NEW FEATURES MORE

Sheldon D.

Palm Desert, CA

$65/hour

Enjoy Learning from a Very Entertaining and Fun Tutor

In-person lessons

Message Sheldon

Send Sheldon a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Sheldon or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies after +3 days
Replies after +3 days

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Arizona
BSEE

Education

University of Arizona (BSEE)

About Sheldon

I graduated University about 20 years ago and I am now working in the Computer Industry, specializing in Software and Hardware. Both my mother and father were school teachers and my two sisters are currently teaching in the LA Unified School District. So Teaching has always been a part of my life. One of my jobs is I am the Manager of Employee Training and teach my fellow employees both Software and Hardware skills, which includes, Programming, QA, JDE Edwards E1. and PeopleSoft Skills. So it is only natural that I use my teaching skills as a Tutor.

I am also a very good athlete. I have played baseball, ran track, football, tennis and golf, both in High School and College. I enjoy coaching Little League and Pop Warner Football as well. I have coached young athletes in the various skills of golf and tennis many times in the past.

I enjoy helping students, I love to teach as well. Both of my parents were teachers and both my sisters are currently teachers, so it comes very naturally to me.

Computer Science is what I do for a living. I have been working in IT Management for about 20 years now and I am very versed in Software and Hardware Applications.

Throughout my life, I have always gotten my best grades in American History. I still love to learn as much as I can about our great country, starting with our Founding Fathers and continuing through what is going on in our Country with our Current President, Barack Obama.

I have always played golf and tennis. I was on the golf and tennis teams at my high school and at my University.

I enjoy being not only a tutor in many specialized subjects, and of course athletics, including, baseball, football, basketball, and of course golf and tennis.
I graduated University about 20 years ago and I am now working in the Computer Industry, specializing in Software and Hardware. Both my mother and father were school teachers and my two sisters are currently teaching in the LA Unified School District. So Teaching has always been a part of Read more

Policies
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Palm Desert, CA 92211
In-person lessons
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, SAT Math
Science:
ACT Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Ecology, Electrical Engineering, Nutrition, Organic Chemistry, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology
Music:
Piano
Art:
Art History, Ballroom Dancing, Film, Painting, Photography, Theatre
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Literature, Public Speaking,
SAT Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, Career Development, College Counseling, Common Core, GED, SAT Math, SAT Reading, TOEFL
Computer:
AutoCAD, Computer Engineering, Computer Gaming, Computer Science,
Java, Macintosh, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Project, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word, Oracle,
Photography, UNIX, Visual Basic
Language:
TOEFL
History:
American History, Classics, Geography, Government & Politics, Political Science, Social Studies, World History
Special Needs:
Autism, Phonics
Elementary Education:
Common Core, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Homeschool, Phonics, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Accounting, Business, Career Development, Economics, Finance, Marketing, Microsoft Word, Project Management, Public Speaking,
Tax Preparation
Sports/Recreation:
Ballroom Dancing, Baseball,
Basketball, Bodybuilding, Fitness, Football, Golf,
Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming,
Table Tennis,
Tennis,
Track & Field, Volleyball,
Water Polo

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Baseball

I played four years of baseball, outfield and first base for High School. I played two years of Baseball for UCLA. I played Minor league ball for the Lakeland Tigers in the Triple A Florida Baseball League.

Computer Science

I have a BSEE and an MBA in Computer Sciences. I have worked over 20 years in the Software/Hardware Fields and currently work for Cosa Groove Information systems as the Project Manager of Program Development. I am often referred to as a "Computer Nerd or Computer Geek".

Golf

I was on the Golf Team in High School and for the four years I attended University. The last two years, I was one of the student instructors on our team. I enjoyed working with other students and teaching them the specific Golf Skills that I had learned over the years.

Oracle

I have a BSEE and an MBA in Computer Sciences from University. I have been with Cosa Groove Information Systems for over 15 years. They are a Taiwanese Software Systems Manufacturing company that does business here in USA as well as Asia. Oracle is my company's main Software tool. Oracle manufactures several Software Systems that my company uses. They are: PeopleSoft Campus Solutions 9.1 and PeopleSoft Enterprise 9.2 (Financials and Supply chain Management). Oracle also makes JD Edwards Enterprise One World WMS Management. Of course the Oracle DataBase 11gR12 RAC is perhaps Oracles' most popular Software Tool, which is used throughout the world. I am also very proficient in Oracle OBIEE and Oracle BASIS. I have over 20 years experience in Oracle Software Tools. Both in Development as well as in their use in business.

Public Speaking

I have over six years in University having achieved a BS and MBA in English, Engineering and Public Speaking. I also was on the Debating Team at the University of Arizona which taught me the dynamics involved in Public Speaking.

Swimming

I have been swimming my whole life. I was on the swim team in high school for four years. Also at UCLA I was on the swim team for the four years I was enrolled there. I have a large pool at my home and swim at least 20 laps per day.

Table Tennis

I have played table tennis, i.e. Ping Pong, my whole life. My dad was a Ping Pong champion at Washington University in St. Louis, MO, and he taught all of us, my two older sisters and mom how to compete in Ping Pong. Dad enjoyed playing against everyone, including his own family. My family became very adept at Ping Pong because of Dad's Instructions. We have always had a Ping Pong Table at our home growing up and even now, I have a game room in my house with a Pool Table and a regulation Ping Pong Table. I play constantly and have won many contests in the LA area. I consider myself a very expert Table Tennis player and I have taught many people the art of Table Tennis.

Tennis

I played on the Tennis team at Hamilton High School in 1975 and on the Tennis team at UCLA in 1976, 77 and 78. I still play tennis all the time here at my home in Palm Springs, California.

Volleyball

I have been playing volleyball all my life. I grew up in Hawaii and during the summer months I surfed and played volleyball. When my family moved back to Southern California, of course during the summer I played volleyball religiously. I was on the Volleyball team at my High School for 4 years and played Volleyball at UCLA after I graduated high school. I consider myself to be an excellent Volleyball player and I have always been involved with training younger players on the fine arts of the great sport of Volleyball.

Water Polo

I was on the water polo team for the four years I was enrolled at college.

Zoology

I have worked for five years at a Park Zoo. I was in charge of putting the birds' eggs into the incubators and hand feeding the young chicks. My minor at UCLA was Zoology. I love all animals.

University of Arizona
BSEE

Education

University of Arizona (BSEE)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $65.00

Travel policy

Sheldon will travel within 20 miles of Palm Desert, CA 92211.