Over 20 tutoring hours

Jamie W.

Los Angeles, CA


Multilingual Language Tutor (ESL, Linguistics, Writing, and More)

In-person lessons
Replies in 8 hours
Background check passed as of 2/13/14
4.9 Avg. Rating
15 Ratings
8hrs Response Time
Great Tutor!
— Adam, Culver City, CA on 4/18/14

Message Jamie

Send Jamie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jamie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Saint Olaf College


Saint Olaf College (Psychology)

Georgetown (Master's)

About Jamie

I am an experienced language learner and teacher with a Master's degree in Linguistics (from Georgetown University) who has a passion for teaching and learning languages and linguistics and is committed to helping you achieve your goals!

Here is feedback from a longtime ESL writing student (2+ years):

"During my English writing study with her, she has helped me not only to fix grammatical errors, but also taught me how to write a good sentence, paragraph, and essay, which was even very helpful for my native language writing. Also, her curiosity, varied cultural background, and teaching experience make me keep learning." - Joone H

I am formally trained in psychology (B.A., Saint Olaf College), linguistics (M.S., Georgetown University) and language education and have over three years ESL teaching and tutoring experience, including two years spent teaching academic reading and writing to university students in Seoul, South Korea. I also studied abroad in Shanghai, China as an undergraduate. I have also taught a variety of ESL courses (grammar, business English, conversation, test preparation). In addition to ESL and Linguistics, I have taught and tutored everything from elementary-level Mandarin Chinese to psychology over the past decade, to children and adults at all levels of language ability, from beginner to advanced.

I have also helped native and nonnative speakers with research papers, resumes, statements of purpose and curriculum vitae. I can help you with everything from fine-tuning to larger issues like organization and flow, or even generating topics. If you are applying to college or graduate school, I can assist with standardized test preparation and the application process.

I bring a wealth of life experience to my tutoring. I have lived in China, South Korea (as mentioned above) and different parts of the U.S., traveled extensively abroad, and worked in a variety of fields, from community mental health to food service, with a variety of populations, from developmentally disabled adolescents to gifted Montessori students. In addition, I myself am a seasoned language learner who has studied over half a dozen languages, from French to Thai to Serbian. I am decently competent at Mandarin Chinese, somewhat proficient in Korean, and currently studying Spanish. As a result, I am sensitive to the needs of of different types of students, and able to tailor my approach to a variety of learners, whatever their background and abilities.

I believe that learning should be approached with a sense of playfulness and curiosity. I am flexible in my approach, and willing to use a variety of methods, from drills to games to pop quizzes. Expect to be challenged while having fun at the same time. The amount of homework I assign depends on the focus of our lessons. For example, for test preparation, regular homework is essential. However, if we are focusing on conversation practice, I might only assign focused grammar exercises as needed.

I value feedback, and will periodically give you feedback on your progress. If we have to cancel a lesson, I will offer make-up classes.

Please contact me to discuss further. I look forward to working with you and helping you achieve your goals!
I am an experienced language learner and teacher with a Master's degree in Linguistics (from Georgetown University) who has a passion for teaching and learning languages and linguistics and is committed to helping you achieve your goals!

Here is feedback from a longtime
Read more

8 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Los Angeles, CA 90018
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Great Tutor!"

- Adam, Culver City, CA on 4/18/14

"Great Tutor "

- Elena, Los Angeles, CA on 3/26/14
ACT English, ACT Reading, English,
Grammar, Proofreading,
Public Speaking, Reading,
TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Phonics, Reading,
Spelling, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Career Development, Public Speaking
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Career Development, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
Career Development, Chinese,
Grammar, Proofreading,
Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I took 5 semesters of Chinese language and an independent study as an undergraduate at Saint Olaf College from 2000-2004. I designed my own major, entitled "Bilingualism: Language and Culture," for which competency in Chinese was a requirement, used Mandarin while conducting my senior project research on Chinese Saturday schools in Minnesota, and gave a short speech in Mandarin at the beginning of my senior project presentation in May 2004. I also studied abroad at East China Normal University in Shanghai, China in the fall of 2002. While studying Linguistics at Georgetown University from 2006-2008, I conducted research on the Shanghainese dialect using Mandarin. I taught Mandarin Chinese to the students at Aidan Montessori School in Washington, D.C. during the academic year 2008-2009. Since I started learning Chinese in 2000, I have continued learning and maintaining my Chinese through travel (to Taiwan in 2011) to friends, tutors, and websites like Chinese Pod.


I started learning how to play the clarinet in 5th grade, at age 10, over 20 years ago. I played all through middle school and high school and was section leader in the marching band. I also played in a quartet and performed solos in church and high school band and orchestra and have additional experience performing in pit orchestras for church and school plays. At Saint Olaf I maintained my skills playing in the student-led Valhalla band. I can read music, am a proficient sight reader, and my clarinet skills, while a bit rusty, are sufficiently developed to teach others the basics at least. I feel that the skills I've developed in teaching English can be transferred to teaching clarinet.

Elementary (K-6th)

I taught Mandarin Chinese at Aidan Montessori School in Washington, D.C. for one year (preschool to 6th grade level). I have also studied developmental psychology and teaching methodologies, and trained in classroom management when I was working as a Chinese teacher. While living in China, I tutored a four year old boy in English. I also have years of babysitting experience.


I hold a Master's degree in Applied Linguistics from Georgetown University and have over 3 years' experience teaching English (including 2 in Seoul, South Korea): academic reading and writing, presentation skills, conversation, and grammar. I am currently tutoring English linguistics and English writing.


I have 3+ years' ESL teaching and tutoring experience, including 2 years in Seoul, South Korea (courses taught: Academic Reading and Writing; Grammar; Conversation; Business English. I also hold a Master's in Applied Linguistics from Georgetown University, with courses in Second Language Acquisition, Task-Based Language Teaching and Learning, and ESL Materials Development.


I edited and proofread manuscripts for my professor as a graduate research assistant at Georgetown for almost two years. I also taught academic writing in Korea for two years and have extensive experience editing and proofreading second language English essays.


I have a B.A. degree in Psychology from Saint Olaf College, and have taken courses in Developmental Psychology, Language Acquisition, Research Methods, and Brain and Language, among others. I also taught introductory college-level Psychology at Los Angeles Pacific College this past fall (2013).


I taught academic reading for two years in Seoul, South Korea. I also took courses in phonetics & phonology, semantics and syntax while a graduate student (M.S. degree in Linguistics), which inform my approach to tutoring reading - I am very comfortable breaking down language and identifying helpful patterns.


I have 2+ years experience teaching writing, mostly academic writing (short essays, research papers) and also creative writing. I am very comfortable with teaching the writing process (from brainstorming/pre-writing to outlining, drafting, and final editing). I also have experience tutoring writing individually.

Saint Olaf College


Saint Olaf College (Psychology)

Georgetown (Master's)

Great Tutor! — If it wasn't for Jamie, I know I would still be lost in my linguistics class. During our many months of working together, she was patient and always prepared for our sessions. She taught me instead of just doing the work for me and although I am not a fan of the subject, in the end I started to understand and appreciate it. Oh, and she is a super nice person! ...

— Adam, Culver City, CA on 4/18/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jamie will travel within 10 miles of Los Angeles, CA 90018.

Background Check Status for Jamie W.

Jamie W. passed a background check on 2/13/14. The check was ordered by Jamie through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Jamie, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.