Daniel J.

Los Angeles, CA


Math and Science Tutor (and other subjects), UCLA Student

Message Daniel

Send Daniel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Daniel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.




About Daniel

Hello! My name is Daniel, and I am currently a student at UCLA (Go Bruins!) pursuing a degree in Math for Teaching but previously Mechanical Engineering. I am studying to become a high school math teacher.

Some interesting facts about myself:
My parents were born in Korea and moved to Argentina when they were kids, and that's where I was born and grew up until the middle of 6th grade. Thus, I grew up speaking 3 different languages and continue to speak them today!
I like playing musical instruments. I began playing drums when I was 10, picked up an electric guitar at the age of 14, and now I mostly play acoustic guitar and sing. I am very comfortable playing and teaching how to play all three instruments.
I like playing sports. Because I grew up in Argentina, soccer has always been my favorite sport. I also like to play basketball and golf.
I love serving at my local church. I have been attending LA Open Door Church for about 8 years now, and it is my second home. I am grateful to God for having led me there, and I truly believe that I would not be the man I am today had it not been for my brothers and sisters there.

Now, regarding my teaching:
I have officially been tutoring for 6 years (since around junior year in high school). However, I believe that I have many more years of experience in helping fellow peers learn. I have always been an outstanding student in the math and science areas, which has allowed me to extend a helping hand to those around me who did not understand the subjects as well as I did. High school is where I found my passion for math and physics. People thought it was boring and meaningless, but I found it so fascinating and reasonable! My friends would hate the idea of talking about a math problem, but I could not help being intrigued by math problems and trying to find their solutions. That's the first thing that I think any teacher or tutor should have: a love for the subject. And I can assure you that I possess it. Otherwise, why on earth would I be studying math, right? :] The second quality that I believe a teacher should have is honesty. I remember being sent to an afterschool tutoring place during my 6th grade. Honestly, all I can remember from that place is playing handball and computer games all day. And this was supposed to be a tutoring place! And they were charging for that service! At the time, I was too young to realize it. But as I look back, I am outraged at the lack of honesty in their work. How can they take advantage of parents and steal money like that? It was unbelievable. I told myself that if I became a tutor, I would have utmost honesty and respect towards those requesting my service. So why should I tutor your kids (or you, if you are a self-motivated student looking for a tutor)? Because I will make sure that they learn. And if they do not, then I will not waste your time, their time, and your money. I will teach them what I know. If they want to learn and are willing to listen, there will be results. If they are unwilling, I will not simply sit there and pretend to teach them, while stealing away all your hard earned money. I will tell you that your kid is unwilling to learn and that you should probably not waste your money on me. Honesty.

I truly hope that you will consider me and give me an opportunity to help you or your children out.

Thank you for taking your time to read all this :]

Best Regards,
Hello! My name is Daniel, and I am currently a student at UCLA (Go Bruins!) pursuing a degree in Math for Teaching but previously Mechanical Engineering. I am studying to become a high school math teacher. Read more

3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Los Angeles, CA 90020
Drums, Guitar
Grammar, Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Math
Elementary Education:

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

Took algebra 1 and received an A+ in 8th grade.

Algebra 2

Took it and received an A+ in 9th grade.


I took AP Calculus BC and received an A in 12th grade.


I received an A+ in 9th grade geometry.


I have been playing guitar since I was 11 (about 9 years). I play acoustic and electric guitar, and I play for church every week. I can teach beginner to intermediate guitar, including concepts such as chords and voicings, finger picking, strumming patterns, reading chords, reading tabs, among others.


Studied Mechanical Engineering, which required proficiency in Physics. Also took AP Physics in high school and received A's.


Took higher level math, so Prealgebra is basic knowledge.


Received an A- in 11th grade precalculus.

SAT Math

I got an 800 when I took the SAT in 11th grade.


I was born in Argentina and studied there until 6th grade. I speak it fluently and am confident in my Spanish ability.


Trigonometry is basic knowledge for higher math.




Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Daniel will travel within 10 miles of Los Angeles, CA 90020.