Search 75,535 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Mariko I.

Mariko I - Math, Science, French, Latin, English

Oak Harbor, WA (98277)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Mariko I.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Mariko I.

Mariko I. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Mariko, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello all!

As someone who excelled in my undergraduate career at Texas A&M University, I also greatly enjoy helping students succeed in their own academic endeavors. I believe that each individual student has their own passions and their own learning techniques and I strongly feel that that tutoring and learning should be customized to each person I work with.

On my first attempt on my SAT before going to college, I received an 800 on the critical reading section. I also performed well on the math and writing sections, allowing me to later be honored as a National Merit Finalist. This in turn led to many of the scholarships that financed over 75 percent of my undergraduate career at Texas A&M. I am still pursuing my education with an intent to pursue my Master's degree in Occupational Therapy. Education should be a lifelong pursuit and I enjoy students who keep me on my toes!

My undergraduate career had a heavy focus on math and science, where I majored in zoology. This makes me feel very comfortable tutoring biology, chemistry, biochemistry, organic chemistry, genetics, zoology, anatomy, and physiology at a high school to college level. I am also happy to help younger children struggling with science find a love for science! I am able to tutor statistics, algebra, geometry, and basic math for young children through high school level classes, as well.

I received a 4.0 GPA during my undergraduate career in my French minor. With the natural fluency that comes from having French-Canadian family, I joyfully share this expertise with any children who struggle with this language. I also took AP French and Latin during my high school years, allowing me to tutor both of these languages through a high school level, and French even to a collegiate level.

Due to my experience with various languages and my natural passion for reading and literature, I am able to tutor various English subjects such as grammar, writing, reading, vocabulary, or literature through the high school level.

I am happy to receive students at my house or travel, depending on client needs. Depending on the distance traveled, I may charge a small fee to cover gas.

Please don't hesitate to contact me for further information! I look forward to each new student and opportunity to make a difference in their academic lives!

Email Mariko

Mariko’s subjects

Corporate Training:
French, Grammar, Latin, Microsoft Excel, Proofreading, Statistics
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
GED, SAT Math, SAT Reading
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Chemistry, French, Geometry, Handwriting, Physics, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills
Special Needs:
Aspergers
Business:
Microsoft Excel
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Language:
French, Latin
Science:
Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Ecology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Organic Chemistry, Physical Science, Physics, Physiology, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics
English:
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary

Lacrosse

I have played lacrosse for 15 years. I began at a private middle school where I played against schools that feed into some of the top collegiate programs in the country. I then set many records as a goalie during my four years at Briar Woods High school, where many of my records remain intact. I then moved onto two years of collegiate club lacrosse in the Texas Women's Lacrosse League during my time at Texas A&M University, where I earned the state defensive MVP title. I also have volunteer experience coaching various age levels of lacrosse.

Zoology

I have received my B.S. in Zoology from Texas A&M University. I understand the many different aspects of this topic and can help, particularly for high school students interested in this area, with their understanding.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Mariko

back to top

Education

Texas A&M University (Zoology)

Consummate professional with an impressive mastery of subject areas From hourly rate to availability to work ethic to pedagogical knack for simplifying the complex (or at least complex to me), Mariko impresses. Her infinite patience saw me through a few rough chemistry units. I absolutely recommend her and sure am glad I made the investment (really quite the bargain considering what it would cost to repeat a college course). ...

— Molly from Oak Harbor, WA on 5/18/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Mariko will travel within 30 miles of Oak Harbor, WA 98277.

Email Mariko

Usually responds in about 37 minutes

Send Mariko a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Mariko or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.