Search 73,866 tutors
Over 300 tutoring hours

James D.

British citizen offering statistics, psychology, SPSS and R

Lakewood, WA (98499)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
Email James D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for James D.

James D. passed a background check on 2/5/14. The check was ordered by James through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to James, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a British citizen and I am a recent immigrant to the US.

I have a degree in international relations from the London School of Economics, and for most of my life I have worked as a writer. I have had several books published by mainstream publishers, and I have written articles in the UK national press.

I have undergraduate and masters degrees in psychology, as well as a TEFL qualification from the University of Washington.

I can teach statistics, particularly from a social sciences point of view, and I am comfortable with both SPSS and R.

I have taught English in Slovakia and Poland, and I have also taught an undergraduate psychology course.

As a teacher I am patient and knowledgeable. I set myself high standards, and I know how to present complicated information in a simple and straightforward way.

At the same time I am able to teach psychology, of course with particular emphasis on statistics!

Email James

James’s subjects

Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, SPSS, Statistics
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
ACT Science, Astronomy, Biostatistics, Chemistry, Geology, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology
General Computer, HTML, Linux, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, SAS, SPSS
American History, Geography, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Business, Career Development, Economics, Finance, Law, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Chemistry, Economics, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, Career Development, College Counseling, GED, SAT Math, SAT Reading, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
Business, Career Development, College Counseling, Economics, ESL/ESOL, Finance, General Computer, Grammar, HTML, Law, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, SPSS, Statistics


My main tutoring subject is statistics, and many of my students are working in healthcare, and are focusing on subjects such as epidemiology. I am familiar with odds ratios, survival studies and control groups, and to further my knowledge, I have taken and passed online courses in biostatistics. Furthermore, I am familiar with R, a statistical program which is widely used by biostatisticians.

Social Studies

I have a thorough grounding in social studies. I have a degree from the London School of Economics and Political Science, and I have studied politics and economics. Furthermore, I have two degrees in psychology, which have included components relating to social psychology. At the same time, I am familiar with the statistics that are commonly used to understand society and its problems.


I have a thorough grounding in the social sciences. I have a degree from the London School of Economics, and I have two degrees in psychology. These last two degrees had a quantitative bases, and allowed me to study social psychology. I understand the basics of sociology, and I am able to tutor the subject at an introductory level.


I am up to speed in the main modules of SPSS, and I have a wide experience of providing one-to-one tuition in the use and application of this program. I am very patient, and I always tailor my tuition to fit the individual needs of my students.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email James

back to top


London School of Economics and Political Science (Intl. Relations)

British Open University (Other)

University of Hertfordshire UK (Master's)

Knowledgeable, Thorough, Responsive, and Professional The 3.5 hours I spent with James was worth every millisecond! During this time, we accomplished what I struggled to for weeks. He called me within an hour of my request and scheduled a time to collaborate virtually later the same evening. I am no statistician, but I understand data and am very knowledgeable of the data under study. I have not been this refreshed and excited in MONTHS as I suffered ...

— Patrick from Tacoma, WA on 8/27/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

My normal rate is $50 an hour. For late night and dawn tuition, between 1.00 a.m. and 7.00 am PST, my rate goes up to $75 an hour.

Travel policy

James will travel within 40 miles of Lakewood, WA 98499.

Email James

Usually responds in about 2 hours

Send James a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed James or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.