutor with children and adults of all ages and levels teaching them English. I even worked for a tutoring agency, and it was there that I learned to really expand my methods and make learning a lot more fun. I not only gained invaluable teaching experience while abroad, but I also learned to speak French almost fluently after starting out as a complete beginner.

I have a bachelor's degree from Purchase College where I studied Math and Art History. I received a teaching certification from Cambridge University in the UK and have a master's degree in teaching from Hunter College in New York City. I know for me, it is the right career choice. With all of my experience, I've realized that my skills are a great blessing because I am able to do what I love the most, teach others to do what I can do. There is no greater reward than watching a student overcome obstacles and improve. I like to keep my teaching upbeat, positive, and I like to try to use fun methods to learn things.

My areas of specialty include: FRENCH, ESL (English as a Second Language), GENERAL ELEMENTARY/JUNIOR HIGH, MATH (Elementary and High School/Preparing for Common Core standardized tests)

Having lived in France for two years, I was grateful to have a number of opportunities to travel throughout Europe. I visited London, Brussels, Barcelona, Berlin, Prague, Rome, Milan, Venice, and many more. Traveling has always been a passion of mine and I am sure many of you will agree. Besides traveling, my other interests include: learning other languages (I have currently just started learning Spanish), being with kids, museums, and films.

Thank you for taking the time to read all about me and I look forward to answering any more questions that you may have and look forward to hearing all about you!
Hello! My name is Robert and I am 29 years old. I just spent a year teaching third grade in a French/English program in a public school in Brooklyn, NYC, and have now Read more

24 hours notice required

Rate for more than one student is $80/hour If 1.5 hours works for you, I can offer a rate of $99.

Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Santa Monica, CA 90401
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
ACT Math,
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Elementary Math,
Precalculus, Trigonometry
ACT English, ACT Reading, English,
Proofreading, Reading,
American History, Social Studies
Special Needs:
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math,
Corporate Training:

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT Math

I have experience preparing students for this 60 minute and 60 question test. My experience will help us work faster and more efficiently to help you reach your goal of passing the test. I am very strong in Algebra and Geometry, as I spent two years studying math in my undergraduate studies. In addition to my studies in math and excellence throughout high school and college, I spent a lot of time tutoring various students in all different kinds of math.

Algebra 1

-spent two years studying Math in college
-have a wide range of tutoring experience in Math

Algebra 2

As a math minor during my undergraduate studies, I gained in-depth knowledge about Algebra and have honed my math skills throughout the years. I am now able to couple this knowledge with my skills gained during acquiring my master's degree in teaching. I also have taught various levels of math for more than 5 years.


I received an excellent score on the COOP Exam.
I am very strong in Math (studied it for two years in College).
I am very strong in English (worked as an ESL teacher for more than two years).

Elementary (K-6th)

I worked with grades K-5 for more than two years and especially love working with young children.

Elementary Math

-spent two years teaching in elementary school


I received straight A's in high School and college English classes. My love for English has turned me into an avid reader of novels and newspapers. I also worked as an ESL teacher for two years, where all areas of English needed to be mastered in order to provide an excellent teaching experience. I am currently pursuing a teaching degree which also requires this.


Teaching ESL/ESOL is where my greatest passion lies. I spent two rewarding years teaching ESL in four different elementary schools in Paris, France. While there, I also spent time giving private tutoring lessons and was able to experience teaching all levels and ages. In addition to my real-life experience and my inherent love for teaching ESL, I also received a CELTA (Certified English Language Teaching to Adults) certificate from Cambridge University. To compliment my certificate and experience, I am currently pursuing a master's degree in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages).


-studied French in high school and college
-lived in France for two years and have obtained an almost fluent level


They say that geometry is where the math brain and the art brain meet at a perfect rendezvous. Since I spent two years of my college career as a double major in art history and math, I believe that I am well equipped to handle geometry. I have tutored in geometry before for high school students, and I received exemplary scores in math as well as the regents.


-worked as an ESL teacher and tutor for more than two years
-extensive knowledge of the English language


I am certified by Cambridge University (CELTA), and I am currently pursuing a master's degree in teaching. While in my CELTA class, several lessons were specifically focused on phonics. We also taught real phonics lessons and were critiqued afterward.


Being consistently involved in Honors Math classes in high school, I passed Prealgebra with flying colors. Math has always been a strength and passion of mine. I began my College career as a Math major and completed such courses as Calculus I, II, and III.


Reading is a skill, and with the right tools it can go from difficult and boring to a breeze and a pleasure. The key is being given the right tools. I emphasize reading skills such as: using context clues, previewing, skimming and scanning, and predicting.


-received a 95 or above on almost all of the Regents
-areas of specialty: Math, French, and English


As a current student in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) mastering spelling is essential. I worked as an ESL teacher for two years where spelling always came into play. On top of my real-life experience I have an excellent track record in spelling from grammar school and high school. My spelling also needed to be up to par in college in order to complete rigorous demands for papers and assignments.

Study Skills

-great advocate of time management skills
-I worked and went to school at the same time so I had to learn to be fast and efficient
-worked with children at an After-School Study Program


I have experience teaching the reading, writing, listening, and speaking needed to pass the TOEFL exam. I spent several months working one-on-one with a student in France preparing for the exam. To compliment my experience, I am certified by Cambridge University (CELTA), where we were coached on how to prepare students taking exams such as the TOEFL. I am also currently pursuing a Master's degree in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages).


In teaching vocabulary, I emphasize using skills to build vocabulary, such as mnemonic devices and using context clues. Working together, we will be able to help build these skills. While working as an ESL teacher, I was responsible for carrying out many vocabulary lessons. It was during these lessons that I discovered a number of creative ways to teach vocabulary. As I am currently pursuing a teaching degree, I need to have an excellent command of the English language, including vocabulary.


I taught ESL in Paris, France for two years, where I tutored many clients focused on improving their writing skills. We worked together and evaluated progress at certain checkpoints. I was also an Art History major in college, which required my writing skills to be excellent in order to fulfill assignment requirements.

SUNY Purchase
City College of City University of New York, Hunter College


SUNY Purchase

City College of City University of New York, Hunter College (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $68.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Rate for more than one student is $80/hour If 1.5 hours works for you, I can offer a rate of $99.

Travel policy

Robert will travel within 30 miles of Santa Monica, CA 90401.

Background Check Status for Robert M.

Robert M. passed a background check on 1/27/14. The check was ordered by Robert through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Robert, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.