Search 75,646 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 300 tutoring hours

Elizabeth M.

Love to Tutor! Algebra 2, Literature, Grammar/ESL

Tomball, TX (77375)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Elizabeth M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Elizabeth M.

Elizabeth M. passed a background check on 4/15/11. The check was ordered by Elizabeth through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Elizabeth, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a full-time tutor who majored in English Education and teaching ESL. I graduated from Bob Jones University in 2009 and taught at Westside Baptist Academy in Katy for two years. I have been tutoring full-time ever since.

To accommodate its small student-to-teacher ratio, WBA uses a Distance Learning System that provided me with the opportunity to teach students one-on-one in all core subjects (Math, Science, History, English, Spanish) on all levels (9th through 12th).

WyzAnt has provided me with the wonderful opportunity to work with students of all ages, from 5 year-olds to 55 year-olds, in a variety of subjects. I love working with people - young and old - who have a desire to learn and want to improve their study skills.

I offer a versatile tutoring experience. I challenge my students with hands-on activities that simplify academic materials and provide additional practice for skill mastery.

I am proficient in teaching writing and reading on all levels; understanding and interpreting literature; explaining and applying English Grammar; and developing vocabulary reasoning skills.

In addition to Language Skills, I have the greatest proficiency in tutoring Elementary and Intermediate Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2 (with Trigonometry), Geometry, and the lower-level sciences.

I am currently tutoring several first-generation ESL learners in conversational English and TOEFL reading, vocabulary, writing, and pronunciation.

Among my experiences, I have taught ESL learners from Spanish, Filipino, and Chinese language backgrounds. I've also organized and implemented several curriculae, including a 6-week College English summer program in Shanghai -2008-.

I enjoy volunteering at my church. Together with my husband, I work with the teenagers and young people in our youth group.

Email Elizabeth

Elizabeth’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading
Test Preparation:
TOEFL
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, English, ESL/ESOL, Piano, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Music:
History:
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
Science:
Anthropology, Physical Science
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Prealgebra
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing

Anthropology

Anthropology was my favorite class in college, hands-down! I am fascinated by the study of humans and their interaction. Things such as culture, language, religion, and how they interact to help form and determine the success of a people group are all incredibly interesting to me. The hands-on field research we were required to do included a three-tiered observation of how people respond to stimuli. I observed proximity between White-Americans in polite settings. I observed a standard 1 ft., non-negotiable boundary, and tested it by moving closer. It provided some interesting results!

As stated before, this was one of my favorite studies. I can offer a student the enthusiasm they may need to make it through this course, as there is a lot of term memorization under the tutilege of some teachers.

ESL/ESOL

I majored in English Education with an emphasis in teaching ESL/EFL at Bob Jones University. I logged 20 credit hours of study, with two practicums, specifically in teaching ESL. My practicums gave me real-life experience working with ELLs from Korea, Mexico, and Dominican Republic. One practicum was designed as a one-on-one with another college student whose English was low advanced. I helped her pass her Freshman English class by helping her with grammar. I also helped her work on accent reduction.

During the summer of 2008, I was able to go to China for a 6 week term to host a 5-week summer school for nursing students at the Shanghai Institute of Health Sciences. During those 5 weeks, I taught a group of over 50 students some intermediate- to advanced-level vocabulary/grammar. I helped develop a curriculum for this new class. I designed activities that helped students reduce accent reduction, interact with one another in English. I incorporated a number of different methods and activities, including TPR, games, manipulatives, and collaborative learning.

I have worked with individuals from Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, and Korean language backgrounds. I am strong in writing, grammar, and reading, but can assist with accent reduction, intonation, and other spoken English needs. I would love to incorporate my skills in teaching many students how to become more proficient English speakers!

Piano

I have been teaching piano lessons for two years, and playing for a total of four years. I have mostly worked with beginners up through Alfred's Book 2B. I am familiar with the circle of fifths, level 4 theory, and usually incorporate both elements into my instruction. I believe that understanding music is just as important as being able to play it.

Study Skills

In all of my teaching experience, I have noted that those students with good study skills are the ones who succeed in understanding course material. The focus is on understanding - not merely "doing" - schoolwork.

I have studied a Behavioral Science approach to developing study skills, and have instructed many students how to develop tailor-made study skills that meet their individual learning needs. Good study skills become habitual, given enough practice.

I believe that true mastery of any subject matter relies on the student knowing how he learns, and then using the learning methods that work best for him to develop good study habits. These study "skills" eventually become the tools that carve out student achievement.

Trumpet

I took trumpet lessons in college with an under-professor, since it was not my major. I had a great desire to learn trumpet when I was in 10th grade and am largely self-taught. I currently have one student who, using Arban method, is playing in the high school band after only two months of lessons.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Elizabeth

back to top

Education

Bob Jones University (English Ed with TESL)

Super Patient My name is Angelika and I am an older student. I decided to go to College and finally be someone. Ms. Elizabeth has been a big part in my journey. I really struggle in Algebra, but with her help and patience I have come a long way. Things that were impossible for me to solve as I thought seem easy now. She has a way of explaining my Algebra problems to me that I can see it. She is always open to m ...

— Angelika from Katy, TX on 3/23/12);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Piano lessons are $25/half hour lesson unless otherwise specified.

Travel policy

Elizabeth will travel within 15 miles of Tomball, TX 77375.

Email Elizabeth

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Elizabeth a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Elizabeth or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.