Search 73,248 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Tse S.

UVA Recent Graduate with Math and Economics Major For Private Tutoring

Fredericksburg, VA (22407)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Tse S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Tse S.

Tse S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Tse, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello! Thank you for your interest in me. Below this page is some background information about me. If you would like further information (such as my resume) or have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Background:
I am a recent graduate of the University of Virginia (class of 2014). During my undergraduate career, i have accumulated over 200 hours of tutoring, ranging from advanced placement of most subjects in high school to basic reading and math skills for k-6. In detail, the older students and the corresponding subjects I have tutored were mainly 9-12th graders from Charlottesville High School in mainly math, SAT, social studies, and English subjects. The younger students were in k-6 from Cale Elementary School, Jackson-Via Elementary School, and the Cherry Ave Branch of the Boys and Girls Club in Charlottesville, Virginia. For these younger students, I focused mainly on SOL prep, math, and English skills as a teacher. Lastly, I have over 50+ hours of tutoring college level math and English classes, along with ESOL classes for recent adult immigrants.

My time is very flexible and I can also easily adjust the tutoring material to fit your specific demand and pace. My speciality is math (and all of its branches) and economics but am well versed in most fields of the liberal arts.

I am a fluent English speaker with no accent (19 years native Virginian) as well as a Chinese speaker (Cantonese native, Mandarin conversational). In terms of rate, it will be completely negotiable with the determinants being your distance, difficulty of the subject, and if I am tutoring more than one student.

Email Tse

Tse’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Differential Equations, Discrete Math, Econometrics, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary
Science:
Philosophy, Psychology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, SQL
Language:
Chinese, ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, European History, Government & Politics, Social Studies, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, GMAT, Marketing, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Accounting, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Economics, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
GED, GMAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SOL
Corporate Training:
Accounting, Business, Chinese, Economics, ESL/ESOL, Finance, GMAT, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, SQL, Statistics

Chinese

I have taken two years of undergraduate mandarin in undergraduate (UVA). Native Cantonese speaker because of family and was born and raised in China for 3.5 years (Hong Kong). Born and raised in a family with Chinese as the primary language over English. Spend everyday speaking Chinese more than English, with reading and writing as equally as often.

Elementary (K-6th)

Spent a year becoming a teacher assistant for Cale Elementary in Chancellorsville, Virginia. Rotated frequently between all the core subjects and from one-on-one to teaching an entire classroom of a 3rd grade class. During grade school, I tutored my relatives who were mostly in elementary schools for an average of 10-15 hours a week for all four years of my high school career.

Social Studies

Took all possible AP courses related to social studies in high school. Took all relevant AP courses with an even split between a score of 5 and 4. Took a few college level social studies courses up to 3000 level undergraduate. Volunteered tutored a variety of courses related to social studies in both a k-5 and 9-12 grade environment for a year. Combined, wrote an accumulation of 100 pages+ on fields related to social studies

SOL

Passed every single SOL from k-12 with one try and with a majority of the test being advanced score. Earned the Governor's Seal on my advanced diploma from high school which a prerequisite was superb performance on the SOL.

Statistics

Statistics and Economics double major from UVA.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Tse

back to top

Education

University of Virginia (Statistics)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

May charge less depending on the difficulty of the subject. May charge more if 20 miles+ from Fredericksburg. Will charge less with groups of 2 or more

Travel policy

Tse will travel within 30 miles of Fredericksburg, VA 22407.

Email Tse

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Tse a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Tse or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.