Search 73,324 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 200 tutoring hours

Vanessa K.

Spanish, (from Spain) and ESL - all ages, different goals

Aldie, VA (20105)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Vanessa K.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Vanessa K.

Vanessa K. passed a background check on 8/6/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Vanessa, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I was born in Madrid, Spain. I am trilingual, in Spanish, English and German. I left Spain for my last year of college and went to Germany on an Erasmus scholarship to then graduate in tourism management. I liked the experience so much that I ended up living and working there! Later, I met my husband and then moved to the US.

I have always loved tutoring and teaching, I have been teaching since I was in college, in Madrid, and also in Germany when I lived there. I have tutored privately but also at a school. It is such a rewarding experience that I decided to do it full time. I enjoy working with kids but also teaching adults and seeing them grow and master the language. I speak Spanish in my classes 100%; for me that's so important. Your hearing needs to get used to listening and understanding, but of course I translate into English when needed. I work with your level and goals and we will focus in what you need to improve the most. For those who also love to know about our cultures, food, history, I would love to teach you about it while dong it in Spanish!

My Spanish is the Spanish from Europe. It's a bit rare here in the US as you have more people from South America. I think we speak the 'proper Spanish'. Let's get together and get started!
I can't wait to meet you!

Email Vanessa

Vanessa’s subjects

English:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar
Language:
Elementary Education:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Spanish

Elementary (K-6th)

Teaching is my passion. I am originally from Spain and I have been tutoring all my life. I am comfortable teaching all basic elementary skills, including math, reading, spelling, and writing. I was educated at Alcala de Henares University, where I graduated with honors. have lots of experience with small children, and patience is the key to success. I am very experienced helping bilingual students get through the difficulties of being bilingual and overcome their obstacles... I help elementary children improve their reading, understand their math concepts and be creative in writing by also teaching them to think out of the box. Lets get started!

ESL/ESOL

I can help you develop your writing and composition skills, boost your vocabulary and grammar, and
strengthen your reading and language skills. I have experience working with students from different nationalities; tutoring adults, elementary and high school students. For many years I have tutored students who were at risk of failing, or who struggled with English as a second language.

Spanish

Spanish is my mother tongue. I teach Spanish at any level, from beginners to proficiency, to kids, adults and business people who need it for work. We will practice speaking, understanding, reading, grammar. I will asses you in our first session and then I will tailor made your study plan according to your level and needs. I will be happy to teach you about our culture, heritage, history while learning the language if interested!

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Vanessa

back to top

Education

Bachelors (Tourism)

Amazing tutor! I have never been happier with any tutor my daughter has so far. Vanessa works miracle. After long history of struggling in Spanish, my daughter’s grade became “A-” after only two months of tutoring. Vanessa is a very serious teacher, she checks my daughter’s progress not only during the meetings but also through emails during the week. She even contacted the Spanish teacher in order to understand ...

— Alla from Centreville, VA on 6/3/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Special group rates will apply. Rate for Elementary(K - 6th ) is $40/hour

Travel policy

Vanessa will travel within 20 miles of Aldie, VA 20105.

Email Vanessa

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Vanessa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Vanessa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.