Search 73,888 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Denise E.

All Children and Adults Can Learn

Houston, TX (77061)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$65.00
Email Denise E.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Denise E.

Denise E. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Denise, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have worked with children for more than 19 years in the field of education with high school and elementary students. I have worked in the area of special education and general education; I have worked with students who were labeled AU, ADHD, ED, LD, MR, and who had other health impairments. I have also worked as an after-school facilitator, after-school academic tutor, ESL/ESOL tutor, and substitute teacher.

I am currently working as a tutor and a substitute teacher. When I tutor, I always see at what level the child/client is performing. I speak with the parents to get to know more about the child’s/client's academic level. If the child/client needs help in reading, I go over letter recognition, phonics, sound letter recognition, and other related topics. It depends on the level of the child/client. I try to meet the child/client where he or she is and then work from there. My experiences working as a tutor have been successful and I look forward to working with you.

Email Denise

Denise’s subjects

English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Computer:
Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Handwriting, Reading, Study Skills
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Microsoft Word

ESL/ESOL

I have worked as a private tutor in ESL and with students in grades PK-12 in a school setting. I have also worked as a teacher part-time at Quick Learning which is a private company that teaches English as a second language to adults.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Denise

back to top

Education

University of Houston

Lively and knowledgeable Denise has been great with my lively five-year old. She herself is a fun-loving, but knowledgeable and patient tutor who adapted her style to 'reach' a busy five-year old. She is well -organized and from our first session, came prepared to address my daughter's needs. ...

— Maylene from Houston, TX on 2/12/12);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $65.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Denise will travel within 10 miles of Houston, TX 77061.

Email Denise

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Denise a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Denise or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.