NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Justin I.

Fair Oaks, CA

$40/hour

Tutoring for Elementary Students!

In-person lessons

$40/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Justin will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Justin

Sacramento State University
Child Development

Education

Sacramento State University (Child Development)

About Justin

Hello!

I am a college student who can tutor any elementary students in subjects such as Math, English, Science, History, Music, Reading, and Writing.

I am a second-year undergraduate student at CSUS (California State University of Sacramento), majoring in Child Development. I love working with children and helping them succeed with their education. Currently, I volunteer at an Elementary school as a tutor/classroom aid in a 4/5th grade classroom - 8 hours a week, for my Child Development Field Experience class. I'm trying to gain as much experience as possible whenever the opportunity presents itself, however, currently this is all of my experience related to tutoring, so students will be helping me as well! :)

When I tutor, I try to come up with fun activities that relate to the subject matter so that the student, primarily, has fun whilst learning! I believe having fun is the key to learning, so why not do whatever it takes to make each session enjoyable! I focus more on visual and kinesthetic learning styles and hands-on experience to make each session fun yet helpful.
Hello!

I am a college student who can tutor any elementary students in subjects such as Math, English, Science, History, Music, Reading, and Writing.

I am a second-year undergraduate student at CSUS (California State University of Sacramento), majoring in Child Development. I love working with children and helping them
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
12 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 16 miles of Fair Oaks, CA 95628
In-person lessons
Math:
Elementary Math
Music:
Music Theory, Piano
English:
Grammar, Vocabulary
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Spelling, Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

Elementary education is probably the most important aspect of a child's life, for it is the basis of their future. Being so, I believe it's vital to do whatever it takes to help them polish their education and tutor them on any subject that they're struggling with. Whether it's math, English, science, history, or even music, I am knowledgeable of these subjects and am able to assist with them.

I am a college student training to become a certified teacher and a tutor in the Foster care system. I am currently helping at an Elementary school for a 4/5th grade class where I tutor and help around the classroom. I've helped/tutored kids with math, science, history, writing, reading, and music, so I am familiar with the elementary curriculum. I very much enjoy tutoring children, so this isn't something I take lightly and carelessly - I respect every child's needs and will accommodate as so. I am also enrolled in a class at CSUS that teaches and demonstrates successful and non-successful teaching methods when it comes to elementary children (K-6th).

As far as my previous education goes, I've completed math classes up to Calculus 2 in high school, and I've excelled in numerous science classes, such as Physics, Astronomy, Biology, and Chemistry. My major in college is Child Development, so I am currently learning, through theories, about how to help children develop from birth to adolescence. I've voluntarily taken a class where an experienced math tutor helps students with their math (Calculus) by providing skills and methods to be efficient and manipulative when it comes to doing math. I've taken 5 years of Spanish, and I've excelled greatly in English (Language Arts, Grammar, Vocabulary, etc.)

Overall, I hope I am able to satisfy your educational needs based on these qualifications.

Piano

I've been playing the piano for about 7 years - 6 years of autodidactic learning and 1 year of professional lessons. My minor at CSUS is Music, and I am very knowledgeable of music theory. At an elementary school, I often assist the music teacher around in class, helping students with correct fingering, note location, and articulation. I write my own sheet music, so when I tutor, I create a song that would help the student with whatever it is needed to be improved, such as scales. I also have children's piano books with lessons and skills pertaining to reading music and knowing the piano.

Sacramento State University
Child Development

Education

Sacramento State University (Child Development)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Justin will travel within 16 miles of Fair Oaks, CA 95628.