Over 20 tutoring hours

Khristina B.

San Diego, CA

$40/hr

Multi-talented Tutor with Teaching Certificates

Replies in 20 hours
Background check passed as of 4/20/15
4.5 Avg. Rating
 
 
14 Ratings
 
 
20hrs Response Time
Exceptional Tutor
— Rosemarie, Temecula, CA on 3/13/13

Message Khristina

Send Khristina a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Khristina or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Pomona College (Claremont Colleges)
University of Exeter, U.K.
Master's

Education

Pomona College (Claremont Colleges)

University of Exeter, U.K. (Master's)

About Khristina

I am an experienced instructor with a B.A. in Art with a minor in Biology from Pomona College in Claremont, California and a MSc. in Conservation and Biodiversity from the University of Exeter. In addition, I hold a teaching certification from the state of Florida in Mathematics (Grade 6-9), Biology (Grade 6-12), and Art (K-12).

I am a born teacher, who has been teaching and working with children of all ages for over Seventeen years. During this time, I have worked with children, both on a one on one basis as well as in larger groups. Quite often, I have had the responsibility of supervising groups as large as forty. Most recently, I have worked as a Life Science teacher at Thurgood Marshall Fundamental Middle School. During my time as a classroom teacher, I gained experience in developing and adjusting curriculum to best fit my student needs, communication with parents, and classroom management. I have also worked with a wide range of students, from those that are gifted to those with learning disabilities and short term memory deficiencies.

I have a wide range of tutoring abilities but I am particularly experienced tutoring math. I have always loved math and have found it quite enjoyable to improve others abilities in this subject. I started tutoring math at the age of 15, tutoring my peers through a school program. I continued working in this program twice a week for four years. When I entered college, I tutored a number of students both privately and through tutoring companies. Although algebra is my favorite subject within mathematics, I have tutored everything from basic addition and subtraction to calculus. What makes me a good math teacher is my ability to take something that seems complex and break it down into simple, easy to understand steps. I love seeing my students face when they finally understand a concept and begin to gain confidence in their mathematical abilities.

In addition, I have taught and tutored art, life sciences, reading and writing, preschool, and standardized testing (such as SAT's). I have also attended prestigious universities and would be glad to help students prepare for entrance. I am a very organized person with good oral communication skills. I am proficient in most computer programs. I also have a great personality and know how to be a good team player. I am extremely reliable and always early. I also have my own car and a safe driving record.
I am an experienced instructor with a B.A. in Art with a minor in Biology from Pomona College in Claremont, California and a MSc. in Conservation and Biodiversity from the University of Exeter. In addition, I hold a teaching certification Read more

Policies
Cancellation
12 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of San Diego, CA 92115
Background Check: Passed

"Exceptional Tutor"

- Rosemarie, Temecula, CA on 3/13/13
Khristina replied on 3/14/2013

Thanks so much Rosemarie! It was a pleasure assisting your daughter.

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Geometry,
Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Biology,
Chemistry, Ecology, Zoology
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Art:
Drawing,
Painting
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Biology,
Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry,
Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ASVAB, GED, GRE, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I have tutored Algebra for over 17 years. I also hold teaching certificates in math.

Biology

I have over 17 years if tutoring experience. In addition, I hold a Master's degree in biology and have taught both lower level and college level classes in biology.

Drawing

I have been drawing my whole life. I graduated from Pomona College with a B.A. in Fine Arts. In addition, I taught middle school art for four years and I am certified to teach the subject.

Elementary Math

I have been tutoring math and writing for over 17 years. I began as a peer tutoring volunteer in high school. Since then I have tutored for a number of companies and many individuals. I have had great success seeing students achieve understanding and raise their grades.

Geometry

I have been tutoring math for over 17 years. I also hold a teaching subject in the subject. I have worked with many different types of students and will tailor my lessons to your learning style.

Pomona College (Claremont Colleges)
University of Exeter, U.K.
Master's

Education

Pomona College (Claremont Colleges)

University of Exeter, U.K. (Master's)

Exceptional Tutor — Khristina's a wonderfully talented tutor, patient, knowledgable, uses words and makes analogies students can understand. She helped my daughter raise her AP Biology grade a full grade. ...

— Rosemarie, Temecula, CA on 3/13/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Khristina will travel within 20 miles of San Diego, CA 92115.

Background Check Status for Khristina B.

Khristina B. passed a background check on 4/20/15. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Khristina, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.