Jonnie P.

Oakland, CA


Patient, versatile tutor can help you succeed!

In-person lessons
Replies in 7 hours
Background check passed as of 4/21/13

Message Jonnie

Send Jonnie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jonnie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

UC Santa Cruz


UC Santa Cruz

About Jonnie

If you are struggling with coursework or trying to get a handle on a new subject, I can help!

I have a passion for helping you master your subject, but I will do more than that. When you work with me, you will also learn how to approach your subject effectively, how to understand the assignment, how to break it down into manageable tasks and how to ask the right questions.

I was a technical writer for 14 years. I have great computer savvy, patience, creativity, and excellent writing and academic skills. I am also a native Russian speaker.

I currently work as an independent tutor for the Department of Rehabilitation and as a writing and reading comprehension coach at a high school in Oakland.


"I would not have been able to perform well in both my midterm and final exams without your assistance. You were always patient and knew what areas I need to improve on. I also appreciated your flexibility with scheduling meetings and readiness to help me learn new concepts. Thank you again for your time and I enjoyed working with you." - Ann

"Jonnie has a number of excellent attributes that qualify her to be a great tutor. She has great academic skills. She also relates well to people from all walks of life. She has been volunteering very successfully at a high school in Oakland as a writing tutor. She can also tutor other subjects, including music, Russian, computer skills and others." - Jean
If you are struggling with coursework or trying to get a handle on a new subject, I can help!

I have a passion for helping you master your subject, but I will do more than that. When you work with me, you will also learn how to approach your subject effectively, how to understand the assignment, how to break it down into manageable
Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Oakland, CA 94606
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
ACT English, ACT Reading, English,
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading,
SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Desktop Publishing,
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word
ESL/ESOL, Russian,
American History, Anthropology,
European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Music History,
Social Studies,
World History
Ear Training,
General Music,
Music History,
Music Theory
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills,
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
ESL/ESOL, Reading,
Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GRE, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Russian

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


As a Women's Studies major in college I took many social science courses which included anthropological references or data. I also took a physical anthropology course and anthropology of religion as part of my general education requirements. Finally, as a lifelong amateur student of history I have often encountered anthropological studies and data, since the study of history and anthropology are so interconnected.

Desktop Publishing

I worked for about 14 years as a technical writer. An integral part of the job consisted of formatting written materials for book form or online publication using a software package like FraMaker and others. The material would then be printed and published, usually in house.

Ear Training

In college I was a music major, although after completing most of the major I had to drop it to a minor. I'm also a singer. While my ear training skills aren't as razor sharp as they were when I was a student, I can definitely still help beginning to intermediate learners. I recently successfully tutored a U. C. Berkeley student who was taking a beginning music theory class and got a favorable written review from her stating that I enabled her to pass her class.


For many years I made my living as a technical writer - where the good use of the English language was my bread and butter. I am also a former child immigrant, so understand the needs of English learners.

General Music

I completed most of a music major in college, eventually dropping it to a minor, but completing two years of theory, musicianship and ear training. I am also a performing singer. Recently I helped a U.C. Berkeley student pass her music class and got a positive review.

Microsoft Windows

I have been a Windows user from the beginning and also spent many years working as a technical writer in an IT environment. My knowledge of Windows is at the level of a "power user" which also includes some junior admin tasks. If I don't know how to do it myself I usually know where to find out.

Music History

I completed most of a music major in college, eventually dropping it to a minor, but completing 3+ years of classes including music history. Music history, particularly in the Common Practice Period and before is an essential scaffolding for working with all aspects of Western art music. As a music major I studied the major musical stylistic periods and the composers who were active during those periods -- for example, J.S. Bach as typifying the Baroque.


I currently tutor high school kids at Fremont High in reading comprehension and writing. I am highly literate in two languages (English and Russian) and have passed all the Wyzant verbal, grammar, reading and writing qualifications. I can help struggling students with reading skills.


I have many years of involvement in religious practice -- mostly Jewish Renewal, but with interest in religion in general and particularly Judaism, Sufism and Christianity. While I am an amateur and not a religious scholar, I believe that I have a strong grasp of many religious concepts. Particular areas of strength are Judaism, comparative religion, and Jewish and Christian theology. I have also taken religious studies classes such as History of World Religions, Anthropology of Religion and a year-long program called Immersion in Jewish Spirituality.


I am a native speaker of Russian and speak the language fluently. I can help beginning and intermediate learners to learn the language. I can also provide conversation practice.

Social Studies

I was a Women's Studies major in college. This is a very interdisciplinary major, including many social science and humanities classes. I also have a music minor and a strong general education in the liberal arts (through both my major and minor, general education requirement and personal interests). Social studies are an interdisciplinary subject that includes a compilation of humanities and social sciences. I feel that my liberal arts background as well as broad knowledge of social science methods and findings sets me up to be a strong resource for students in this area.

Study Skills

I was a good student in college and later a good technical writer partly because of my strong analytical, reading, writing, comprehension, and critical thinking skills. I find that these skills now serve me in the coaching I do at Fremont High School and for the Department of Rehabilitation. I believe that a core aspect of academic success is the ability to break a problem down into individual tasks and to understand the requirements for success at each of these tasks. When a student is having difficulty I look for where this process has broken down and help the student get understanding and mastery of the missing step.

UC Santa Cruz


UC Santa Cruz

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jonnie will travel within 20 miles of Oakland, CA 94606.

Background Check Status for Jonnie P.

Jonnie P. passed a background check on 4/21/13. The check was ordered by Jonnie through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Jonnie, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.