Over 10 tutoring hours

Kate K.

Agoura Hills, CA


Experienced Teacher and Tutor- Offering Summer Discounts!

4.7 average from 3 ratings
Patient, prepared, flexible, caring, the list goes on and on!
— Julie, Ventura, CA on 8/9/12

Message Kate

Send Kate a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Kate or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 hour
Replies in 1 hour

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

CSU - Channel Islands


CSU - Channel Islands

About Kate


I have over 10 years of experience as an Assistant Teacher and Tutor for grades K-12, college, and adult professional students (including ESL). I have worked part-time as an Assistant Math and English Teacher for a local charter high school since 2007. I have a BA and passed the CBEST test for teachers.

I tutor individually and in groups all over Ventura and Los Angeles Counties.

My approach to tutoring includes working with each student to create a list of goals and concrete ways to achieve them. I work with the student to discover their style of learning and use both conventional and unconventional ways to explain topics. I often use "out-of-the-box" examples to help students understand concepts that they are not grasping in school or in their area of study. I also like to relate the subject matter to their lives and use every-day situations to help them remember topics, if it works for them.

I'm flexible in my approach, but I firmly believe that, given the right assistance, ANY student can learn ANY subject, no matter the difficulty.

Please contact me if you would like to schedule a trial session, would like a copy of my resume and references, or have any questions.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you!

I have over 10 years of experience as an Assistant Teacher and Tutor for grades K-12, college, and adult professional students (including ESL). I have worked part-time as an Assistant Math and
Read more

2 hours notice required

Group rates, discounts for multiple sessions.

Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Agoura Hills, CA 91301
Background Check: Passed

"Patient, prepared, flexible, caring, the list goes on and on!"

- Julie, Ventura, CA on 8/9/12
Algebra 1,
Elementary Math,
Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra
Organic Chemistry, Psychology,
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, IELTS, Literature, Proofreading,
Test Preparation:
Career Development,
General Computer,
Microsoft Access, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook
American History,
Government & Politics, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading,
Study Skills,
Career Development,
Microsoft Excel

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

Five years of experience as an Algebra I and II teacher and tutor (including CAHSEE and ASVAB prep).

American History

I have eight years of tutoring high school students in U.S. History.


I have extensive experience tutoring in all sections of the ASVAB (except the mechanical section). I help students to pass and improve both their AFQT and overall scores.

Please see my profile for a testimonial from a recent student I tutored in the ASVAB; he dramatically improved his score and was offered the rank and specialty position he wanted!

Career Development

I have been trained in Career Development by the California Conservation Corps. Career Development Training Program. I currently tutor students in Career Development classes. I also worked in Human Resources (screened resumes, cover letters, interviewed candidates), so I know how to construct a proper resume and what most companies are looking for in a candidate.


I passed the CBEST on my first attempt, and have tutored many students since then. I will help you with both the Math and English sections, including the essay portion. I teach simple techniques that make a huge difference in your writing. I have helped many students improve their scores tremendously!

Elementary (K-6th)

I have taught elementary education for 9 years and have tutored individually for 7 years. I teach K-6 Math, English, Science, History, Reading, Writing, and Study Skills. I am experienced in K-6 curriculum for public and private schools in Ventura, Los Angeles, and Santa Barbara counties.

Elementary Math

I currently tutor students in elementary math, including multiplication, division, addition, subtraction, decimals, fractions, and word problems. I specialize in comprehension, memorization, reviewing concepts, catching students up to their grade level (or getting them ahead), and have creative techniques for helping them understand and remember the material. If you would like any more information, please let me know.


English/ESL teacher and tutor/coach for 9 years. Help with proofreading, grammar, syntax, accent reduction, and idioms.

General Computer

I have 8 years experience teaching general computer skills to adults.


I've been a PreAlgebra tutor for several years. I introduce concepts, help students catch up on ideas they may be struggling with, and help them get ahead so they are confident in class.


I proofread school essays, research papers, stories, as well as personal statements/essays for those applying to universities.


I have a BA in Psychology and have tutored Psychology students for several years in how to write research papers, conduct studies, understand methods, and how to gather and present their data and research/statistics. I also help students memorize concepts, answer essay questions, and overall prepare for tests.


I have eight years of teaching and tutoring reading comprehension at the elementary level.


I've been a spelling assistant teacher for eight years.

Study Skills

I have much experience tutoring students in study skills: including techniques for comprehension, memorization, and long-term retention. Please send me a message if you would like more information.


I am an ESL tutor and teach grammar, vocabulary, idioms, writing, comprehension, and pronunciation/accent reduction.


I am a writing teacher and tutor with 8 years of experience. I help students construct, write, proofread, and polish their papers.

CSU - Channel Islands


CSU - Channel Islands

Patient, prepared, flexible, caring, the list goes on and on! — We hired Kate for our 18 year old son who needed a certain score on his ASVAB to go into special forces with the Marines. He had already tutored with other tutors and previously taken the test once before we hired Kate and did not score well, he felt discouraged but I kept looking for tutors until I found Kate!! He started tutoring with her and she was very informative, prepared, creative, flexib ...

— Julie, Ventura, CA on 8/9/12

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Group rates, discounts for multiple sessions.

Travel policy

Kate will travel within 40 miles of Agoura Hills, CA 91301.