Over 1250 tutoring hours

Aaron K.

Santa Clara, CA


Math, Economics, and Test Taking

Background check passed as of 10/17/15
5.0 average from 358 ratings
Flexible and knowledgeable tutor
— Raman, Cupertino, CA on 6/23/15

Message Aaron

Send Aaron a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Aaron or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 hour
Replies in 1 hour

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

UW - Stevens Point


UW - Stevens Point

About Aaron

I have quite a bit of experience as a teacher, tutor, and trainer in a variety of areas. Through high school and college I was a math tutor and have been tutoring professionally for the past two years around 70 hours each week while my fiancee attends graduate school. I have worked with at least 10 different students in all major mathematics classes starting with Algebra through Advanced Calculus. I work with many college students at Stanford or Santa Clara University during the day, and meet with primarily high level high school students in the evenings.

My favorite subject to teach is Calculus, and recently taught an 8th grader (in Algebra 1) who was looking for a challenge, all of AP Calculus AB in 3 months, and he achieved a 5/5 on the AP exam in May. I feel very confident that I can help anyone grasp Calculus at a high level.

My father has been a high school teacher in math, physics and astronomy for over 30 years, so I grew up learning things from him, and gaining teaching prowess. I am planning on pursuing a Ph.D. in economics, but I am taking a year off to focus on research, and to support my significant other as she begins her Ph.D. program in clinical psychology.

While in college, I have spent two years as the chess coach at the high school level, which included working with 10-15 students 2-3 times weekly. I also was the president of the economics club at my college for two years, and I did a lot of peer tutoring in economics and mathematics.

My tutoring method is simple - Teaching to make connections to things that students currently understands will increase their confidence, which is key in math and science. Teaching the process, and using repetition in mathematics will also help increase confidence and understanding. I am good at adapting to different learning styles which I have researched extensively to help my career in business, and am confident I can be successful teaching any of my areas of expertise.
I have quite a bit of experience as a teacher, tutor, and trainer in a variety of areas. Through high school and college I was a math tutor and have been tutoring professionally for the past two years around 70 hours each week while my fiancee attends graduate school. I have worked with at least Read more

12 hours notice required

Hourly rate flexible depending on lesson length. For example, two hour lessons start at $175/hour.

Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Santa Clara, CA 95051
Background Check: Passed

"Flexible and knowledgeable tutor"

- Raman, Cupertino, CA on 6/23/15

"Excellent Teacher"

- Germaine, Lake Charles, LA on 8/26/16


- Victoria, Armonk, NY on 7/7/16

"Thanks for the help"

- Thomas, Stanford, CA on 1/11/16

"Last minute help"

- Linda, San Jose, CA on 12/20/15

"Knowledgeable and patient tutor"

- Janet, Palo Alto, CA on 12/2/15

"Excellent Tutor"

- Carlos, Santa Clara, CA on 11/20/15

"So excited!"

- Cindy, San Jose, CA on 11/18/15

"Great tutor with calm demeanor"

- Amy, San Jose, CA on 10/30/15

"Aaron, Excellent , professional, very focused"

- Vivek, Cupertino, CA on 10/28/15

"Knowledgeable and adaptable math tutor"

- Susan, Saratoga, CA on 9/7/15

"In my 16 year old's words, "He was awesome"

- Karen, Sunnyvale, CA on 6/4/15

"Very good tutor"

- Nitzan, Los Altos, CA on 6/3/15

"Finally Someone Who Enjoys Teaching Math"

- Joe, Los Gatos, CA on 2/13/15

"Great Tutor for Tests"

- Curtis, San Jose, CA on 11/23/14

"Great Tutor"

- Mark, Campbell, CA on 5/28/14

"Encouraging tutor helped raise grades"

- Madi, Santa Clara, CA on 5/8/14

"Highly recommend!"

- Baljit, San Jose, CA on 10/28/13
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus,
Differential Equations,
Elementary Math, Geometry, Linear Algebra,
Prealgebra, Precalculus,
Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
ACT Science
Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ACT Science, GRE, SAT Math
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word, STATA
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
GRE, Marketing,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I was a business major in college, and switched that to economics, but I've taken what would be considered a business minor. Also I ran my own marketing business for two summers. I tutored business informally at the college level.


I tutor AP Calculus and college calculus at all levels. All of my high school students have achieved 5's on the AP test. Last year I worked with an 8th grader that had only taken Algebra 1 interested in advancing his skills, we met a few times each week through the spring and also achieved a 5 on the AP test (he also did a lot of homework!).


I was a chess coach for 2 years at Stevens Point Area Senior High. I won the state chess championship in 2007 for division 3, and competed for 2 years in high school chess in Wisconsin. I have a USCF membership rating of 1108 (as of a long time ago), my online ratings are around 1650.

Differential Equations

I took differential equations in college, and continued to take a more advanced calculus class above that. I am very comfortable with differential equations and feel that I could tutor it, as I have tutored peers in my program in the past.


In this course I got an A. Aside from that, I'm very familiar with Stata and Excel and using those to run regressions and even do macroeconomic projections. I'm planning on graduate school in economics, and have written various papers that use econometric methods to answer tough questions. I also was a math major, and took actuarial classes with some econometric emphasis.


I've tutored students in economics at all levels from the high school level to MBA students at MIT. All of my AP economics students in high school classes have achieved 5's on the AP exams for both Macroeconomics and Microeconomics.

Linear Algebra

I've taken and received an A- in both Linear Algebra and Intermediate Linear algebra. It was my favorite class that I took in my Math major, and I would feel very comfortable tutoring it. I tutored this subject informally with peers in the math center on campus.


I took symbolic logic in college and received an A. I also had other philosophy classes that taught logic and feel comfortable teaching the subject. I tutored for symbolic logic, via the introduction to advanced math class that was a requirement for the math major. I've written many proofs both in math and philosophy and taught how to do so.


I received an A in marketing in my college class. I also ran a marketing branch office for two summer breaks for Vector Marketing and have exposure to real world applications. I would feel very comfortable teaching principles of marketing, as I have tutored other business classes.


One of my successes last year was an Algebra 1 student (who I have tutored in chess) who wanted to advance his math skills. He was willing to do a lot of homework so we worked through all of high school math including AP Calculus and he scored a 5/5 score on the AP test.

UW - Stevens Point


UW - Stevens Point

Flexible and knowledgeable tutor — Aaron taught me the basics of calculus in the beginning and helped me work out the more challenging problems as time went on. He was very patient and understanding and would often make comical remarks to lighten the mood. He is very smart and has clearly attained a high level of mathematical proficiency. I would highly recommend him. ...

— Raman, Cupertino, CA on 6/23/15

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $250.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Hourly rate flexible depending on lesson length. For example, two hour lessons start at $175/hour.

Travel policy

Aaron will travel within 15 miles of Santa Clara, CA 95051.