Over 20 tutoring hours

Danielle Z.

Ceres, CA


College Graduate, Experienced Tutor, Language Specialist

In-person lessons
Replies after +3 days
5.0 Avg. Rating
13 Ratings
3+ days Response Time

Message Danielle

Send Danielle a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Danielle or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of the Pacific


University of the Pacific

About Danielle

Hola! Ni hao! Hello! My name is Danielle, and I am excited to offer tutoring for anyone seeking help with English as a Second Language (ESL), Spanish, K-8 reading/language arts or math, and any level writing or grammar. I have always had a love of learning and of sharing that love with others and have greatly enjoyed the opportunities I've had to do so. This love of learning complimented with a respectable breadth of study has allowed me to become confident in a variety of subjects, and my specialty is languages/linguistics.

After numerous years of study and practice, four of which included advanced college courses, I have a near-native fluency in Spanish. I also have significant experience with Mandarin Chinese. I double-majored in both Spanish and Chinese at the University of the Pacific and graduated in 2011 summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree. I also received several awards from the Department of Modern Languages and Literature throughout my academic career. My experience learning a second and third language makes me uniquely qualified to help second-language students by giving me practical insight into the second-language acquisition process. Beyond that, I also am currently finishing a Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages certificate, so I have taken actual courses on relevant topics such as second-language acquisition and how to teach listening and speaking.

I do also have experience in tutoring itself. I have tutored Spanish to other college students, and I also spent several months tutoring first- and second-graders -- mostly in reading but occasionally in math as well. Additionally, I have been teaching on a volunteer basis as part of my church’s young women’s organization, so I have also had some experience with teenagers. I have found that my strengths in patience, creativity, and problem-solving have been assets to my tutoring and well-received by my students.

I believe that with these strengths, along with sound subject knowledge, relevant experience, and - most importantly - enthusiasm in helping others to learn, I can offer exceptional tutoring. If you have any questions or would like more information or references, please don’t hesitate to ask.I look forward to meeting you!
Hola! Ni hao! Hello! My name is Danielle, and I am excited to offer tutoring for anyone seeking help with English as a Second Language (ESL), Read more

3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 35 miles of Ceres, CA 95307
In-person lessons
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Elementary (K-6th), ESL/ESOL,
Prealgebra, Reading, Spanish,
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I feel that my practical experience in learning a second and third language, extensive Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL) coursework, and my solid grasp on the English language itself combine to make me a choice candidate for ESL/ESOL tutoring. I love language and have great enthusiasm for helping others achieve their language goals.

I feel that one of my greatest assets in helping others learn a second language is that I have been through the process myself. I can understand the challenges and frustrations. I know what it’s like to want to communicate with someone but not know how to say what you want to say, or to have to abruptly end or change the topic of a conversation because you cannot understand what the person just said, even after they repeat themselves. I understand that learning a language is much more than just studying vocabulary lists and grammar rules. That’s only a small part of it. My second-language studies, as well as opportunities to tutor other second-language (Spanish) learners, have also given me valuable insight into which teaching and study methods generally work well and which ones do not, although every student of course responds differently to different methods. For instance, copying down different sentences from a textbook can only teach so much, and it teaches very little once the student loses interest in the task. I’ve also learned that there is such a thing as trying to learn too much at once -- too much vocabulary, too many of or too advanced grammar points, etc.

I have also taken a total of seven courses on how to teach non-native English learners as part of UC San Diego Extension’s TESOL certificate program, which I will complete in May after I finish my practicum. These courses have taught me valuable skills and knowledge of not only the English language itself but also how students acquire language and what role a teacher/tutor plays in that process. I have studied the learning and teaching process for all four language areas: listening, speaking (including English’s pronunciation system), reading, and writing. I have studied English grammar in depth and how to effectively help students learn to use it appropriately – not only formal, “proper” grammar but informal, conversational grammar as well. I have studied the advantages and disadvantages of different teaching theories and methods. I have studied and developed skills in how to create lesson plans that are effective, engaging, and appropriate for the students’ skill level. I am excited to use these and other areas of knowledge as you work toward your personal goals for English.

As far as my skills in English itself, I am a native speaker and am very comfortable with all aspects of the language. My honors and AP English coursework in high school helped me develop a strong foundation in the English language, and the constant demand in my college courses for strong written and oral communication allowed my English skills to flourish.

I believe that language tutoring should be patient, individualized assistance that focuses on real communication. This, in combination with the knowledge and skills mentioned above, is what I offer to ESL/ESOL tutoring. I believe every learner can reach their language goals, and I would love to help you along the way.


I have been studying and enjoying Spanish since my days in high school and found from the start that I had both a knack and love for the language. I continued studying Spanish in college, making it one of my majors. In my first year there, my professor noted my solid grasp of both the grammar and pronunciation and asked me if I would be a tutor. I tutored 1st- and 2nd-semester Spanish students for two semesters. I loved assisting students in navigating the various aspects of the language. My tutoring techniques included explaining the reason behind rules instead of simply correcting mistakes; asking questions to check for understanding; prompting students to use and think about the language in personal, real-world contexts; and staying flexible in the number and type of exercises I provided, realizing that every student has unique strengths, weaknesses, and learning styles. During my time of college studies, I was honored to receive awards for Outstanding Second-Year Student in Spanish, Outstanding Graduating Senior in the Spanish Department, and Department of Modern Language and Literature Outstanding Graduating Senior. I am also a member of Sigma Delta Pi - Hispanic Honor Society. I received my bachelor's degree in Spanish - Hispanic Language and Literature concentration and Asian Language and Studies - Chinese concentration in 2011 and maintain advanced fluency in Spanish.

University of the Pacific


University of the Pacific

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $25.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Danielle will travel within 35 miles of Ceres, CA 95307.

Background Check Status for Danielle Z.

Danielle Z. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Danielle, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.