Search 72,485 tutors
Over 50 tutoring hours

Barbara W.

Excel in Spanish, English, Reading, Writing, Violin & Poker

Issaquah, WA (98029)

Travel radius
7 miles
Hourly fee
Email Barbara W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Barbara W.

Barbara W. passed a background check on 9/27/10. The check was ordered by Barbara through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Barbara, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Teaching is a source of great enjoyment for me. I have a BA degree from Washington State University in Spanish Language and Literature with a minor in Japanese and Music. I also attended Universidad del Iteso in Guadalajara, Mexico for a summer college program and lived with a family.

I have taught Spanish for a number of years at a small private elementary school on the Sammamish Plateau. I have traveled extensively through out Mexico over the years and have also traveled to Costa Rica.

I play the violin and have given private lesson instruction in my home. I am also experienced in teaching English grammar, writing, phonics, spelling, reading, and elementary math.

I derive an immense amount of satisfaction watching children become engaged in the learning process. I use a combination of games, music, books, and worksheets in my instruction.

In addition, I am an avid reader, golfer, excellent cook, and in my younger years played poker professionally for a living. For 15 years, I worked for a high tech computer firm as a Sales Executive and Partner Development Manager in Channels Sales. I also worked for the McDonald's Corporation teaching their management Spanish, and their Spanish employees English.

Email Barbara

Barbara’s subjects

Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
General Computer
Spanish, Speech
Geography, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Reading, SAT Reading, Spanish, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Proofreading, Spanish


I have loved cooking since I was in my early twenties, and grew up learning how to cook from my mother. I have taken numerous cooking classes through PCC, Bon Vivant, and Sur La Table. In addition, I have donated my time to various charitable auctions in the form of "Mexican Dinner for Eight". My husband and I have participated in a neighborhood gourmet cooking club that we have enjoyed for years. I specialize in main courses, ethnic foods (Mexican and Italian), side dishes, and appetizers.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have instructed all subjects (Reading, Grammar, History, Writing, Math, Science, Music, and Spanish) as a substitute teacher at a local private elementary school on the Sammamish Plateau. It is this age group that appeals to me the most as young children are so hungry to learn.

I also home schooled my son during his 5th grade year, and in addition to the subjects mentioned above, included Latin and Art in his curriculum. I endeavor to find out what makes learning fun and apply that to my techniques.

I would be happy to supply references upon request.


Received by BA degree in Spanish Language and Literature. That also included years of English literature and writing.


In addition to substitute teaching K-5th grade at a private elementary school on the plateau, I home-schooled my son who struggled with reading and grammar in particular. Through various tools, and the game "Hooked on Phonics", he was able to return to the public school system much more prepared and confident. It made the difference between holding him back a grade or advancing him.

As I've mentioned in my profile, I have taught Spanish for a number of years and the same principals apply in learning any language. Initially it is being able to assess what areas the student is struggling with and then applying the techniques and tools to help him/her overcome those obstacles. Often it just takes a lot of patience along with making the learning fun.


I grew up in a household where playing card games was a fun past time. We played cribbage, canasta, and bridge. When I graduated from college, I learned how to play poker, and traveled for a number of years around the United States playing poker as a way to subsidize my income. It has only been in the recent years that "Hold 'Em" poker has become the rage. I have continued to play poker in private games and card-rooms. I have also given "Poker Seminars" to groups wanting to learn the basics or just to improve their game. It is a lot of fun and when I combine my natural proclivity towards teaching it becomes a perfect fit. I would be happy to give references upon request.


I have tutored reading and writing up through 8th grade. I have found that many students, boys in particular, struggle with reading because they never learned phonics. I use "Hooked On Phonics" as a tool which is fun and a great aid for helping them to read at a higher level, and to catch up if they are behind.


I have my BA degree from Washington State University in Spanish Language and Literature. I have traveled extensively through out Mexico and Costa Rica. I attended La Universidad del Iteso in Guadalajara, Mexico for a summer quarter.

In the past ten years I have taught Spanish at a private elementary school on Sammamish Plateau. I have also tutored groups traveling to Spanish speaking countries, and tutored one on one privately. I enjoy both the cultural aspects as well as the language itself.


I began playing violin when I was 8 years old and continued to study and take private lessons all through college until I graduated. I played in small groups, the Washington State University orchestra, and the Olympia Symphony. I have given private lessons over the years and have a second violin which would be available to rent along with the lessons. It is a full size violin. If you are looking for a younger child, i.e. prior to 10 years of age and depending on size, they would most likely need a 1/2 to 3/4 size violin to start. I was classically instructed but music as a whole is a passion!

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Barbara

back to top


Washington State University (Spanish)

Seattle University ()

Great Tutor! — Barbara has been a great Spanish tutor for my child! Right from the first lesson, she made an effort to make sure that my son was comfortable working with her. She is very patient at explaining key concepts and nuances of the Spanish language and provides useful guidance to my son for his homework assignments. She also makes the lessons fun and interesting; my son enjoys learning Spanish with her ...

— Prajakta from Sammamish, WA on 10/10/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 16 hours notice required

Travel policy

Barbara will travel within 7 miles of Issaquah, WA 98029.

Email Barbara

Usually responds in about 9 hours

Send Barbara a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Barbara or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.