Search 73,738 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Sharayah P.

K-12 Language Arts, Reading, All subjects K-8

Woodinville, WA (98077)

Travel radius
0 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Sharayah P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Sharayah P.

Sharayah P. passed a background check on 2/25/14. The check was ordered by Sharayah through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Sharayah, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I fell in love with tutoring several years ago when I realized how many kids and young adults needed extra help when their school system was not meeting their needs, and how fulfilled I felt when I worked with them to achieve that "a ha!" moment.

I received a bachelor of arts degree in English from the University of Oregon, with a special interest in children's literature. I have over 3 years of tutoring experience, both privately and through an agency, for grades K-12 and just about EVERY subject. From 2010 to 2012 I worked as a private tutor, focusing primarily on reading and writing, but also helping a few students with math ranging from 5th grade fractions to freshman algebra. I have worked with students as young as 4 and as old as 16.

In 2012 I joined Northwest Behavioral Associates in Bellevue, WA as a tutor for kids on the autism spectrum (teaching everything from grammar to social fluency to self-help skills), so I also have extensive experience working with children on the autism spectrum, including OCD, ADD, PDD-NOS, and Aspergers. I am not intimidated by tricky behaviors!

My personal favorite subject to tutor is language arts- reading, writing, grammar, spelling, etc. I love to help individuals discover the joy of the English language!

As of spring 2014 I will tutor exclusively from my home in Woodinville- I am expecting a baby in late summer and need to begin crafting my tutoring schedule around being in my home. I prefer to be notified of cancellations 24 hours in advance, but I understand that life happens and I am happy and willing to schedule makeup sessions.

Email Sharayah

Sharayah’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Word
Art:
Adobe Photoshop, Drawing, Painting
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Aspergers, Phonics
Business:
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, Handwriting, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Aspergers

I have been working as an applied-behavior analysis tutor for kids on the autism spectrum, including Aspergers, since July 2012. I am comfortable helping kids with Aspergers to face their unique academic challenges as well as helping motivate them to excel in their schoolwork even when it's difficult or unpleasant.

Drawing

I am an artist and illustrator, and have been pursuing this passion my entire life. I am an active member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. I have experience illustrating school curricula and picture books as well as painting and digital art commissions. I work primarily in gouache, acrylic, ink pen, and digital.

Elementary (K-6th)

From 2010 to 2012 I worked as a private tutor for 5 different children, ranging in age from 5 to 14 years old. I assisted with basic homework help (spanning all subjects), language arts, grammar and spelling, math, science, and organizational skills. I also currently tutor my clients in a variety of academic subjects including fractions, basic arithmetic, vocabulary, and narrative writing.

Handwriting

I have experience with the Handwriting Without Tears curriculum through my formal tutoring experience. I also assist a 4-year-old three days a week with handwriting when he is at preschool. I consider handwriting important even as we move more and more toward digital schoolwork, and I let my students know that I am watching for their best handwriting work and that it is rewarded.

Reading

I have an English degree from the University of Oregon with a special interest in children's literature. In 2009 I volunteered with Get SMART! Oregon as a reader with first and second graders. I moved on to tutor several early-elementary school kids in reading and phonics, using a tailored blend of games, actual books, and even art projects that helped them not only improve their reading skills but learn to enjoy it! One of the students I tutored as a kindergartener is now in second grade and reading at a sixth grade level.

Study Skills

I have been working with my students on improving study and organizational skills since 2010. This includes teaching study tactics such as mnemonics and then actively practicing them with the student, and rewarding proof that they have been implementing those tactics on their own. I consider good organization of study materials to be a large factor in this, and if necessary will assist my students in a complete overhaul of their materials and develop a system to help them keep track of their homework and study materials.

Writing

Graduate of the University of Oregon with an English degree. Scored a 5 (highest possible score) on the Advanced Placement Literature and Composition exam in 2007. I have written for multiple companies, newsletters, websites, and blogs. I have been helping kids, teens, and adults improve their writing, spelling, grammar, and editing skills for several years now.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Sharayah

back to top

Education

University of Oregon (English)

Great tutor overall We've had a great experience with Sharayah. She is down to earth, easy to talk to and my daughter felt comfortable asking questions, The answers were to the point and detailed so after only few lessons my daughter was way more confident in her math skills. I would highly recommend her!! ...

— Maria from Duvall, WA on 6/3/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sharayah will travel within 0 miles of Woodinville, WA 98077.

Email Sharayah

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Sharayah a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sharayah or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.