Over 50 tutoring hours

Lisa A.

North Little Rock, AR

$30/hr

Reading/Writing, English as a Second Language, art

In-person lessons
Replies in 17 hours
4.9 Avg. Rating
 
 
9 Ratings
 
 
17hrs Response Time
Very Good Teacher
— Diana, Little Rock, AR on 8/12/14

Message Lisa

Send Lisa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Lisa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Art
The University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Master's
University of Central Arkansas
Graduate Coursework

Education

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock (Art)

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock (Master's)

University of Central Arkansas (Graduate Coursework)

About Lisa

Have fun and learn at your own pace! My goal is to help you meet your educational and learning needs. I can help you with reading, study skills (including test-taking skills), English, writing, vocabulary development and even art!

I have previously taught English, reading, speech, and I have been a substitute teacher for grades 8-12. My educational background includes a bachelors degree in art, as well as a masters degree in education. I have also taught English as a Second Language and privately tutored this subject, as well.
Have fun and learn at your own pace! My goal is to help you meet your educational and learning needs. I can help you with reading, study skills (including test-taking skills), Read more

Policies
Cancellation
5 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 25 miles of North Little Rock, AR 72118
In-person lessons

"Very Good Teacher"

- Diana, Little Rock, AR on 8/12/14

"A great teacher!"

- Sanju, Little Rock, AR on 7/17/13

"Great tutor"

- Yuemeng, Little Rock, AR on 8/11/11
English:
ACT English,
ACT Reading, English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary,
Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, Religion,
World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading,
Spelling,
Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
ACT English,
ACT Reading, Career Development,
College Counseling,
GED,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Yoga
Corporate Training:
Career Development,
College Counseling,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT English

I have taught ACT prep courses before in the areas of reading and English, as well as taught English Composition I. Additionally, I have been employed to grade/rate ACT essays.

Art History

I took a number of art history courses while obtaining my bachelors in art, and am well versed in this area, including not only the names, styles and locations of major artists of the Western world, but I am also familiar with forms and styles of architecture, and how major artistic movements have influenced all forms of life, including fashion, industrial design, and more.

Career Development

I have worked in student and career development throughout my decade-long career as an instructor in English and related subjects.

College Counseling

I worked every semester, two and three times per semester, as an academic advisor at a two-year college for two years. While I was still working there full-time, I received training for the academic area of college counseling, which included advising a student on his/her requirements for entry into college, best approaches to making up any deficit areas, and other, more general counseling concerns. In addition to working the registration for that period of time, also advised/counseled students almost every day who came into my office. Have continued this work this past academic year (2009-2010) while working as an adjunct instructor at another two-year college.

Drawing

I have an art degree that concentrated heavily on drawing and graphic design. I feel fully competent in instructing and coaching a student toward successful completion of that portion of an art class, or with additional help with drawing specific things such as people.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have both worked in K-6 grades as a substitute teacher, as well as tutored one-on-one and small groups of elementary students. I especially enjoy working with the upper elementary grades, and have tutored/substitute taught science, reading, English and math.

English

I am an ace English and reading instructor, with more than 10 years experience teaching students aged 2nd grade to adult.

ESL/ESOL

I taught English as a Second Language full-time during the fall, 2001 semester at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Focused on students who were about to graduate the program, and who were continuing to work on vocabulary, reading, English and oral communication skills, Students were from Saudi Arabia, Japan, Korea, Mongolia, Bosnia, France, and other locations.

GED

I have taught and tutored GED students, as well as workplace adult education and remedial reading/study skills, basic English, English as a Second Language and English Composition I.

Painting

I have painted in oils since I was 12 years old, and then obtained an art degree at a four year college in my 20s. During that time, I learned how to paint using acrylics and oils, as well as watercolors.
Private lessons at an arts center have further enhanced my abilities with watercolors.

Public Speaking

I have spoken publicly on a number of occasions, mostly to do with my church or my religion, but as a former full-time college instructor, I have no problem speaking in front of a large audience.

I can also teach speech, as I taught it one semester at an area four-year college.

Reading

My reading qualifications include having taught developmental reading and adult education several years in private and public institutions, to adults and children.
I've also taught English and developmental English and English as a Second Language for people from a variety of different countries.

Religion

I am a 40-year student of the world's major religions, and enrolled in a minority faith when I was still a teenager. In recent years, I have been asked to speak at colleges and to serve on interfaith panels for many years.
As a result of these experiences, as well as friendships based on this exposure, I am well versed in Buddhism, Hinduism, paganism, Judaism, Islam, and other religious belief systems.

Spelling

I remember as an elementary student memorizing some of the old spelling rules, such as "i before e, except after c", but sometimes still becoming confused. I love helping students learn easier ways to learn how to spell better, and consider it to be an essential part of public presentation in essays, resumes, and other important papers.

Study Skills

I taught study skills for 7 years full-time, and my experiences include: - test taking, time management, vocabulary development, life skills, career exploration, writing skills, and many others. Check me out - you'll be glad you did!

Vocabulary

While teaching developmental reading, a regular part of my student's assignments was to read and collect new vocabulary. An end of semester grade was assigned to keeping a vocabulary notebook, and many students came up to me later and thanked me for this training in expanding a crucial aspect of education, as well as effective communication in the 21st Century.

World History

I love learning about other cultures and their history on our planet, and have read and studied on my own, plus have privately tutored a student in AP World History.

Writing

I've been a freelance writer for more than 25 years, and have also taught college level developmental writing and English Composition I.

Yoga

I have practiced several different styles of yoga, including Iyengar, Anusara, hatha vinyasa, and others for more than ten years. I enjoy showing students simple yoga postures (some of which can even be done seated) to help relieve stress and anxiety, which studies have shown is relevant with yoga practice.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Art
The University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Master's
University of Central Arkansas
Graduate Coursework

Education

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock (Art)

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock (Master's)

University of Central Arkansas (Graduate Coursework)

Very Good Teacher — Lisa is very professional. She always prepares lessons and homework attending to my needs and it is a pleasure to have enjoyed her teaching. Thank you Lisa for your dedication. ...

— Diana, Little Rock, AR on 8/12/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Travel policy

Lisa will travel within 25 miles of North Little Rock, AR 72118.

Background Check Status for Lisa A.

Lisa A. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Lisa, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.