Terri P.

Los Angeles, CA


Masters Degree in Policy, Specializing in Test Prep, ESL, Study Skills

In-person lessons
Replies in 23 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
1 Ratings
23hrs Response Time

Message Terri

Send Terri a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Terri or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Kansas (KU)
French, Russian, Dance
University of Southern California (USC)


University of Kansas (KU) (French, Russian, Dance)

University of Southern California (USC) (Master's)

About Terri

I have over 10 years of teaching experience, ranging from classroom instruction to private language (ESL) tutoring to dance instruction. My experience is with virtually all ages: from 3 years to adults. I worked very successfully as an English teacher for 2 years while in the Peace Corps, where I was also given extensive training in education methods, techniques, and curriculum development. Currently I am working at an ESL school teaching English grammar, conversation, reading/writing, and TOEFL test prep to adult foreign students.

I have always loved learning, and I love being able to help others learn and show them that learning can be an enjoyable and exciting experience. I'm an "empathetic teacher" (admittedly a phrase I made up) meaning that I have always just naturally been able to "tune in" to a student's prospective and learning style to see how they understand the information that is coming at him/her, and I can then pinpoint how to best explain a concept or what activity would be best to solidify the concept. Basically, I'm the person to see when no one else is able to explain it to you in a way that makes sense to you! While I enjoying working with all types of students, I actually have a special place in my heart for students who are struggling with a subject, a concept, or just at school in general (as well as experience with such students). I believe education and learning should be accessible to everyone, including those who see and understand the world a little differently... :-)

I truly believe that anyone can learn anything; it's simply a matter of teaching to the student, to his/her learning style and finding the right way to communicate concepts. Also, I believe that independent discovery, critical thinking, and logical reasoning play very important roles in information retention and concept building for any subject or skill. If you're looking for someone who will help you simply memorize or do the minimum work to get an answer, I'm probably not going to be a good match.

My sessions take into account the needs and wants of the student, though there are a few things you can generally expect: inclusion of alternate learning styles, a patient and safe environment, creativity, preparation on my part, and a commitment to not only help you learn the material, but also be able to apply it and reach beyond it when possible. I emotionally and mentally invest in my students' success, and so I do expect a commitment on your part to doing the work and trusting my process (the exception being younger students who may not have made the choice for a tutor themselves -- sometimes it takes a little time to get them to that point...but they always make it there!).

I've written a lot here... Basically, if you're frustrated or disinterest in the subject matter, I can help you. Students of all ages, learning styles, and educational backgrounds - I can help you. If I can get rural village Armenian potato farmers' sons to participate and enjoy a class as useless to them and as difficult as English, trust me - I can do the same for you.

Best of luck in your search for a tutor, and I applaud your commitment to your education and personal development!
I have over 10 years of teaching experience, ranging from classroom instruction to private language (ESL) tutoring to dance instruction. My experience is with virtually all ages: from 3 years to adults. I worked very successfully as an Read more

5 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Los Angeles, CA 90068
In-person lessons
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Finite Math, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, IELTS, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
ACT Science, Anatomy, Geology, Physical Science
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
ESL/ESOL, French, IELTS, Russian, TOEFL
American History, Geography, Government & Politics, Political Science, Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Phonics, Special Needs
Career Development, Economics, GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Economics, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, French, Geometry, Handwriting, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, Career Development, College Counseling,
GRE, IELTS, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Ballroom Dancing,
Corporate Training:
Career Development, College Counseling,
Economics, ESL/ESOL, French, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Russian, Statistics

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have 20 years of ballet training both in the Cecchetti method and under former NYCB & ABT dancers. I have taught all styles of dance at a variety of studios on-and-off for the past 10 years. My experience ranges from 3-year olds to adult beginners to advanced/pre-professional students.

Ballroom Dancing

I have 10 years of vintage swing dancing training, and several years of experience as an instructor. Styles include: lindy hop, charleston, balboa, east coast swing.

College Counseling

I have written a number of very successful entrance and application essays, for my undergrad and graduate program, as well as study abroad programs.

I have experience assisting students with essay writing and applications, including Armenian students applying for English/American programs (during my time in the Peace Corps).

Elementary (K-6th)

I worked with elementary school children for two years while working in the Peace Corps. I developed lesson plans, age-appropriate activities, and worked hands-on with them in the classroom.

For children of this age, my methods focus on engaging the child's critical thinking and creativity - no matter the subject - because it's such a critical time in their brain development.

Study Skills

I have training in academic management in areas relevant to study skills: time management, project planning/scheduling, setting goals and objectives, and educational methods. I have successful experience working with struggling/"problem" students to develop study plans and good classroom habits. My approach is positive and heavily student-centered; I work with the student to discover the root of why the student's studying is off track, and I help the student to develop the best course of action to get them where they want to be. (I do not create study plans/rules and simply put them on to students - my method strongly utilizes the students wants, needs, and own thought processes.)

University of Kansas (KU)
French, Russian, Dance
University of Southern California (USC)


University of Kansas (KU) (French, Russian, Dance)

University of Southern California (USC) (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Travel policy

Terri will travel within 20 miles of Los Angeles, CA 90068.

Background Check Status for Terri P.

Terri P. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Terri, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.