Over 50 tutoring hours

Tashara W.

Decatur, AL


English Made Easy!

In-person lessons
4.0 average from 6 ratings
GREAT tutor, highly recommend
— Kristen, Cary, NC on 7/18/13

Message Tashara

Send Tashara a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Tashara or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 56 minutes
Replies in 56 minutes

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Jacksonville State University


Jacksonville State University (English)

About Tashara

I have a Bachelor of Arts Degree in English and began a Master's program in English Language Arts. English is my passion and has been since I was a teenager. I have a deep love for words and literature. I began tutoring middle school basketball players when I was a high school student. In college, I was a mentor in the Big Brothers Big Sisters in school mentoring program. Post graduation, I began tutoring students in English as a part time job. I strive to use innovative and interesting ways to present English to my students. I want them to learn the subject, but also to learn to love the subject. My goal is for my students to understand words, their meanings, and their power. I believe that every person is capable of learning and should not be robbed of this opportunity. I have a Bachelor of Arts Degree in English and began a Master's program in English Language Arts. English is my passion and has been since I was a teenager. I have a deep love for words and Read more

2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 25 miles of Decatur, AL 35603
In-person lessons

"GREAT tutor, highly recommend"

- Kristen, Cary, NC on 7/18/13

"Homework A Plus!"

- Michele, Morrisville, NC on 6/17/13
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Phonics, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Phonics, Special Needs
Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have experience tutoring elementary and middle school aged children with difficulty with reading and language arts. I am currently teaching an English SAT Prep class for 6th and 7th grade students.

Special Needs

I have taken a special education course at the Master's level. In the course, we were required to make visual aids to assist with teaching. We also learned techniques on how to present curriculum to special needs students. All of the students I have tutored have been behind at least two grade levels. Each student has improved to be on the same level or at least one grade level behind.

Study Skills

I have taken Master's Level special education classes. In those classes, I have written papers and made visual aides to be used in a special education classroom. Currently, I am tutoring a child who has been classified as special needs. He has progressed tremendously.

Jacksonville State University


Jacksonville State University (English)

GREAT tutor, highly recommend — Ms. W has been an incredible asset to help improve my son's academic needs. Over the past year my husband and I have seen our son struggle in school. We met many times with his school teacher and tried different ways to help build confidence and improve his learning but nothing worked. We both knew something needed to change. We had him independently testing to get a baseline and was shocked th ...

— Kristen, Cary, NC on 7/18/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Tashara will travel within 25 miles of Decatur, AL 35603.

Background Check Status for Tashara W.

Tashara W. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Tashara, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.