Search 73,732 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Rebecca B.

Excellent Experienced Tutor in a Variety of Subjects

Rockdale, TX (76567)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Rebecca B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Rebecca B.

Rebecca B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Rebecca, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Note: I live in Rockdale, Texas about an hour from the Greater Austin Area, Bryan College Station Area, and the Temple Area. I am more than willing and able to take jobs in those areas but can only list a radius of 40 miles from a given zip code. I change the zip code up regularly to look for jobs, so if you are in a 90-120 mile radius of 76567 feel free to contact me if you are needing help in any of the subject areas I teach in. Thanks.

I can teach biology, interdisciplinary science, composition, literature, grammar, writing, history (U.S., world, and European), various computer programs such as Word, Excel, and Windows, government (U.S. and state/local), test prep, essay writing for all levels and bilingual, and other subjects. If the subject you are needing help in is not listed feel free to email me. I also have years of experience working with language impaired, learning impaired, dyslexic students as well as students with other disabilities. I have extensive experience working with various age groups, special needs, subject matters, and situations.

I have tutored, coached, and substitute taught since 2002. I have taught students about the history, society, economy, warfare, and other aspects of the medieval and Renaissance periods. I have tutored individuals one-on-one in: essay writing, composition I, pre-algebra, and intermediate algebra. In doing so, I have increased student's English and mathematics test scores by 14% through private tutoring and special attention. In private tutoring, I have developed interesting course plans to meet academic, intellectual and social needs of students.

When coaching I have excelled at teaching youth with no sports experience soccer, team work, and sportsmanship. As a coach I lead the underdog team through a well played, enjoyable, growing season. As a coach I increased parental involvement from 0% to 90% through parent-coach meetings and memos home. As a substitute teacher I was frequently requested to substitute for grades 1 through 5 and high school. As a substitute I demonstrated excellent classroom management skills. As a substitute I gained experience teaching a wide-variety of subject areas and ages.

As a tutor I aided ESL students in the correct essay format and identifying and correcting common grammar and punctuation errors in their writings. As a tutor I taught individuals in group or one-on-one in: psychology, essay writing, British literature I and II, United States History I and II, United States Government I and II, general biology I & II, genetics, logic, anatomy and physiology I and II, archaeology, anthropology on a post high school level. As a tutor I have also had to design lesson plans focused on age and level-appropriate material.

Overall I have a vast variety of experience making me an ideal tutor, teacher, or coach for most any situation.

---My hourly rate includes tutoring in the best learning style to you, access to me outside of tutoring while we are tutoring (if you have questions etc. you are able to email me).

***Currently I am only available Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4pm to 9pm.****

I require 1 hour minimum sessions, I recommend 2 hours to give enough time to get through everything.

Email Rebecca

Rebecca’s subjects

English:
ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Biology, Physiology
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
History:
American History, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Social Studies, World History
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Biology, English, Reading, SAT Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT Reading, SAT Reading
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Dyslexia

I am dyslexic as is my son I know all the 'tricks' to improving your reading, spelling, reading comprehension, etc. For example: I took my self from a 1st grade reading level to 10th grade reading level in five years with no assistant in school. If you or your child has dyslexia and is willing to put in the work to improve their reading, spelling, reading comprehension, and word problem scores I can help you / your child get there. I have aided ESL and learning disabled students in the correct essay format, common grammar and punctuation errors in their writings.

Hard Of Hearing

I have worked with many people with varying degrees of hearing loss. I am very aware of the issues that tend to come with it since there is massive hereditary hearing loss in my family affecting all of my aunts, my mother, and many of my cousins on my mother's side. I feel very confident that I can teach most any hearing impaired individuals with learning how to work around it, how to moderate their note taking styles to accommodate their hearing loss. I do not know sign language at the moment, so if someone has severe hearing loss as to need sign language but CANNOT read lips, I am afraid I may not be able to help much. Otherwise I would love to help anyone who has hearing loss improve their grade, note taking, etc.

Microsoft Windows

I have been working on the Microsoft Windows platform for nearly 20 years. I am competent with Windows 95, 2000, XP, and Vista.

Needlework

I can sew by hand - such as clothes together or mending or sew a button in place. I can cross stitch and needle point, too. If you want to learn this very important and dying-out skill set, I can teach you how. Besides, when you are watching TV wouldn't it be nice to be productive too?

Sewing

I teach traditional sewing: hand sewing. I can teach you how to make your own cloths by hand, how to decorate them with hand made trim in the 'cruel', 'needlepoint' or 'cross stitch' fashion. I have been sewing by hand for 11 years

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Rebecca

back to top

Education

Western Governors University, BA w/ Teaching Certificate in UT and TX (Biological Science )

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Group rates are available. I require a 24 hour advance notice for a canceled lesson and charge the same rate that the lesson will be if I am not notified.

Travel policy

Rebecca will travel within 40 miles of Rockdale, TX 76567.

Email Rebecca

Usually responds in about 4 hours

Send Rebecca a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rebecca or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.