Search 75,808 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Julie R.

Foreign Language, Language Arts, and General Studies Tutor

Bothell, WA (98021)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Julie R.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Julie R.

Julie R. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Julie, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My name is Julie and I mainly tutor students for English as a Second Language (ESL/TOEFL), basic/intermediate German/Russian, and basic Italian. I am also certified to tutor (English) Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Proofreading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary, and basic general education (K-6th only).

I love to teach and try to make it fun. When teaching subjects having to do with language, I try to mix grammar, writing, conversation, and application (films, literature, etc.). There is also the option of incorporating cultural education through fun activities such as preparing authentic meals, going to restaurants or museums that have to do with the language being studied, or possibly speaking with native speakers of foreign languages if/when available. Many of these applications can also be used in subjects outside the scope of English or other foreign languages.

I have a Bachelor of Arts Degree (Dual Major) in the Russian and German languages. I've had several years experience in Italian as well and dabble a bit in Spanish, French, and other languages. My studies yielded a deep understanding of Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Proofreading, Spelling, Study Skills, and Vocabulary both in English and in the Russian/German/Italian languages. I also have an Associate of Arts Degree in (Computer) Graphic Design/Multimedia which helps my (K-6th) general studies students when being tutored in Computer Science or Visual Arts.

My students and I either meet in person at their home, or use Skype for classes (if that best suits their needs). My schedule is open mornings, daytime, and early evening, and I am pretty flexible about time availability. I look forward to helping you or someone you care about in broadening educational horizons!

Email Julie

Julie’s subjects

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Bachelor's degree in Foreign Language. This degree required both basic and advanced classes that relate to all subjects taught in elementary schools. My major strengths and credentials lie in subjects having to do with or relating to languages (foreign & domestic) and American/World culture (English, History, Social Science, World Cultures, Study Skills). I also have an Associates' Degree in graphic art/multimedia, so I am able to help with Visual Arts. Although I do not have a degree in basic math, I am more than capable of helping any student at the elementary level. I love to teach any subject and I try to help my students find the fun in learning.

English

As a native speaker of American English, I am able to assist in the learning of all facets of the American English language. This includes spelling, grammar, pronunciation, and conversation. Education on this subject may also include cultural aspects as shown by pertinent films and/or literature, based on the student's ability.

ESL/ESOL

I offer English grammar, pronunciation, and conversation as taught from a native speaker.

German

I can teach beginning and intermediate levels of the German language. Grammar, writing, reading, conversation, application, pronunciation, and culture will all be part of the language learning process.

Grammar

English grammar is a facet of the English language, of which I am a native speaker (*American English). As a student of foreign languages, I have learned much about grammar in both the languages I've studied and my native tongue. Please take heart that English grammar is more simple that a lot of other languages. Grammar includes, but is not limited to: word classes (nouns, verbs, adjectives, etc.); syntax (tense, aspect, mood); building sentences (subject, predicate, direct/indirect objects, etc.)

Italian

I am able to teach basic Italian and/or Italian for those planning a vacation abroad.

Phonics

Being a native English speaker, and having earned a Bachelor's Degree in Foreign Language, I am well-acquainted with learning how to read from very basic to advanced skill levels. I am able to help students learn to read using phonics in any language with which I am acquainted (English, German, Russian, Italian).

Proofreading

Proofreading involves checking the accuracy of any written work with regard to spelling, grammar, and style. I am able to either proofread a student's work or to help the student sharpen his/her own proofreading ability.

Reading

As a native English speaker, English as a Second Language tutor, and recipient of a Bachelor's degree in Foreign Languages, I am more than capable of helping those in need of improvement with English reading, comprehension, spelling, and pronunciation. My methods usually include intensive reading sessions with purposeful focus on the student's problem areas. I am patient, I love to teach, and my greatest joy is seeing improvement in my students' ability to read, write &/or speak more effectively, in any language.

Russian

With a Bachelor's Degree of Arts in both German and Russian, I am qualified to teach beginning to intermediate levels of both languages. With Russian, this includes learning the Russian alphabet, vocabulary, spelling, grammar, pronunciation, conversation, and an introduction to Russian culture/history as a whole. Russian is a beautiful language and illustrates a very rich and diverse culture. I hope to share my passion for the Russian language with my students.

Spelling

Spelling is a very important part of any language. As a native speaker of American English, I am happy to assist those in need of help with spelling, or any other facets of the English language. Spelling is important to learn for correspondence and writing in general. The difference between "there", "their", and "they're" can be crucial in some situations. There is also the correction of phonic spelling such as "probly" instead of "probably", for example. Being able to spell will also help a person to speak more eloquently. I am happy to provide assistance.

Study Skills

Having earned an Associates' Degree in Graphic Art/Multimedia and a Bachelor's Degree in Foreign Language, I have become somewhat of an expert in Study Skills. When teaching Study Skills, I try to identify which of the different kinds of learning styles each student responds to (auditory vs. visual vs. hands-on). This helps them to nurture study skills that fit their personal needs. I show my students how to properly use: reference materials, study materials, the internet for reference/self-help purposes, & the library (an often overlooked asset). Other important aspects that I teach are time management, staying ahead of the class, learning with groups, and making learning enjoyable. I am able to help students learn and improve these habits so that earning an education isn't such a struggle.

TOEFL

The TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) measures an individual's ability to read, write, speak, and understand English at a college level. I am able to help students to prepare for an upcoming TOEFL or to improve their English skills in general.

Vocabulary

English vocabulary is an extremely important aspect of the English language, as it is in any language. Building one's own vocabulary allows for a more powerful ability to understandably express one's own thoughts. Studying vocabulary will involve testing the student's present knowledge and adjusting the learning criteria to meet their personal needs. Spelling will also be a part of learning vocabulary, as there is a significant difference between such words as "loose" and "lose", for instance. One must be aware of the differences to make oneself clear. I am happy to help in all aspects of the (American) English language.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Julie

back to top

Education

Wichita State University (Russian and German)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Optional cultural activities: negotiate with tutor

Travel policy

Julie will travel within 20 miles of Bothell, WA 98021.

Email Julie

Usually responds in about 9 hours

Send Julie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Julie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.