Search 75,919 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Talon D.

Talon the Tutor

Denton, TX (76206)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Talon D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Talon D.

Talon D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Talon, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello! My name is Talon! I have a Master's degree from the University of North Texas in music, and am a Chemistry student at UNT as well.

My teaching experience is thorough. I have taught music privately for the last 6 years, and tutored in music theory, aural skills, and music history for 4 years. I have also tutored in English and Writing, which have both always come naturally to me. My cumulative GPA at OU and UNT is a 3.97, including classes in science, math, English, and extensive music courses.

My teaching style has always been one of adaptation. I know that no two students ever learn in the same way, and it's important that every lesson be tailored to a student's individual needs. Learning, like all problems, can be done most effectively by identifying strengths and weakness, and isolating said weaknesses for improvement. I am comfortable with students of all ages, though the majority of my experience is with middle school students and older.

Learning should be a positive, rewarding experience, and I always hope to brighten someone's day with the pursuit of knowledge.

Email Talon

Talon’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Proofreading
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, ACT Science, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Biology, Chemistry, English, SAT Reading
History:
Science:
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Proofreading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing

Biology

I am a chemistry major at UNT, and have extensive work in biology as well.

Cello

I only feel comfortable teaching beginner cello, having done so for a few years. I teach a few cello students on occasion in the Denton area, as well as being the Denton's ISD most prolific double bass teacher. I have a degree in classical double bass, which in many ways is very similar to the cello, and will be graduating with a master's in double bass this year.

Chemistry

I am a chemistry major at the University of North Texas, with a 4.0 GPA in all sciences courses!

Ear Training

Ear training has always come very naturally to me. I took my ear training courses at Oklahoma City University, where my teacher invented an honors course for myself, since the standard curriculum was much too easy. I held a 4.0 in all my music courses throughout my undergraduate (OU, '10) and graduate career (UNT, '12), and feel more than capable of handling a student at any level. I have tutored in music theory, history, and ear training for many years and feel quite comfortable with it.

General Music

I have nearly 6 years of advanced musical education, from three different prominent universities in the southwest (OCU, OU-BM, UNT-MM this summer), along with less formal musical education in choir and piano as a child. I have a perfect 4.0 GPA in my musical courses, many years of tutoring under my belt, and the desire to help people succeed. I am blessed to be able to understand much of music education. I am also a teaching fellow at the University of North Texas.

Music History

Music history is very similar to other history, with the added benefit of the musical associations the student can make. My teaching in history centers on this, making it clear how different eras of music sound different.

Organic Chemistry

I'm a chemistry major at the University of North Texas and have received an A in both semesters of organic chemistry.

Sight Singing

I took my ear training and sight singing courses at Oklahoma City University. I held a 4.0 in all my music courses throughout my undergraduate (OU, '10) and graduate career (UNT, '12), and feel more than capable of handling a student at any level. I have tutored in music theory, history, and ear training for many years and feel quite comfortable with it. I don't anticipate any trouble tutoring in sight-singing, as I began my vocal training with my grandmother, a professional organist, at the age of 4 and continued on until I began high school.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Talon

back to top

Education

University of Oklahoma

University of North Texas (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Multiple hour lessons will be discounted $10/hr.

Travel policy

Talon will travel within 20 miles of Denton, TX 76205.

Email Talon

Send Talon a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Talon or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.