Search 75,922 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Becky G.

Outgoing Tutor for Chemistry and Biology

Burke, VA (22015)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Becky G.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Becky G.

Becky G. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Becky, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I was a non-traditional student studying chemistry and biology at the University of Colorado at Denver and relocated to the Northern Virginia region. I am currently an emergency and specialty veterinary nurse and truly enjoy all aspects of science and medicine. I taught Organic Chemistry I Lab as a TA for a year while in Colorado which included outlining lectures for, tutoring, and simply mentoring over 60 students during that time. I also had the privilege to do the same for additional students who I met during my office hours. I loved helping so much that I would dedicate at least 10 hours each week to additional tutoring sessions (as any good teacher would do). In my first career, I taught children and adults of all ages how to ride horses! So, teaching others what I know has always been a passion of mine. I understand different learning styles and can manipulate a lesson for the benefit of all students.

Email Becky

Becky’s subjects

Sports/Recreation:
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Chemistry, Prealgebra
Science:
Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Nursing, Organic Chemistry, Pharmacology, Physiology
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Prealgebra

Genetics

In college I majored in Biology and minored in Chemistry. I took and passed with a B- or above the following classes: Cell Biology, Genetics, Molecular Biology, Epigenetics, and Molecular Genetics. I taught organic chemistry I lab as a TA for one year and am currently an adjunct instructor at a local community college within my profession as a veterinary technician.

Organic Chemistry

I studied chemistry as an undergraduate and taught organic chemistry I lab as a TA for one year.

Pharmacology

I am a licensed veterinary technician and have been practicing for almost ten years. I work in emergency and critical care medicine as well as anesthesia as a specialty, so my practical skills and knowledge in pharmacology are considered advanced. Since humans and animals are very much alike in physiology, I believe my knowledge can help anyone looking for pharmacology tutoring assistance.

I am a licensed veterinary technician in the states of Virginia and Colorado. I have applied for specialty status in emergency and critical care and am waiting to hear if I am eligible to sit for the national boards. This requires years of specialty experience, case logs and reports, and is an elite group that comprises only 300 licensed technicians in the United States. Furthermore, I am eligible to apply for my Anesthesia specialty, which is similar to a human Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, as it takes years of experience and knowledge in a vast category of drugs and physiology to get to this point.

I have a resume and references available to assist in your deciding whether or not I am eligible to become certified in pharmacology tutoring on Wyzant.

Volleyball

I have played volleyball since middle school. Throughout high school I was on the junior varsity and varsity teams as a setter. I played in college for two years at a Division III school. It has been years since I have been on those teams, however, I still get to play with other amateur adults. The techniques, drills, and overall game rules are still fresh in my mind and I would love the opportunity to help train someone who is wanting that extra time off court or in the sand, needing to continue training during off season, or simply looking for other training methods for volleyball.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Becky

back to top

Education

University of Colorado, Denver

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Becky will travel within 20 miles of Burke, VA 22015.

Email Becky

Send Becky a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Becky or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.