Search 72,238 tutors

Laura V.

Learn ASL in a easy and enjoyable way!

Seattle, WA (98133)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
Email Laura V.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Laura V.

Laura V. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Laura, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have a real love of sign language and teaching. Sign Language has a interesting history, and I enjoy making the signs come alive for my students. I have taught ASL I and II at Highline Community College. I received high points from my students for my teaching abilities, Sign Language knowledge and ability to make learning fun.

I have real life experience, currently working with a deaf woman as a interpreter. I believe in feeling comfortable and relaxed is the best way to learn a new subject. I like to combine books, tapes and signing in class. I encourage my students to practice as much as possible in class, so they feel confident in their abilities.

Email Laura

Laura’s subjects

Special Needs:
ESL/ESOL, Writing
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Sign Language


I worked for over 20 years teaching students with dyslexia. I have my certification as a Disability Management Specialist. I have my Master's in Adult Education and Training and specialized coursework in teaching students with dyslexia and learning disabilities.

Hard Of Hearing

I worked for ten years as a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor for Deaf and Hard of Hearing individuals. I know assisted technology and methods of teaching people who are hard of hearing, and I have Signed English experience. I am a Certified Disability Management Specialist, and I also have my M.Ed in Adult Education and Training.


I received my Master's in Adult Education and Training in 2007. I also took two graduate level courses in teaching English to learners of a second language. I have worked for four years, preparing students for both the TOEFL and IELTS. The IELTS test has a unique component of speaking directly to a live person, so answering questions about your life is important, such as "Describe your favorite toy as a child." I have practice tutoring in all areas of IELTS: speaking, writing and listening.

Sign Language

I have two years' experience teaching sign language 1 and 2 at the college level to college students. I have a master's level certification in sign language and Deaf Studies from Western Oregon State College. I was a Counselor for the deaf for eight years and worked as an interpreter for five years.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Laura

back to top


Seattle University 2 degrees from this school

Seattle University Col of Education (Graduate Coursework)

Western Oregon State College (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Laura will travel within 15 miles of Seattle, WA 98133.

Email Laura

Usually responds in about 10 hours

Send Laura a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Laura or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.