Over 50 tutoring hours

Ashley A.

San Diego, CA


TEFL Certified ESL Instructor at UCSD

In-person lessons
Replies in 14 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
12 Ratings
14hrs Response Time
Saved my life on econ test
— Troy, San Diego, CA on 10/8/13

Message Ashley

Send Ashley a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Ashley or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of California San Diego
Intl Studies


University of California San Diego (Intl Studies)

About Ashley

Hi! My name is Ashley and I am currently an ESL Instructor at UCSD. I teach many kinds of classes to all levels including conversation/speaking, reading, writing, vocabulary, academic listening, pronunciation, and listening. I have been teaching at UCSD for almost two years and I also am a substitute ESL instructor at INTRAX in downtown. I have also taught 5th and 6th grade students in Chiang Mai, Thailand, for a year. I have worked with students of all ages and levels. I love meeting new students and being able to help them achieve their goals.

I am happy to tutor students of any age, background, ethnicity, or level. If the students is a child, an adult (preferably a parent) should be present.

Cancellation Policy: I require 10 hours notice to cancel a session. The late cancellation fee is half of the scheduled session time. If I have to cancel, I will tutor for 30 minutes for free during the next session.
Hi! My name is Ashley and I am currently an ESL Instructor at UCSD. I teach many kinds of classes to all levels including conversation/speaking, reading, writing, Read more

10 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of San Diego, CA 92109
In-person lessons

"Saved my life on econ test"

- Troy, San Diego, CA on 10/8/13
Algebra 1, Geometry, Prealgebra
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Anthropology, Archaeology, Biology, Chemistry
American History, Anthropology, Archaeology, Geography, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Public Speaking
Algebra 1, Biology, Chemistry, Economics,
English, ESL/ESOL,
Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Writing
Fitness, Soccer,
Track & Field
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I took a number of lower division Economics courses in college and began with some upper division courses. My major of International Studies included an International political economics course where we studied the economics of development. I changed part of my major to be less focused on economics because many of the interesting courses were no longer offered. I always received high grades in my economics classes.


I have spent over 2 years working with ESL students in and out of the United States. I have taught students from elementary school to adults of all levels and in different focuses of English - listening, reading, academic listening, conversation/speaking, writing, idioms, etc.


I have played soccer for over 15 years, beginning at age 5 and playing through high school and university. I was a captain of multiple teams, which included running drills and conditioning, and know the game very well. I have experience working with children and adults.


I grew up playing tennis with my family but really developed my skills in high school where I played for the varsity team for 3 years. I took lessons from a tennis pro for 4 years and mastered technique and strategies for the game. I was the captain, playing both singles and doubles, for 3 years where I was running drills, conditioning, and coordinating the team. I played in CIF as an individual player and as a team which included playing ranked players in California.

University of California San Diego
Intl Studies


University of California San Diego (Intl Studies)

Saved my life on econ test — Ashley was fantastic. I was going to flunk my econ test at USD and Ashley spend all the time I needed in our tutoring session and was there for me on the phone and email after wards for additional questions. ...

— Troy, San Diego, CA on 10/8/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 10 hours notice required

Travel policy

Ashley will travel within 20 miles of San Diego, CA 92109.

Background Check Status for Ashley A.

Ashley A. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Ashley, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.