Search 74,098 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Kathy S.

Experienced and Effective Reading Tutor (for dyslexia also)

Bumpass, VA (23024)

Travel radius
0 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Kathy S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Kathy S.

Kathy S. passed a background check on 7/8/14. The check was ordered by Kathy through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Kathy, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My students find me to be fun and light-hearted, yet very serious about tutoring. I have been teaching children and adults for over 15 years in a home setting. I use the Orton Gillingham method (Wilson materials to supplement) when teaching students who have dyslexic tendencies or other learning differences to read or improve their reading skills. I also tutor students in Math, study skills, writing, and other subjects. My first goal is to make learning fun; my second goal is to help my students master the material.

Email Kathy

Kathy’s subjects

English:
Special Needs:
Test Preparation:
GED
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:

ADD/ADHD

I have specialized in teaching students with dyslexia and ADD/ADHD to read and write since 1990. Not only did I home-school my son who has dyslexia and ADD, I have enjoyed teaching other ADD/ADHD children and adults. I was trained to teach children with learning differences and ADD/ADHD through Bowman Educational Services in Columbia, Maryland. I have a lot of energy and creativity, and I know how to keep the ADD/ADHD student focused and interested.

Cooking

I am a wife and a mother of 4 grown children. I cook from scratch, and have cooked for large groups, families, and friends for many years. I know how to plan meals within a budget, prepare shopping lists, plan ahead, and prepare many kinds of foods. I am currently learning to cook vegan and vegetarian meals. I have also done gluten-free meals. I can cook with and without recipes. I also enjoy baking breads and desserts.

Dyslexia

Since 1990 I have been helping students that have dyslexia and other learning differences improve their reading and writing skills. I received Orton Gillingham training (with Wilson supplements) after my son was diagnosed with dyslexia and ADD. Since then, I have been teaching students with dyslexia from my home-based private tutoring business. My teacher and mentor is Fran B., an Orton Gillingham Fellow. Fran owns tutoring businesses in Maryland and endorses my skills as an Orton-Gillingham reading tutor.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have many years of experience effectively teaching elementary students as a private tutor. I have experience teaching individuals, ages 3 to adult, with and without learning differences in core subjects, including Reading, English, Writing, and Math. I have used a variety of curricula and love teaching.

Elementary Math

I enjoy making Math fun for my students, and I love seeing them master Mathematical concepts and principles.

English

I have many years of experience as a private tutor teaching English/Grammar. I have experience teaching English to individuals ages three to adult with and without learning differences. I have used a variety of curricula. My students respond well to my teaching and we work until they master the material.

Grammar

One of my students came to me needing help with Grammar and Writing; he had so much success that his grandmother told me that he had decided to be an English teacher. What a fabulous occupation I have!

Handwriting

I have had a great deal of success teaching children handwriting--pre-cursive, cursive, and manuscript. I have used a variety of materials, depending on the needs of the child and how they learn. I am extremely patient and love my job or tutoring.

Phonics

Teaching phonics is my area of strength. I have been teaching phonics since 1986. I have received extensive Orton Gillingham training, including a course in 1997, and a refresher course more recently. I have also had a private tutoring business since 1998, where I help children and adults improve their reading and writing skills. I have also trained parents and teachers to use Orton Gillingham. Phonics is never outdated; it always works!!!! I see the results of teaching phonics every day.

Reading

I have many years of experience as a private tutor effectively helping students become better readers. I have experience teaching children and adults (who also have dyslexia) how to read. I started using the Orton-Gillingham reading method in 1997, when my son was diagnosed with dyslexia and ADD. Since then, I have successfully tutored other children and adults in reading. I love teaching and helping people achieve their full potential. I teach and cheerlead people to success.

Special Needs

Since 1998, I have been working 1-on-1 with children, teenagers, and adults that have a variety of special needs. I have a great amount of patience, and I admire and respect each person. I have passion, compassion, and a listening ear and heart to spoken and unspoken needs. I believe that I am an excellent teacher and caregiver...and have served in these roles most of my life. I received Orton Gillingham training (with Wilson supplements).

Spelling

I have many years of experience as a private tutor effectively teaching core subjects, including Spelling. The Orton-Gillingham curriculum is one of the tools that I use. It is a multi-sensory approach to help the poor speller or reader. I teach rules, play games, and use a variety of tools to master spelling. Learning some of the tricks for spelling is crucial for students that struggle with it. A Spelling tutor might make Spelling fun for the first time in the student's life.

Study Skills

I have many years of experience as a private tutor teaching a huge variety of subjects, grade levels, learning abilities, etc. I have effectively worked with all ages and have numerous skills and tips for the student lacking adequate study skills. My students find me to be easy-going, patient, and effective in helping them discover which tips and skills work for them. It is a case-by-case adventure for the student and for me. Because of my vast experience in working with different kinds of learners and personalities, my students successfully improve their study skills.

Volleyball

I played volleyball for University of Mary Washington for 4 years. I was mainly a spiker/hitter but could also set. I played mostly for fun, but my team also played well. I did a volleyball camp at a local private Christian school several years ago. I love the sport....playing it and teaching it.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Kathy

back to top

Education

University of Mary Washington (Psychology)

The University of Maryland (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Kathy will travel within 0 miles of Bumpass, VA 23024.

Email Kathy

Usually responds in about 1 hour

Send Kathy a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Kathy or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.