NEW FEATURES MORE

Over 50 tutoring hours

Matt A.

Beverly Hills, CA

$50/hour

Enthusiastic Tutor for U.S. History, Writing & K-6

In-person lessons
5.0 average from 22 ratings

Message Matt

Send Matt a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Matt or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

UC Berkeley

Education

UC Berkeley

About Matt

I am a graduate of U.C. Berkeley with a major in history. I developed a passion for tutoring in college, when I tutored children in the inner city. I tutored for one semester through a program called Berkeley Youth Alternatives and another semester through the Global Education Program. I was also a teacher's assistant for one semester in college. I have been a private tutor in history, English and math.

I try to teach in a way that is both fun and exciting to the student. The ultimate reward for me is when a student overcomes a challenge and finally understands a difficult concept. I have always placed a huge importance on education, and it shows in the way I teach!
I am a graduate of U.C. Berkeley with a major in history. I developed a passion for tutoring in college, when I tutored children in the inner city. I tutored for one semester through a program called Berkeley Youth Alternatives and another Read more

Policies
Cancellation
5 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Beverly Hills, CA 90210
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
Math:
Elementary Math, Logic, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, LSAT, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Language:
TOEFL
History:
American History, Criminal Justice, European History, Government & Politics, Social Studies,
World History
Special Needs:
Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Law, Public Speaking
Sports/Recreation:
Baseball, Basketball,
Chess, Football, Poker, Softball

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Basketball

I have played basketball regularly since I was about 4 years old. As a sophomore in high school, I played for my school's "B" team. In college, I played on a number of intramural teams. After college, I played in a league with several former college and professional players. I am confident that I can help you improve your game!

Elementary (K-6th)

I earned a bachelor's degree at U.C. Berkeley with a 3.63 GPA. While at Berkeley, I worked as a teacher's assistant one semester for middle school students. In the classroom, I would help students who did not understand the schoolwork. In college I also tutored elementary school students in a program called Berkeley Youth Alternatives. Additionally, I tutored inner city students through the Global Education Program. Finally, I have tutored students of all ages as private tutor, mainly in the subjects of English and history, but also in math up to algebra.

Social Studies

I majored in history at U.C. Berkeley, with an emphasis on U.S. history. My college G.P.A. was approximately 3.63. My thesis (for which I received a 4.0 grade) pertained to the stalemate in the Kurile Islands between Russia and Japan. I have tutored several students in history with great results (please see student ratings on my profile page). I am highly proficient in A.P. U.S. History, as well as in social studies and history for K-12.

Softball

I played outfield for three years in high school. In college at U.C. Berkeley, I was part of an intramural softball team that won 5 championships. We were competing against 40 other teams. Since college, I have played on roughly 10 softball teams. I understand the fundamentals of softball very well and can help you become a better player!

UC Berkeley

Education

UC Berkeley

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Travel policy

Matt will travel within 30 miles of Beverly Hills, CA 90210.