Search 75,478 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Mollie S.

Reading, Writing and Arithmetic! by Mollie

Joshua, TX (76058)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Mollie S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Mollie S.

Mollie S. passed a background check on 1/21/14. The check was ordered by Mollie through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Mollie, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Home school challenging? Public school frustrating? Private school difficult?

I have taught all three! I have experience working with students with learning differences as well as college prep high achievers. I am a teacher from my heart and enjoy planning unique and motivating lessons for kids like yours.

I graduated from Texas A&M, taught in the Austin area in public schools for 4 years and then I started my family. I had six children over the next 8 years. I home schooled them in all subjects, running various co-ops in my home or church for about 14 years. We studied Bible, Latin, music, history, math, wrote novels and essays, and read lots of great, great books. For the last five years, I have taught 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th grades in a private school and served as the English Department Head.

I have two children with disabilities, whose educational challenges provided me the motivation and opportunity to develop strategies for helping kids with dyslexia and nonverbal learning disorders. I also attended training and gained a Level One Certificate as a therapist for the National Institute for Learning Disabilities.

I believe your child can learn if given customized lessons. I enjoy trying different, sometimes unconventional approaches until something clicks. Please email me and let's talk about your unique needs. I like students and I like parents! I want to listen to your story and see where I can make a difference!

Email Mollie

Mollie’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Writing
Business:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Language:
ESL/ESOL
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I have a level one certification as a Learning Disabilities Therapist from the National Institute for Learning Disabilities. I have homeschooled six children, three of whom had learning disabilities, one of which was ADD. I have participated in ARD and IEP writing for different types of special needs students as well as studied test reports of many students in order to make accommodations in the private school, public school and home school classes that I have taught.

Bible Studies

I have led numerous Bible Studies in Baptist and Community and Bible Churches for children and women. I took several religion classes at Baylor and have read the Bible regularly through the years to my children and for my own devotions.

Dyslexia

I have taught several dyslexic students in home school and classroom settings. I earned a Level 1 Therapist Certificate from the National Institute for Learning Development, then worked as a therapist with 3 students using their interventional strategies. I used the Orton-Gillingham LD strategies for phonics instruction and auditory and oral recall for developing reading comprehension and vocabulary skills.

Elementary (K-6th)

I hold a Elementary Lifetime Provisional Teaching Certificate for Texas issued by the University of Texas in Austin. I also have taught home school co-ops one to two days per week for about 14 years over all subjects except math. I homeschooled math through Algebra I for my own children.

Phonics

I have worked at Armbrust Christian Academy as a curriculum consultant for one year where I replaced their phonics program using an adapted approach of Spaulding method (Sanseri). I have used a number of phonics programs in working with children, as well as receiving training from the National Institute for Learning Disabilities in using their Blue Book methods and materials. Some of these include the Victory Drill Book, Blumendal's Alpha-Phonics, The Writing Road to Reading and Spelling, A Beka products, and Wanda Sanseri's Wise Guide to Spelling.

Public Speaking

I taught an 8th grade Speech class in a public middle school in the Austin area and was the UIL coach for speaking and writing competitions from that school. I have spoken at Classical Education conferences and at Rotary Club meetings. I have incorporated public speaking in my Pre-AP English 9 and Pre-AP English 10 programs over the last 5 years at Christian Life Preparatory School.

Reading

I love to teach children to read. I taught each of my own six children to read and each of them had different learning styles and pathways to reach their current college reading levels. I also served as a consultant to a private school seeking to improve their reading and spelling scores by providing new training and curriculum to the elementary teachers. I have a collection of reading strategies that I can share with you so that you can work with your child on a daily basis through the summer or semester to supplement tutoring lessons.

Special Needs

I home schooled 2 special needs children, one with nonverbal learning disability (executive functioning, spatial/perceptual disorder,etc) and physical disabilities, and the other with dyslexia. I received one week of training and Level 1 Certification by the National Institute for Learning Disabilities. I have read 4 or 5 books on the topic and worked with several other students with learning difficulties as a tutor. I enjoy adapting content to learner's needs.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Mollie

back to top

Education

Texas A&M University

Best Tutor! Lessons with Mollie have been so helpful! She really knows what my child needs work on and uses great strategies. She is very experienced. My child looks forward to her visits. I'm very grateful I found her! ...

— Toni from Cleburne, TX on 4/24/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Mollie will travel within 20 miles of Joshua, TX 76058.

Email Mollie

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Mollie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Mollie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.