Search 75,452 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Salem M.

Salem: Art, Literature, Music, and Etc. Things

Keller, TX (76244)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Salem M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Salem M.

Salem M. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Salem, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My name is Salem and I am a skilled reader and artist. I've been in advanced reading and English classes since I was young, and find literature to be interesting, wonderful, and easy to understand. I have a extensive vocabulary and I am good at spelling. I read everything from children's books to poetry to adult fiction to classics to medical texts, and have a substantial amount of books at my house. Things I most enjoy reading are medical books, fantasy books, Shakespeare, and classics. I'm good at pulling meaning from in between the lines and explaining what is happening in the chapter. I write very often, mostly poetry and novels, and I am in the process of editing a completed novel at the moment. I am good with sentence structure, grammar, and pronunciation.

As for my art, I have been drawing since I was little and specialize in pencil/graphite pictures. I draw mostly stylized anime, but I also excel at realism and being able to draw portraits from life or from a photograph. I've been entered into two competitions, Texas VASE art competition and the competition following it, Texas state VASE. I entered two pieces: a self-portrait done in blue ballpoint ink pen and a composite drawing of an airship made of steampunk and pirate objects done in black ballpoint ink pen. They both received a 4 in the first competition, and the blue ink drawing was chosen to go to the state VASE competition. Both were featured in the Keller City Hall art gallery and were each awarded. The blue ink won Best In Show (2D art) and the black ink won Best In Category (black and white). They've been chosen to be put on display at a high class company as well, and I have prints of each if one desires a better view. I enjoy art and it fills a large part of my life. I am very passionate about it and believe that each person has some sort of artistic ability. I can provide some of the pieces in my portfolio at request.

Musically, I can play flute and bassoon, and was in school band from fifth to eleventh grade. I've played flute for five years and bassoon for two. I own my flute, but I do not have a bassoon. I can play some piano and can read sheet music. I can also sight read fairly well. I adore learning new instruments and I am currently making my way through learning guitar and banjo. I hope, at some point, to learn the sitar and samisen as well.

I'm not very athletic, but I was enrolled in ballet for four years. It was something I excelled in and thoroughly enjoyed. It's been two years since my last year, but I remember a good portion of the techniques and positions. With some research, I should be able to be reminded easily of the rest. I never did pointe.

Besides my strong points, I know bits and pieces of information on a vast amount of random and not so random subjects.

I'm good at working with young children and I am a very patient and laidback person. I enjoy being able to laugh and making the learning process fun. I have mild Tourette's Syndrome and slight ADD, so I know how being unable to focus on a subject can feel (I also know how it feels to hyperfocus on a subject, which can be just as bad), and therefore I am able to work with someone with ADD/ADHD to make sure they're getting the information and studying they need. I can work in silence or quiet and with background noise. I am eighteen years old and have graduated high school, and will be going to college this fall. I cannot work Monday and Wednesday from 6-9pm or Sundays from 1-3pm. I also take an online English course, which may interfere with scheduling slightly. Other than that, my hours are flexible. I have my own transportation and I don't smoke.

My methods are varied; I try to fix each situation to suit the student. Knowing likes and dislikes can help me fit them into the studying and practice-I am a creative person, so figuring out games and such to fit both the student's attention and the required study isn't something that's very hard for me. I myself am a very visual learner, and I find it easy to learn using such things as color and music. I also find that teaching one by example is an excellent way to go.

Email Salem

Salem’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Reading, Writing
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Dyslexia
Art:
Drawing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Music:
Flute
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Salem

back to top

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Salem will travel within 10 miles of Keller, TX 76244.

Email Salem

Send Salem a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Salem or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.