Search 72,645 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Rachel W.

Woodbridge, VA

$35/hr

Certified Teacher Available to Tutor Your Child!

Background check passed as of 11/7/14
Usually responds in about 15 hours

Certified Teacher Available to Tutor Your Child!

Message Rachel

Send Rachel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rachel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I am a graduate of the University of Maryland with a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education. I am an assistant teacher at Potomac Crescent Waldorf School where I teach Kindergarten (ages 3 to 6). During my free time, I enjoy helping students from the ages of 3 to 70! Most of what I do is focused on kindling the joy of learning for students for students whose curiosity has been discouraged by the public school system. I also work with very young students to help them build a strong foundation for their educational journey.

Testimonials

"Awesome!!"

- SAINI, Hanover, MD on 6/18/14

"Rachel is very patient and pleasant."

- Shirley, Pasadena, MD on 12/5/13
English:
Bible Studies,
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading,
Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
Religion
Music:
Piano
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science,
Grammar,
Phonics,
Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Sports/Recreation:
Needlework
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Bible Studies

I have been studying the bible since I was about 6 years old. My father was an aspiring pastor, eventually became a chaplain in the Army, and now works as a marriage and family therapist. Meanwhile, my mother home schooled my siblings and I. Bible was part of the curriculum. Also, I spent a semester studying at a Christian university in New Brunswick, Canada, where my major was Religious Studies. I took biblical Greek and studied the Old Testament.

Elementary (K-6th)

In May 2012 I graduated from the University of Maryland, College Park with a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education. After graduating, I applied to the Maryland State Department of Education and received an official certification to teach grades K-6.

Elementary Math

I taught 5th grade elementary math for one year (2011-2012) at Rockledge Elementary School in Bowie, MD. I also met with a small-group of students twice a week to help them improve their multiplication skills. Their scores went from 20s-60s to 70s-100s.
I have helped students from the ages of 5 to 12 with their math homework after school.

Elementary Science

I taught 5th grade elementary science for one year at Rockledge Elementary School. I have always had an interest in science, and I like to use children's natural curiosity as a springboard for exploration.
I have helped students from the ages of 5 to 12 with their science homework.

English

Before I changed my major to Elementary Education, I was an English major. I have read hundreds of books in my life so far, and I hope to read thousands more. I absolutely love literature in all its forms and I enjoy helping others learn more about English and study great works of literature.

ESL/ESOL

I am proficient in English, but I wish I could master another language; particularly Spanish. I have taken college-level Spanish I and passed with an A. For about 5 years now I have been trying to learn Spanish. I've listened to the Pimsleur Audio learning CDs, listened to Spanish music, and tried having basic conversations with my Hispanic friends, but I am still not proficient at it. English is a difficult language to learn, and I hope to help speakers of other languages learn it. I hope that I can relate to Hispanic English Language Learners by being able to communicate with them to some degree using their own language and build bridges that way.

Grammar

I am an excellent editor. I often find grammatical errors in books, and I have the urge to take my red pen and write the appropriate correction. I grew up learning how to dissect sentences and label every single piece: Subject, predicate, preposition, object, etc. etc. etc. Sentence diagrams still show up in my nightmares. Yet through it all, I did learn exactly how the English language works. Without the rules, the English language would have no structure. I believe I can teach grammar in an accessible way that really helps students instead of hindering them.

Needlework

I love arts and crafts! My mother taught me to sew when I was 8 years old and I only wish I had a sewing machine so that I could apply more of what she taught me! In the meantime, I have become an adept knitter and would love to teach anyone how to knit. Since knitting wasn't an option under "subjects", I chose needlework because knitting is working with needles (knitting needles). I've been knitting for about 3 years now and can help you get started on a new project just in time for Christmas!

Phonics

I am certified to teach reading and writing according to the Maryland State Department of Education. I also have experience working with students in kindergarten through second grade using phonics and other reading skills to teach them how to read.

Piano

I play piano and read music fairly well. There are certainly many people who play much better than I do, but I can teach children ages 8-12 the basics of how to identify keys on the piano, read music, and keep tempo.

Proofreading

I often find mistakes in books that I read. I have an eye for detail and can proofread and edit your writing to make it more professional and engaging!

Reading

I have tutored reading to students ages 5 to 8 for about 4 years now. I remember also helping my little brother learn how to read. Learning to read is a combination of phonemic awareness, letter recognition, fluency, and comprehension.

Religion

I grew up in a fairly traditional, Christian household. My father was a Chaplain in the Army whose favorite thing was to talk about theology. I took religious courses in high school as well as college. I also spent a semester at a Christian University in Canada as a Religious Studies major.

Study Skills

I love learning, and I know how to learn just about anything. Learning takes practice, and so does studying. I had to learn study skills to get A's in college, and I know exactly what works and what does not. I also understand that every individual's learning style is unique and I can help all types of learners adopt study skills that work for them.

Rachel’s Resources

Tutors have the ability to create educational resources and share them with the WyzAnt community. Here are some of the resources created by Rachel. View all of Rachel’s resources

Learning readiness refers to the process by which children under the age of 6 prepare for direct instruction in reading and math. Prior to the age of 6, it is developmentally inappropriate for most children to receive any kind of direct instruction in reading or math. Instead, children should be exposed to rich vocabulary (through songs and stories) and build social skills as well as fine and... read more

Making a difference in people's lives is crucial for me. I enjoy teaching and interacting with my students at The Waldorf School of Baltimore, and I know I've impacted their lives. Yet there is something about one-on-one tutoring that is different than classroom teaching.      For one thing, it's more personal. Often I tutor students in their own homes and I get to know things... read more

University of Maryland
Elementary Education

Education

University of Maryland (Elementary Education)

Awesome!! — Rachel is an awesome teacher! She is very friendly and patient and engaged our child during the whole session. My daughter absolutely loved Ms. Rachel and eagerly waited for her during each of the sessions. She has enriched my child's vocabulary with poems and stories that have sparked creative thinking. Her finger games, sewing, and painting further strengthened the development of fine motor skil ...

— SAINI, Hanover, MD on 6/18/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rachel will travel within 30 miles of Woodbridge, VA 22193.


About Rachel

I am a graduate of the University of Maryland with a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education. I am an assistant teacher at Potomac Crescent Waldorf School where I teach Kindergarten (ages 3 to 6). During my free time, I enjoy helping students from the ages of 3 to 70! Most of what I do is focused on kindling the joy of learning for students for students whose curiosity has been discouraged by the public school system. I also work with very young students to help them build a strong foundation for their educational journey.

Testimonials

"Awesome!!"

- SAINI, Hanover, MD on 6/18/14

"Rachel is very patient and pleasant."

- Shirley, Pasadena, MD on 12/5/13
}

Education

University of Maryland
Elementary Education

Education

University of Maryland (Elementary Education)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Woodbridge, VA 22193

Rachel’s Subjects

English:
Bible Studies,
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading,
Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
Religion
Music:
Piano
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science,
Grammar,
Phonics,
Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Sports/Recreation:
Needlework
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Rachel’s Resources

Tutors have the ability to create educational resources and share them with the WyzAnt community. Here are some of the resources created by Rachel. View all of Rachel’s resources

Learning readiness refers to the process by which children under the age of 6 prepare for direct instruction in reading and math. Prior to the age of 6, it is developmentally inappropriate for most children to receive any kind of direct instruction in reading or math. Instead, children should be exposed to rich vocabulary (through songs and stories) and build social skills as well as fine and... read more

Making a difference in people's lives is crucial for me. I enjoy teaching and interacting with my students at The Waldorf School of Baltimore, and I know I've impacted their lives. Yet there is something about one-on-one tutoring that is different than classroom teaching.      For one thing, it's more personal. Often I tutor students in their own homes and I get to know things... read more


Background Check Status for Rachel W.

Rachel W. passed a background check on 11/7/14. The check was ordered by Rachel through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Rachel, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.