NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Stephanie S.

San Leandro, CA

$65/hour

Experienced Berkeley Grad for English and Language Arts

$65/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Stephanie will reply soon.

Response time: 9 hours

Contact Stephanie

UC Berkeley
Social Welfare and City Planning

Education

UC Berkeley (Social Welfare and City Planning)

About Stephanie

I have been teaching and tutoring for the past 20 years, specializing in English, Reading, Grammar, Vocabulary, Writing, History, and Geography. I have also taken several classes and workshops over the years to improve my teaching skills, and am continually striving to improve my abilities.

I have a Bachelor's degree from UC Berkeley and home educated my four children for 16 years in all subjects for grades K-10. Two of them have graduated from university, the third is finishing his degree, and my youngest attends UC Berkeley in the Bioengineering program.

I make time to discover each student's learning style and focus on interacting well with students of all backgrounds and levels. I am outgoing and warm and want to develop a good rapport with each student. I strive to increase each student's love of learning and their academic confidence.

I work diligently with each student to enhance their skills and always seek feedback on what works best and what does not. And to ensure that the parent and student are completely satisfied with each lesson, I do regular assessments and will give progress reports. And I want their money and time to be working for them, and have the student progress at a realistic pace.

I am flexible with lesson times and I offer make-ups when needed. I am willing to travel to the student's home or meet at a public library.

I look forward to hearing from you and brainstorming ideas to meet your concerns. I hope to work together with you so that your student may reach their full potential and gain a strong sense of confidence in their studies.
I have been teaching and tutoring for the past 20 years, specializing in English, Reading, Grammar, Vocabulary, Writing, History, and Geography. I have also taken several classes and workshops over the years to improve my teaching skills, and am continually striving to improve my abilities.

I have a Bachelor's degree from UC Berkeley
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required

If you have two siblings I will give a discount.

Travel Radius
Travels within 8 miles of San Leandro, CA 94577
English:
English,
Grammar, Literature, Reading,
Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
Common Core
History:
American History, Geography, Religion,
Social Studies,
World History
Special Needs:
Phonics
Elementary Education:
Common Core,
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Handwriting,
Phonics,
Reading,
Spelling,
Study Skills,
Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Common Core

I have many years of experience teaching the Common Core subjects and am able to help your student in all of the language arts. My areas of specialization are: reading, grammar, writing, literature, and vocabulary. I will focus on helping each student meet the required standards and work with them in their area of weakness.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have tutored many students over my 20 years of experience that are elementary age. I work well with each of them in all subjects, but especially in all Language Arts. This is a wonderful age and most of these students are full of curiosity and a positive outlook and a desire to excel in school.

English

English has been my main specialization for the last 20 years that I have been teaching and tutoring. I cover grammar, writing, vocabulary, reading comprehension, and literature. I also strive to help the student read and appreciate a variety of good books that stretch their knowledge and their appetite for learning.

Handwriting

Handwriting is a subject that takes practice and more practice. I am willing to help your student have legible handwriting and progress in their ability.

Phonics

I have tutored many students in phonics and learning to read, and am well acquainted with learning issues related to phonics. I can address these issues and come up with realistic strategies to overcome them.

Reading

I have taught many students to read over the last 20 years, including my four children whom I home-educated. I will focus on phonics and reading comprehension, as well as vocabulary and grammar, to help the student progress in his/her reading. And I will encourage the student to read and appreciate a variety of books, both for their learning skill and for their enjoyment.

Religion

I have taken several religion classes, both in college and post-graduation, and have researched and written about several. I have also tutored students from different faiths and backgrounds and strive to help each one learn about their histories and key components. I enjoy working with students to help them understand different religions and their significance.

Social Studies

I have tutored the Social Studies subjects for many years and will strive to help your student increase their understanding and ability. As we prioritize these subjects, I will help your student learn about our nation and community and how they are interrelated. I majored in Social Welfare at UC Berkeley and took many sociology, history, and psychology classes, and thoroughly enjoy these fields.

Spelling

In my 20 years of teaching and tutoring I have helped almost every student with spelling. This subject is vital to all of the Language Arts, and I strive to encourage each student to practice and learn spelling techniques. There are many creative ways to practice spelling, including games, dictation, reading and noticing how words are spelled, and basic spelling lists.

Study Skills

I have been teaching and tutoring for 20 years, including 16 years home-educating my four children in all subjects K-10. I am dedicated to instruct each student to be organized, to be diligent, and to complete every assignment. Having strong study skills is vital for every student to succeed and advance in all levels of education.

UC Berkeley
Social Welfare and City Planning

Education

UC Berkeley (Social Welfare and City Planning)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $65.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

If you have two siblings I will give a discount.

Travel policy

Stephanie will travel within 8 miles of San Leandro, CA 94577.