NEW FEATURES MORE

Search
Over 700 tutoring hours

Jessica Q.

San Diego, CA

$55/hour

ESL/English Reading and Writing Specialist for All Ages

4.9 average from 159 ratings
Very helpful and patient!
— Amber, Coronado, CA on 7/8/14

$55/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Jessica will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Jessica

UCLA
Linguistics and Phil
San Diego State University
Master's

Education

UCLA (Linguistics and Phil)

San Diego State University (Master's)

About Jessica

Hi, I'm Jessica. I am currently an ESL instructor at UC San Diego Extension, where I teach reading, writing, grammar, listening, conversation, test prep, and mechanics and spelling to international students at all levels. I have taught and tutored many different levels and academic subjects: writing, reading, math, science, research skills, debate, etc., in addition to academic and informal ESL. I've tutored children as young as kindergarten and adult students as well. I have an M.A. in Linguistics and Teaching ESL from San Diego State University, where I also worked as an ESL instructor. I have an undergraduate degree from UCLA, where I tutored students in writing and taught ESL classes for international students. I love to tutor because I believe the one-on-one interaction with a student is the best way for the teacher and student to become comfortable with each other, which is when real learning takes place.

Some information about my policies:

1- I tutor any student of any age. All education levels, ethnicities, and backgrounds are welcome.

2- If the student is a child, an adult (preferably a parent) must be at home during the tutoring session as well.

3- Tutoring takes place at the student’s home or in a public place such as a coffee shop or library. I will travel 5 miles from 92104 (my home) or 5 miles from 92037 (my work). If we meet outside of that area, I will charge for one-way extra driving time.

4- If you must cancel a session, please inform me by phone, text message, or e-mail at least 12 hours before the scheduled session. If you cancel less than 12 hours before a scheduled session, the late cancellation fee is half of the session time.

5- If I must cancel or reschedule, I will tutor 30 minutes of the next session for free.
Hi, I'm Jessica. I am currently an ESL instructor at UC San Diego Extension, where I teach reading, writing, grammar, listening, conversation, test prep, and mechanics and spelling to international students at all levels. I have taught and tutored many different levels and academic subjects: writing, reading, math, science, research skills, Read more

Policies
Cancellation
12 hours notice required

30 minutes minimum for elementary school students within 5 miles. One hour minimum for everyone else.

Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of San Diego, CA 92104

"Very helpful and patient!"

- Amber, Coronado, CA on 7/8/14

"Exceptional Tutor"

- Amanda, San Diego, CA on 6/30/14

"GREAT Tutor Selection for My 6 Year Old!"

- Jamie, San Diego, CA on 4/10/14

"Great Motivator!"

- Steven, San Diego, CA on 5/26/12

"Very Patient AND instructional for needs presented!"

- Stacie, El Cajon, CA on 4/22/12
Math:
Elementary Math, Geometry
English:
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading, Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Italian
History:
American History, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar,
Reading,
Spelling, Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I've been working with elementary-aged children since I was in elementary school myself, where I participated in a program that paired students to help each other improve reading skills. My patience and love of children allow me to view every interaction with a child as a chance for both teaching and learning. I am confident tutoring all kindergarten through 6th grade subjects.

English

I have been tutoring English language and literature for almost six years. I have had students of all different ages and backgrounds, from elementary school children writing their first sentences and paragraphs to college-level and post-grad students writing assignments for class and grad school applications. I specialize in explaining grammar points in simple language, seeing the 'big picture' of organization, and making sure that content and analysis are appropriate for the assignment.

ESL/ESOL

I have an M.A. in Applied Linguistics and Teaching English as a Second Language, and currently work as an instructor in English language at UCSD. I have a B.A. from UCLA in Linguistics and Philosophy, and I also minored in Teaching English as a Second Language. I have taken classes in teaching Reading and Writing, Speaking and Listening, and Grammar, in addition to studying the methods of teaching and the sounds and structure of English. I have been an instructor for academic reading and writing classes as well as conversational and vocabulary classes. I have tutored undergraduate students, children, and adults, and have assisted both native and non-native speakers with developing reading and writing skills. I have taught all levels, from very basic beginners to advanced conversational classes of adults. I have tutored school-aged children in reading and writing, with an emphasis on vocabulary and developing fluency. My education has helped me to develop a thorough understanding of the workings of English and the makings of a good English teacher, and my teaching experience has given me the practical knowledge to apply that education.

Grammar

As an instructor of English as a Second Language, I have studied not only English grammar, but the grammar of other languages as well. I specialize in tailoring the level of my instructions and corrections to the student. I focus on the most important and common errors first, and then move on to the more specific and nuanced grammatical and mechanical choices. I endeavor to explain grammar in a logical and direct manner so that students can use what they already know to begin to find and correct their own mistakes.

Reading

I have been teaching reading to all levels of native and non-native speakers for the past 10 years. With all my students, I use both bottom-up and top-down approaches to increase both speed and accuracy and overall comprehension. I also include instruction in sentence structure, vocabulary, and decoding where appropriate. I have structured 16- and 10-week classes as well as one-on-one tutoring sessions spanning several months and have a record of success in all these formats.

Writing

I have been teaching writing to all levels of native and non-native speakers for the past 10 years. I started as a peer tutor as an undergraduate student, and as I learned more about grammar, word choice, sentence structure, organization, and rhetorical appeals and patterns in graduate school, I became a more effective teacher and tutor who is able to communicate those essentials to students. I have worked with students on basic sentence structure and building ideas into simple paragraphs, and I have successfully coached students working on complex research projects, business proposals, and personal statements. My combination of education and experience make me confident in my skills as a writing tutor.

UCLA
Linguistics and Phil
San Diego State University
Master's

Education

UCLA (Linguistics and Phil)

San Diego State University (Master's)

Very helpful and patient!

Jessica is great! She made me feel comfortable from the moment I contacted her. I appreciate that she gets back to me right away. At times I felt like I was asking questions I should have learned in grade school, but she reassured me that her students ask the same questions. She breaks things down and gives me tips that my professors don't. I wish Jessica was my one of my professors!

— Amber, Coronado, CA on 7/8/14

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $55.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

30 minutes minimum for elementary school students within 5 miles. One hour minimum for everyone else.

Travel policy

Jessica will travel within 5 miles of San Diego, CA 92104.