Over 100 tutoring hours

Angie S.

San Jose, CA


Experienced Teacher: ESL, Learning Disabilities, Reading, and More

Background check passed as of 7/12/14
4.9 average from 58 ratings
Great results for short period of really intensive English studies!
— Yura, San Jose, CA on 11/21/14

Message Angie

Send Angie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Angie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 hour
Replies in 1 hour

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
Civil Engineering
University of California, Santa Barbara


Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo (Civil Engineering)

University of California, Santa Barbara (MEd)

About Angie

I have 20 years of teaching experience. I taught math and science in middle school, as well as ESL to adults. For the past nine years, I have home schooled my children, and helped develop curriculum and small classes in the homeschool community. I am also a scout leader and active with the Maker community. I have a master's degree in education and have earned a teaching credential in physics and a multiple subject teaching credential for lower grade levels. I also have a bachelor's degree in civil engineering, so I have a strong math and science background. I am currently teaching an adult ESL class and tutoring several students in subjects ranging from reading to math to help with learning disabilities.

Both of my home schooled children have dyslexia, so I am familiar with helping children with learning differences use their strengths to succeed. I believe that all people have strengths and weaknesses, and I would be delighted to help any student find ways to learn that work for him or her. I am patient and able to help students stay focused on the task at hand. I am also good at breaking down overwhelming learning tasks into bite-sized chunks which helps students learn at a pace that is challenging but doable. Having taught my own kids as a home school teacher, I am aware of lots of different approaches to learning and I am used to building a custom learning plan in all subjects.

All sessions take place in my home on a residential block in downtown San Jose, because there I have all my resources within reach. I'm often changing my tutoring session plans as I go, based on the always changing needs of students, so it's helpful to have lots of materials handy.

I look forward to hearing from you and helping you have success in your studies!
I have 20 years of teaching experience. I taught math and science in middle school, as well as ESL to adults. For the past nine years, I have home schooled my children, and helped develop Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 0 miles of San Jose, CA 95112
Background Check: Passed

"Great results for short period of really intensive English studies!"

- Yura, San Jose, CA on 11/21/14

"Definitely recommend!"

- Angel, Santa Clara, CA on 3/2/15

"Highly Recommend!"

- Jason, San Jose, CA on 12/2/14

"Great Tutor!"

- Linda, San Jose, CA on 8/25/14

"Fantastic Tutor!"

- Ronni, San Jose, CA on 8/13/14

"There Is No Better!!!"

- Aaron, San Jose, CA on 7/27/14
Algebra 1,
Elementary Math,
Physical Science
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
Common Core
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Common Core,
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting,
Reading, Study Skills

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I have taken advanced math courses as part of my degree in Civil Engineering. I taught math at the middle school level. I understand that math can be difficult for many people. My goal is to break concepts down into bite-sized chunks so that students can experience small successes and get beyond the frustration.


The test covers content that teachers would teach in elementary classrooms. I am qualified to teach that content because I have a multiple subject teaching credential and because I have taught my own children all subjects as a home school parent/teacher. I have taken and passed the CBEST myself.

Common Core

I've tutored several students in English language arts/literacy and math (the subjects covered by the common core) and helped them succeed in classes that used a common core curriculum. I've spent time reading the standards and understand what is expected of students. Because I have a masters degree in education and a teaching credential, and have taught in classroom settings, I understand the role of standards and how they affect the students' experience in the classroom.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Master's degree in Education and have earned a multiple subject teaching credential. I have home schooled both of my children starting in kindergarten and continuing on beyond 6th grade. I have also taught groups of home schooled children in various subjects at various times. I have taught seventh grade math and science.

Elementary Math

I have worked with several students on elementary math. Often students who are "behind" just need extra time and practice in order to understand the concepts. I also see a lot of success by trying different ways of explaining concepts until I find one that makes sense for the student. In third grade and beyond, many students have trouble with multiplication facts (a foundational skill used in most later math concepts) and I have an approach to teaching those that has helped many struggling students.


I taught ESL to adult classes at MetroEd and East Side Adult Education for three years until my children were born. I am a patient teacher who can break down learning tasks for my students to create a learning pace that's doable and challenging.


I have tutored two young students who struggled with handwriting, taking them from writing very poorly and with difficulty to a fully functional writing ability. I have used the Handwriting Without Tears program extensively, as well as others. I have also combined that program with free-writing exercises, copy work, drawing, and other exercises as needed by the students. I have been informally trained in this area by a Lindamood Bell trained teacher.


I've worked with 100+ home schooled kids in a variety of subjects in one-on-one and small group settings during my 11 years as a home school parent and two years as a tutor. I'm familiar with a variety of curriculum and philosophies, especially unschooling and Charlotte Mason, which I used with my own kids. I understand that home schooling families that are looking for a tutor will often have different scheduling needs and different learning goals and parents will often need different kinds of support compared to typical schooled families.


I have been knitting and crocheting for nine years, and have made many different kinds of projects using a wide variety of techniques. I am also experienced with hand sewing, machine sewing, and embroidery. I also know how to hand dye yarn. I have taught both of my children all of these skills and have taught many others as well.


I have worked with two young students as they learned to read, using phonics and other methods as needed. While working with these students I have been informally mentored by a Lindamood Bell trained teacher. I have used a variety of methods and lots of different materials, so I can adapt to the needs of the individual student. While phonics is foundational to reading, some students need to use other methods in addition to phonics in order to have success with reading. I have earned a multiple subject teaching credential, which qualified me to teach reading, as well as other subjects, at the elementary level in California.


I've been sewing for myself for several years, now focusing mostly on clothing for myself. I have also worked with several young students to help them design and sew dresses for themselves. I have mostly taught myself to sew, using internet tutorials. The best way to learn to sew is to start sewing.

Study Skills

For the last nine years I have worked with two students, overseeing their work in all subjects, helping them schedule their study time, and helping them break down overwhelming tasks into smaller ones. As a trained teacher with a Master of Education degree, I have a broad understanding of how to help children learn. My approach is to help students with as much structure as they need, with the goal that, over time, they will gradually be able to structure their studies themselves.

Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
Civil Engineering
University of California, Santa Barbara


Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo (Civil Engineering)

University of California, Santa Barbara (MEd)

Great results for short period of really intensive English studies! — We have been in the San Jose area for a little over of 2 months from Eastern Europe with 2 kids – 11 and 10 years old. Kids were studying English for some time before but had trouble speaking and had read only 2 small books before. We were really lucky to have Angie as a tutor for our kids for this period of intensive language training since we achieved tremendous results for such a short period. ...

— Yura, San Jose, CA on 11/21/14

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Angie will travel within 0 miles of San Jose, CA 95112.