Search 75,921 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 300 tutoring hours

Beth T.

Homeschooling Mom with 15 years experience

San Antonio, TX (78212)

Travel radius
5 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Beth T.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Beth T.

Beth T. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Beth, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have a degree in education, and was certified in the state of New York. I have since been teaching my four children at home and all are successful students. I am a proctor for the Iowa Test of Basic Skills, and my children have been tested regularly to assess their progress. My oldest is a senior and is a National Merit Scholar semi-finalist (awaiting the next stage of elimination.) With the exception of some of the higher level sciences, I have taught them all academic subjects, plus given them a good basis in the arts.

I love children and teaching. There is nothing like the thrill of watching a young child first catch on to reading, or seeing the light go on as they first understand a math or grammar concept. I believe in teaching until mastery, not giving a poor grade and moving on, but continuing to reinforce a skill until it is firmly learned, while also not boring a student with busy work, but challenging him as he is ready to receive more.

Email Beth

Beth’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Hebrew, Spanish
Sports/Recreation:
Ballet, Cooking, Needlework, Sewing
Test Preparation:
GED, Praxis, SAT Math, SAT Reading
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Music:
General Music, Music Theory
History:
American History, Geography, Social Studies
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Hebrew, Spanish
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
English:
Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary

Ballet

I have studied ballet as well as tap and Israeli folk dance for years, and have had several opportunities to teach in various settings. I have given ballet lessons through community and homeschool organizations, have taught Israeli dance to church groups, and dance with my own girls at home. I love dance and keep in shape so that I will be able to demonstrate correct technique.

Bible Studies

I have a good general knowledge of both the Old and New Testaments. I have written and taught studies to both kids and adults. I am often assisted by my husband, who has a master's of divinity, and a good knowledge of Greek.

Cooking

I have been cooking for years, and have a reputation for excellent food. I have given classes to adults and children in my home with great success. I have taught various techniques that would allow the students to cook a variety of foods at home. I also often include safety issues, meal planning and nutrition. The greatest reward for me has been hearing the parents say that their kids are cooking at home - that they made dinner, or they make homemade bread for the family. I also love to hear moms tell me that their kids are eating vegetables that they wouldn't eat before!

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a degree in education, and have taught my own four children at home. I have covered every subject from preschool age through the better part of high school. My oldest is a senior this year, and in line for National Merit Scholar. My youngest is in third grade. So I have successfully led three children through elementary school and am working on the fourth. I can cover all the basic elementary subjects, as shown from my certifying tests here. And I have both boys and girls, so I can relate to either.

Elementary Math

I have taught my own four children at home, and use a variety of materials. I strive to teach for mastery, believing it is important to learn a skill well before teaching the next, as each skill in math build on the previous ones. With the younger kids, I try to make learning fun, using games when possible.

General Music

I have a basic understanding of music. I homeschool my four children and we sing, play a variety of instruments and cover basic music theory and music history. I taught each of my children to play the recorder when they were young, which helped them move on to other instruments when they were ready to choose. I also expose them to a variety of music genres to increase their appreciation of music.

Hebrew

While I am far from fluent, I can give a good base for studying Hebrew. I have taught the alphabet, both printed and handwritten, and how to read and pronounce the language. I can also teach basic vocabulary, and a number of grammar concepts. I have taught my own four children, using a variety of resources.

Phonics

As a homeschool mom, I have taught my four children to read, and found it one of the most exciting parts of teaching them. With each child, I found I had to adapt the method to their different styles and temperaments, but I always used the classic phonics rules. I also like to teach with games whenever possible.

All four of my children are excellent readers, my oldest receiving a perfect 800 on the reading portion of the SAT, and my youngest, at age eight, reading significantly above grade level.

Spanish

I have lived in Costa Rica, where we attended language school. I have taught all of my children Spanish, and my oldest tested out of four semesters of college Spanish. I teach by a combination of methods.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Beth

back to top

Education

College of St. Rose (Albany, NY)

Excellent tutor Beth is very good at varying the lessons to keep them fresh and building on past accomplishments. We are very pleased with our daughter's progress and growth. ...

— Tony from Cibolo, TX on 3/19/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Beth will travel within 5 miles of San Antonio, TX 78209.

Email Beth

Send Beth a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Beth or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.