Search 72,704 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Daniel M.

Mc Lean, VA

$50/hr

experienced language tutor

Background check passed as of 10/27/14
Usually responds in about 3 hours

experienced language tutor

Message Daniel

Send Daniel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Daniel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I have quite a lot of experience teaching languages both to groups in the classroom and to individuals, especially English to foreign students, both ESL and EFL, but have also taught German, Dutch, Latin, Esperanto and French. My training in these and other languages, plus my training in linguistics (Phd.) gives me a thorough understanding of how language works.

My tutoring methods depend on the needs of the student. For a language that is generally not spoken like Latin, this means understanding the grammar and memorizing the forms. Sometimes a student only needs to acquire a reading knowledge of a language. In that case, a certain degree of the above methods needs to be supplemented by actual reading of texts. If a student needs to develop some degree of skill in speaking a language, then the main emphasis needs to be on actual free conversation, if the student is advanced enough at that point, otherwise various exercises from workbooks can be applied.

Testimonials

"Methodical and thorough"

- Sashka, Vienna, VA on 3/29/14
Math:
Algebra 1,
Geometry, Logic, SAT Math
History:
American History, European History, World History
Elementary Education:
Grammar,
Reading, Vocabulary
Business:
GRE
Homeschool:
Algebra 1,
Dutch,
English,
ESL/ESOL,
French,
Geometry, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading,
Spanish
Test Preparation:
GRE,
SAT Math, SAT Reading,
SSAT, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Chess
Corporate Training:
Dutch,
ESL/ESOL,
French,
German,
Grammar,
Latin,
Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

My general teaching experience enables me to take the student step by step through the process of understanding the question and getting the answer.

I am said to be a patient person and am willing to explain the steps needed to come up with the answer.

Chess

I have taught chess to children and adults for close to six years. The company I work for currently part-time has developed a specific way of teaching chess. This involves introducing the various pieces one by one and practicing with each one before introducing another.

We also teach the strategy and tactics of chess to those who know all the rules. The tactics taught include pins, forks, and discovered attacks; the basic endgames include king and queen against king, king an rook against king, and king and pawn against king. The opening strategy includes the ideas of controlling the center, developing the minor pieces, and getting the king into safety.

Dutch

I lived in the Netherlands for 8 1/2 years (1986-1995), working for a Dutch company then called Buro voor Systeemontwikkeling. I took lessons with tutors twice a week for the first year. I also spoke Dutch with my colleagues at work and at the chess club that I was a member of after the first month or so. Given my strong background in German, learning the basics of Dutch was not difficult, although it proved much more difficult to adapt to the pronunciation and rhythm of the language.

I also taught Dutch on two occasions while working for a company called TranSemantics in Washington DC between 1995 and 2000. My one student was a man married to a Dutch woman who had a basic knowledge of the language, but wanted to expand his vocabulary and fluency.

English

I have studied many languages and have always been particularly interested in the different grammatical systems. This led me to get a Phd. in linguistics.

I have taught English to students from various countries, including all the inhabited continents that don't already speak English.

ESL/ESOL

I taught English to German students in Germany for two years.

I taught English to students from many countries, especially Asian ones in this country for four years.

French

I studied French for six years in middle school and high school and one in college. While I lived in Europe, I had opportunities to practice my French both in France and occasionally in other countries.

German

I lived in Germany for a total of almost ten years. When appropriate, I used German when teaching at universities there. In the states, I have taught it to both children and adults.

Grammar

I have a lot of experience with grammar from both the theoretical and practical viewpoint. The theoretical training is that I have an advanced degree in linguistics and have studied the grammar of a lot of languages. The practical experience is that I have written a lot of articles and taught grammar for English and other languages to quite a few students.

GRE

I was always good at math in school, have always done math problems in my head, and did well on all standardized multiple choice problems.

I was less good at the kind of material in the verbal section, but since then my training in linguistics and wide reading have improved my skills in this area.

Latin

Latin and Greek was my undergraduate major in college. My graduate studies in linguistics makes me particularly well-trained in grammatical concepts.

SAT Reading

The SAT reading test has multiple choice questions. Tutoring a student often involves getting him or her to see why one answer is better than the others. It also may involve going back to the text to find a part that shows why a given answer is right or wrong. I think I am good at both of these procedures.

Spanish

Several courses while in the military, as well as a lot of self-study. That, plus the similarity to related languages, was enough to allow me to get a perfect score on the WyzAnt qualifications test.

TOEFL

I have quite a lot of experience teaching English to speakers of other languages, both in a group and individuals. In addition, my training in linguistics is especially helpful in explaining grammatical concepts.

Vocabulary

As someone trained in linguistics, I am used to thinking about the meanings of words and how they are used in practice. This training has been supplemented by reading and writing on a variety of subjects. So I have both theoretical knowledge and practical experience.

Trinity College
Classics
Indiana University
Master's
Indiana Univeersity
PhD

Education

Trinity College (Classics)

Indiana University (Master's)

Indiana Univeersity (PhD)

Methodical and thorough — Dan is very patient and capable of working with young students. He is a very methodical and thorough teacher. As a chess instructor he found the weaknesses and the strengths in our son’s play. Then he tailored the lessons to focus on exercises and strategies that help with the weaknesses. As a German language instructor he has an effective approach to teach our son, who is 9 years old, and doe ...

— Sashka, Vienna, VA on 3/29/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

If you commit to at least 4 hours, the rate is $40 per hour. Similarly, for a group of 2 or more, the rate is $30 per hour per student. For both of the above combined, the rate is $20 per hour.

Travel policy

Daniel will travel within 20 miles of Mc Lean, VA 22101.


About Daniel

I have quite a lot of experience teaching languages both to groups in the classroom and to individuals, especially English to foreign students, both ESL and EFL, but have also taught German, Dutch, Latin, Esperanto and French. My training in these and other languages, plus my training in linguistics (Phd.) gives me a thorough understanding of how language works.

My tutoring methods depend on the needs of the student. For a language that is generally not spoken like Latin, this means understanding the grammar and memorizing the forms. Sometimes a student only needs to acquire a reading knowledge of a language. In that case, a certain degree of the above methods needs to be supplemented by actual reading of texts. If a student needs to develop some degree of skill in speaking a language, then the main emphasis needs to be on actual free conversation, if the student is advanced enough at that point, otherwise various exercises from workbooks can be applied.

Testimonials

"Methodical and thorough"

- Sashka, Vienna, VA on 3/29/14
}

Education

Trinity College
Classics
Indiana University
Master's
Indiana Univeersity
PhD

Education

Trinity College (Classics)

Indiana University (Master's)

Indiana Univeersity (PhD)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
12 hours notice required

If you commit to at least 4 hours, the rate is $40 per hour. Similarly, for a group of 2 or more, the rate is $30 per hour per student. For both of the above combined, the rate is $20 per hour.

Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Mc Lean, VA 22101

Daniel’s Subjects

Math:
Algebra 1,
Geometry, Logic, SAT Math
History:
American History, European History, World History
Elementary Education:
Grammar,
Reading, Vocabulary
Business:
GRE
Homeschool:
Algebra 1,
Dutch,
English,
ESL/ESOL,
French,
Geometry, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading,
Spanish
Test Preparation:
GRE,
SAT Math, SAT Reading,
SSAT, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Chess
Corporate Training:
Dutch,
ESL/ESOL,
French,
German,
Grammar,
Latin,
Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Daniel M.

Daniel M. passed a background check on 10/27/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Daniel, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.