Search 72,411 tutors

Boae K.

Language Arts/English Tutor

Alexandria, VA (22306)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
Email Boae K.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Boae K.

Boae K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Boae, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a recent graduate of Teachers College, Columbia University with an M.A in Early Childhood and an EdM in Deaf Education. My teaching experience consists of 2 years of teaching 2nd grade, 1 year teaching ESL in Korea, and 6 months working as a preschool floater. In addition, I have 3 years of experience in teaching ESL to international students ranging from elementary to college.

My pedagogy tends to be a blend of different philosophies of progressive, behaviorism, and constructivism as I apply different techniques on a case-by-case basis. Hence, I tailor the lessons according to the perceived needs of the student. In addition, I am always open to new ideas and suggestions and am eager to learn.

Email Boae

Boae’s subjects

ESL/ESOL, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Corporate Training:


As a first generation immigrant, I went through the process of acquiring English as a second language. As a result of my experience, I was able to tutor other Korean students more effectively as I was able to expose differences between the English and Korean syntax. This opportunity came to me as my parents rented out the basement studio of our house for Korean military families. The families requested that I teach their children English to help them adjust to their new environment. My approach was relational in nature as I interacted with my students on peer level, showing them around and assisting them in daily tasks. In terms of formal training, I took courses in linguistics and multicultural education during my graduate program at Teachers College.


My experience with phonics first began in my own childhood as a new immigrant. I learned phonics during my reading period and therefore have some familiarity with this subject. However, my formal training and credentials for teaching phonics come from my previous work experience and graduate program at Teachers College, Columbia University. Having taught second grade phonics for two years, I gained familiarity with bottom-up approach which involves teaching reading from the phonological to textual level. In terms of formal training, my program consisted of courses in language development, linguistics, and visual phonics-an instructional tool used for children with language difficulties. My degrees in Early Childhood and Deaf Education allowed me to learn more about various reading strategies for young children, as well as those with hearing impairments.


I have taken different literacy courses in grad school and at my work; therefore, I am familiar with different approaches to reading - i.e. phonics, whole word, and balanced literacy. Equipped with these strategies, I successfully helped students to develop fluency and comprehension skills.


As a Deaf Ed teacher/Special Ed graduate student, I took courses on language development and speech for the hearing-impaired. I studied the anatomy of the speech organs and had the opportunity to work with students as part of my training. I currently teach 2nd grade at a school where 90% of the population is Hispanic; therefore, I am comfortable with teaching ESOL, which entails teaching correct pronunciation.

Study Skills

My experience in this particular subject was gained as both a student and a teacher. As a student, I had to experiment with different strategies to help me learn the subject matter more efficiently due to my own unique learning styles. For this reason, I decided to learn more about the human mind and intellectual development in college and graduated with a bachelor of science in psychology. My education continued in graduate school as I learned about cognitive development and various learning strategies.

As a teacher, I worked with a diverse set of students from those with ADD to international students. Through this experience, I was also able to discover different approaches to studying and coach the students in better retention of the content. I intend to deliver the same service for my WyzAnt students.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Boae

back to top


Virginia Commonwealth University (Psychology)

Teachers College, Columbia University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Boae will travel within 10 miles of Alexandria, VA 22306.

Email Boae

Usually responds in about 21 minutes

Send Boae a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Boae or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.