Search 74,322 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Susan-Skye B.

Tutor for grade-school subjects, computer skills, crafts & music.

Dickinson, TX (77539)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$25.00
Email Susan-Skye B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Susan-Skye B.

Susan-Skye B. passed a background check on 8/26/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Susan-Skye, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi, my name is Susan and I'm looking forward to working with you and/or your child!

I'm interested and knowledgeable about many subjects, including (but not limited to) history, science, English, literature, writing, art, music, handicrafts, and design.

I have tutoring experience in reading and English, and experience teaching private beginner piano lessons. I've been singing for 15 years now and playing drums off and on for 9 years, and I can teach rudiments in those instruments as well.
I am an expert in Microsoft Office (multiple versions), and I have experience teaching individuals and group classes Microsoft Office and basic computer skills.
I can also crochet and sew and would enjoy teaching those skills to children.
I have first-hand experience with public libraries and know how to use them to the best advantage. I also have Adult ADD and have much experience with learning and using effective coping skills, and can teach those coping skills to children and adults.

I'm currently working on my first novel, and I occasionally read my poetry in local coffee-shop venues.

I enjoy people of all ages and backgrounds and have years of first-hand experience working with the public and customer service in addition to my teaching experience.

Email Susan-Skye

Susan-Skye’s subjects

English:
Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Geology
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
History:
Religion
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, Phonics
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking, Needlework
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

ADD/ADHD

I have had ADD all of my life and have learned, and continue to use, various coping skills to ensure I'm an effective person. I have also worked with ADD/ADHD preschool children and I know some of what works and what does not work in teaching them. I'm eager to teach these coping skills to others so that they, to, can be effective.

Cooking

I've been cooking since I was 8 years old, and enjoy cooking and eating a wide variety of foods. I know both basic and advanced cooking skills. I regularly create new recipes and adjust or modify existing recipes to suit my tastes or others' tastes.

Drums

I've been playing drums off and on for almost ten years. I know basic and advanced rhythms and sticking techniques. I also know how to read drum music.

General Music

I have been learning, playing and teaching music (off and on) for twenty years. I can play a variety of instruments, and I have taught private children's piano lessons. I also regularly incorporate music into my preschool class.

Microsoft Windows

I have been using Microsoft Windows since childhood. I have taken classes in Windows and computers in general, and I use these skills extensively every day. In previous jobs I was responsible for all computer and software management, and I can load, set up, operate and troubleshoot any Windows OS from 95 to 7.

Reading

I have previously been a reading tutor and work at a private teaching preschool, and have taught reading and math to my preschool class. I also scored in the 97th percentile in reading on the ACT.

Study Skills

I graduated from college with a 3.8 GPA, which would not have been possible if I didn't know how to study. I make high scores on tests, and I know how to organize my studying in order to make those high scores. I can teach someone else those same study methods that have enabled me to do so well academically.
For example, the most important aspects of studying for a test are reading comprehension and memorization of facts; because a person must memorize the facts, but if they do not comprehend what they have memorized, they will be unable to extrapolate that knowledge on a test.

Vocabulary

1. I'm the kind of person who reads the dictionary for fun.
2. Whenever my friends don't know a word, they ask me first, because they know I'll probably know it.
3. I always score high on vocabulary tests.
4. I had a college reading level in the 4th grade.

Voice (Music)

I have been singing for twenty years in choirs and solo performances. I have been privately trained as well. I also already give voice lessons privately.

Writing

I have written poetry, essays, and novels all of my life. I have won awards for my writing. I have performed my poetry live on several occasions to acclaim.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Susan-Skye

back to top

Education

College of the Mainland (General Studies)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $25.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Discounts available for multiple students from the same household and multiple-hour sessions.

Travel policy

Susan-Skye will travel within 30 miles of Dickinson, TX 77539.

Email Susan-Skye

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Susan-Skye a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Susan-Skye or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.