NEW FEATURES MORE

Tyler S.

Mesa, AZ

$40/hour

I am Tyler. I have knowledge in history, writing, and sports.

In-person lessons

Message Tyler

Send Tyler a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Tyler or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Arizona State University, Tempe
History

Education

Arizona State University, Tempe (History)

About Tyler

I am a recent graduate of Arizona State University with plans to go back for a master's degree in history or education. I majored in history with a focus on European history and minored in psychology. I chose to focus on European history because it was something I had the least knowledge in and I thought it would be a good challenge for me to learn about it. I love sports and currently play hockey on Friday nights. I have experience in football, baseball, soccer, and some knowledge of basketball. I am a family man with two daughters, one is almost 3 and the other is a newborn, so patience is something I have in spades. I worked at two different elementary schools in Mesa, Falcon Hill and Webster, in the learning disability department and the mentally challenged department as well and was trusted with the children enough to take them to and from various classes and to help them in groups and one on one settings.

I am still fairly young, only 26, so I still understand what children go through while in school. I also understand that not every child learns the same. Some are more visual learners, like myself, while some may take some other forms to really grasp what is needed. Either way I think it is very important to understand what the child needs and what suits them best. I am by no means claiming to be a math or science expert, however with some studying on some of it I feel I can help a child understand what is needed. I am an athlete at heart, I play many different sports so I attack school work as I do my athletics. I try to learn the material, become comfortable with it, then do my best to perfect it. I feel the best way to do that is to study and find different ways to study that will help the student learn. What it comes down to is the student and what is best for them.
I am a recent graduate of Arizona State University with plans to go back for a master's degree in history or education. I majored in history with a focus on European history and minored in Read more

Policies
Cancellation
1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Mesa, AZ 85213
In-person lessons
English:
Bible Studies,
Proofreading, Reading, Writing
History:
American History, European History, Government & Politics, World History
Elementary Education:
Reading
Sports/Recreation:
Baseball,
Football,
Soccer

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Baseball

I have played baseball and softball for many years and I am able to relay a message to people about sports. I started out playing catcher, then moved to the outfield, then I was forced to play first base due to a team need. Although I do not have coaching experience I do have many years of experience playing and being a team captain and someone players looked up to. I also have studied the game while at home.

Bible Studies

My being LDS, I was able to serve a mission in Spokane Washington and although I had to come home early I was able to study the Old Testament, The New Testament, and other forms of scripture. I taught scripture while on my mission and believe that all scripture is meant for personal interpretation and how it can apply to the individual's life. I also read the Bible daily and study it looking for different lessons I can apply to my life. I also have taken classes at Arizona State University about different parts of The Bible and Book of Mormon.

Football

I played football for many years, starting in Pop Warner and finishing in junior high school. Although I did not continue my playing career, I did study the game and have looked into coaching myself. I played wide receiver and defensive back but I do have experience playing quarterback too and I can relay what needs to be done as far as foot work and release point to someone who is looking for some help. While training I had extensive coaching at the wide receiver position and defensive back position.

Soccer

I played soccer from the time I was 4 or 5 until I was 13 and no longer wanted to continue to play. I mostly played defense but I do have some experience as a forward. I coached my brother's soccer team when I was 13 with my mom and had a very good time doing so. I feel my experience with soccer and my years of watching it on TV can help me to communicate what needs to be done to others.

Arizona State University, Tempe
History

Education

Arizona State University, Tempe (History)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Tyler will travel within 10 miles of Mesa, AZ 85213.