Over 10 tutoring hours

Gary N.

Chula Vista, CA


25 yrs Autocad, Architecture and Effective English tutor.

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 1/16/12
5.0 average from 4 ratings


Send a message explaining your needs and Gary will reply soon.

Response time: 8 hours

Contact Gary

Mesa College, San Diego


Mesa College, San Diego

About Gary

I have considerable experience tutoring proper English; to include reading, grammar, writing, spelling, and comprehension. I tutor early Mathematics, as well as basic Economics. I served as Junior Achievement adviser, and have 25+ years of AutoCAD experience as Senior drafter with structural-civil Engineering firm, as well as Facility Engineering with General Dynamics, Rohr Inc. and Hewlett-Packard.

I am good with kids, as I often am asked to help my grand-children with their k-12 homework, and I like to think I have unlimited patience. I was straight A student in all k-6 classes.

My College Major was Architecture, and my Minor was English; I enjoy public speaking, having been a member of Toastmasters for 5+ years. I am also qualified to tutor History, Geography, Social Studies, some Sciences, others. I also enjoy other diverse classes such as Logic and Philosophy.

I have completed Background Check on file with WyzAnt.
I have considerable experience tutoring proper English; to include reading, grammar, writing, Read more

2 hours notice required

Group rates will be more, and the more hours per week you hire me, the lower the hourly rate, as low as $34.

Travel Radius
Travels within 12 miles of Chula Vista, CA 91915
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
Test Preparation:
SAT Math,
SAT Reading,
SAT Writing
Microsoft Word
Microsoft Word

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have 59 semester units at Mesa College, San Diego, Ca. with Major in Architecture, minor in English. I have worked in the industry for 30+ years, having 6+ years as Architectural drafter for Architects/Engrs in Seattle and San Diego, as well as 13 years in the role of Facilities Engineer for Rohr Inc, General Dynamics and Hewlett-Packard (responsibility for entire plant infrastructure, including all bldgs, utilities, and furniture/eqpt.) Familiar w/AISC, ANSI, ASCII, ASTM, TITLE 24, ADA, ICBO, local laws/codes. The last 15 years or so have been with Civil and Structural design/draft, earth movement prevention and road design, and post-litigation reconstruction.


I served in the U.S. Army (Vietnam), passed both the Army test (1965) and the WyzAnt test (2012), have an A.A. at local community college, and have passed WyzAnt's background check. I am proficient in all things English, pre-algebraic Maths, Arts, History, Science, Reading, Writing, Spelling, et al. Available most weekends, some evenings. Local only.


I have 21 years experience in AutoCAD, versions 9 to 2008, 59 credits of Architecture at Mesa College San Diego, with 6 additional units in advanced AutoCAD classes. My job experience includes 13 years as AutoCAD Drafter, Sr., in Structural detailing; 13+ years as Facilities Engineer with General Dynamics, Rohr and Hewlett-Packard, using AutoCAD exclusively for Rohr and HP.

Elementary (K-6th)

I completed all of my College prerequisites at Mesa College. I often help my grand-children, nieces and nephews, with their k-12 homework, and I think I have unlimited patience. I am well-versed in all things English (reading, writing, spelling, comprehension, verb usage, tense, speed-reading). My college minor was English (3.6 GPA); I taught classes in basic Economics as volunteer at Junior Achievement, while working at Rohr, Inc., and was standing member of Toastmasters for several years. I am also qualified in, and took college courses in; art, biology, current affairs, geography, history, early mathematics, political science, psychology, other sciences, social studies. My K-9 grades were always A's or B's (3.75). My H.S. graduating GPA was 3.2. I have assisted some students in creating projects like 3-D Solar Systems, Dioramas, 2-D charts, etc. I earned an A.A. in college, majoring in Architecture.

Elementary Math

My elementary and secondary (junior high) math classes all resulted in "A" or "B" grades. I am well-versed in all aspects of early mathematics, including fractions, decimals, etc. up to, but not including, algebra; I am certified in this subject thru WyzAnt, and I have background check on file.


English was always my best subject in high school, having always gotten A's and a few B+'s. I minored in English in College. I was always the best speller in my class, and usually the best in the school, having won several Bees. I can teach reading, writing, spelling, grammar, tense and comprehension.


I have an A.A. from Mesa College, with a minor in English; extensive knowledge of the English Language, including grammer, spelling, reading, writing. My G.P.A. was 3.2 through High School, including early maths, (except Algebra). I am also well-versed in Geography, World Affairs, Science, Poli-Sci, most high school subjects, including some electives. I have background check on file with WyzAnt.


English was always my best subject in high school, having always gotten A's and a few B+'s. I minored in English in College. The usage of grammar has always come easily and naturally to me; syntax is reflexive and intuitive and I am very sensitive to tense.

Microsoft Word

MS Word is really just a generic piece of software allowing one to create electronic versions of dialogue and other text blocks, of which one can manipulate, copy and/or paste into other formats, such as resumes.


I regularly play poker with my friends and family (Viuda, a Mexican style of poker) for the last 10 years, as well as playing Blackjack in Las Vegas on many occasions, and Texas Holdem on several occasions. I can teach you the value of hands as well as the suit hierarchy, and the probability of a given hand showing up (I don't use probability tables). Learning these and other tricks will dramatically improve your game. I do not teach how to play professional poker, nor how to 'read' faces, but I can teach you to play the odds among friends.


My College Minor was English, and I got mostly A's in high school and college English-related subjects. I am a very good speller and I have an almost-freakish ability to zero in on fundamental errors while reading.


I have been a prolific reader since pre-kindergarten, starting with reading the box of cereal while eating breakfast. While a youngster, I had to read every single billboard sign on the highways while riding with my parents. I have taken and passed the Evelyn Woods speed-reading classes, and I know how to make reading interesting.

SAT Math

I usually received "A" grades in all math classes up to but not including Algebra, with an occasional "B" grade. I taught economics class for CYA, tutored my child and relatives in all things math up to, but not including, Algebra. My methods include logic and common sense, as well as a process of elimination. Usually I go through all the steps on paper to achieve the end result.
I have a 3.2 GPA in college as well as high school.

SAT Reading

The SAT (formerly known as the scholastic aptitude test) is, of course, the test given to high school Seniors before they can enter college. I am a voracious reader. SAT reading is my specialty, and I am also very good at SAT writing. My English grades in college (English was my Minor) were always in the A to B range.

SAT Writing

I have a background in tech writing, and I am very good with the language arts, including pronunciation, tense, spelling, good grammar in general.


Spelling words has always come naturally to me.
I won the school (grades 1-6) spelling bee as a 5th grader, and I can usually spot the misspelled word in a paragraph straight away.
If I cannot spell it, I will find the correct way to do so.


I try not to use really big words, but I do know the spelling and meaning of every commonly used word. And I can teach it.


I am an avid reader, and I write and spell quite well. Being a prolific reader, I have added much to my vocabulary, and I can help you with your reading, speaking and writing skills. I minored in English in College.

Mesa College, San Diego


Mesa College, San Diego

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Group rates will be more, and the more hours per week you hire me, the lower the hourly rate, as low as $34.

Travel policy

Gary will travel within 12 miles of Chula Vista, CA 91915.