Over 20 tutoring hours

Maggie J.

Oceanside, CA


Professional Tutor with 5 years of experience

In-person lessons
Replies in 21 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
7 Ratings
21hrs Response Time
Improved Grades
— Hannah, Oceanside, CA on 4/15/14

Message Maggie

Send Maggie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Maggie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of California-Irvine
National University


University of California-Irvine (Humanities)

National University (MEd)

About Maggie

I am a self-employed tutor with experience helping children and adults with over five years experience. My most recent client is a native Spanish speaker, however with my additional support she was able to achieve A's in both algebra 1 and 2. I am more that prepared to teach in math, English, and any other general academic subjects.

Patience, humor, and flexibility are all key themes in how I tutor students regardless of any obstacles they are currently facing. Most times they are more than capable to succeed in struggling academic subjects, however they just need to unlock this potential. That is where I come in. I provide the foundation for a positive and enriching educational experience, that will leave the student feeling more confident than before they started.

My approach to tutoring is that people learn best in a relaxed and supportive environment in which they feel comfortable in challenging themselves. I am sensitive to an an array of learning styles and I am constantly adapting my tutoring methods to best fit the needs of students.

I am a recent college graduate that hails from San Diego. I am fluent in Spanish and my multicultural background perfectly complements my own educational endeavors and those that I tutor. This blend allows me to remain fluid and effective in my own educational philosophy. I am currently working towards my Masters in Education and Credential in High School English.

I am more than excited to help you reach your academic goals so that way you can get back to the things that make you happy and fulfilled.
I am a self-employed tutor with experience helping children and adults with over five years experience. My most recent client is a native Spanish speaker, however with my additional support she was able to achieve A's in both algebra Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Oceanside, CA 92057
In-person lessons

"Improved Grades"

- Hannah, Oceanside, CA on 4/15/14

"Good ASVAB Tutor"

- Judy, Vista, CA on 6/20/14

"Great tutor. She is very patient and clear. "

- Antoine, Oceanside, CA on 4/29/14
Algebra 1
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Anthropology, Biology, Psychology, Sociology
ESL/ESOL, Spanish
American History, Anthropology, Geography, Government & Politics, Political Science, Social Studies, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Aspergers, Autism,
Phonics, Special Needs
Algebra 1, Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Spanish,
Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I am pursuing a Professional Concentration from UC Davis Extension in Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD). It is a 3 course sequence that covers the characteristics of ASD, applied behavior analysis, and strategies and interventions for those with ASD. I expect to be done with the concentration in Summer 2014.


I am currently helping two students that have dyslexia. I have logged 30 hours in working with them. I focus on positive reinforcement, modeling, and redirection. This provides the students with the scaffolding needed to feel confident and to support their progress.

I have received my Dyslexia Level 1 Certificate from the Dyslexia Training Institute. This program is designed on quality evidence-based research and will teach participants about what dyslexia is and train you to implement the first level of the Orton-Gillingham (O-G) Approach.

Elementary (K-6th)

Currently I work at a charter school. I help the K-8 students particularly in math, history, and science. I provide individual attention to their particular weaknesses and help them stay on task by collaborating with their teachers and parents. Also I check their test grades to make they are performing at a high standard.

I have taken my CSETS in Multiple Subjects in order to become an elementary teacher. Also I have taken methods classes in elementary teaching.


I am a native Spanish speaker.

Special Needs

I have received training in helping student of different disabilities achieve academic success.I have taken several courses in special education from UC Irvine. I specialize in those with emotional disturbances and those with cognitive deficiencies. Also I tailor my lesson plans to accommodate their specific abilities and where they need additional support.

Also I am working towards my certification in Special needs with an emphasis on mild/moderate disabilities.

Study Skills

I have a Bachelor degree in African-American studies with a minor in Global Culture, which required extensive reading and writing. I have tutored independently children and adults helping them to sharpen their time management and study skills. Often times they need help organizing their study materials and homework in order to truly organize mentally the subjects they are struggling in.


I created my own independent study course and in culmination wrote a 20 page research paper that received an A. I received no lower than an A in all of my academic papers.

University of California-Irvine
National University


University of California-Irvine (Humanities)

National University (MEd)

Improved Grades — Now getting an A in class! Maggie has made all the difference. She is very patient and kind. She knows how to make math make sense in the real world. Highly recommend her! ...

— Hannah, Oceanside, CA on 4/15/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Maggie will travel within 10 miles of Oceanside, CA 92057.

Background Check Status for Maggie J.

Maggie J. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Maggie, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.