Search 75,789 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Lisa C.

Lisa C.--Biology, science, Elementary studies, cooking, sewing

Coppell, TX (75019)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Lisa C.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Lisa C.

Lisa C. passed a background check on 9/8/13. The check was ordered by Lisa through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Lisa, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Greetings potential Students and Parents,

The fact that you are reading this page indicates your strong desire to acquire knowledge and develop understanding, two very important ingredients to success.
I would like to help you on this journey. My professional training is in Nursing. I am a graduate of West Texas State University (now West Texas A & M) with a BS in Nursing and minor in Biology. I was an Army Nurse, final rank of LTC, and graduated from the Command and General Staff College. The bulk of my career has been spent in the operating room. Most of the subject areas I have listed as proficient pertain to Science. The other areas I will explain now.
ADD/ADHD I have life experience in this area because my son was diagnosed with ADHD in elementary school. We learned about this condition together. He is now graduated from the Australian Academy of Design and is a happy, responsible, contributing member of society.
SEWING I have been sewing, both hand and machine, since the age of 9. I have designed and executed clothing, accessories, toys, and home decor. In college I won 3rd place at the South Plains Fair in Lubbock for a lined pant suit. I have experience with repairs, alterations, and recycling.
COOKING I love to cook in all its forms and have 35 years of experience including cooking for a family, preserving by canning or freezing, specialty cakes, international recipes and techniques. I lived in Europe for over a decade and learned to appreciate and replicate much of the varied cuisine.
ELEMENTARY studies (reading, elementary math) I have raised 3 children, one with a learning disability, and all have attained a college education. The early years were in German public schools, so English and reading were taught at home by me. All of my children needed help in basic math and I was the helper. This proved to be a blessing because it provided the platform to teach money management as part of "Why do I need to learn this?"
RELIGION My background is Christian and I have experience as a Sunday School teacher with middle school students. This curriculum involved the basic tenets of Christianity as well as comparison study of other major religions.

I have over 5 years' teaching experience with the City Colleges of Chicago, European Division as well as developing and presenting several continuing education offerings for my current employer. I hope that I can help you.


Email Lisa

Lisa’s subjects

Sports/Recreation:
Homeschool:
Biology, Reading
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD
Elementary Education:
Elementary Science, Reading
History:
Geography, Religion
Science:
Anatomy, Biology, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Physical Science, Physiology
English:
Reading

Anatomy

I taught Anatomy and Physiology for City Colleges of Chicago, European Division. I have been an Operating Room Nurse from 1980 to the present.

Cooking

I have 30+ years of cooking experience including cooking for the family, baking, and international cuisine. I have catered small to medium size luncheons and assisted with catering medium large events (wedding receptions). I am current with immunizations and am tested yearly for TB (always negative). I am knowledgeable about food safety and sanitation.

Nursing

BSN 1976 from West Texas State University
RN 1976 to present
CNOR (Certified Nurse Operating Room)
Instructor City Colleges of Chicago, European campus 1985-1992
U.S. Army Nurse Corp 1980-1996
Command and General Staff College 1993

Sewing

I have 40+ years of experience with sewing to include all aspects of fabric selection and preparation, sewing from a comercial pattern or freehand drawing, garment alteration and repair. I have constructed apparel for ladies, children and men, as well as items for home decor such as bedspreads, pillows, and curtains, as well as toys and handbags. I taught beginning sewing to a group of middle school girls, and beginning quilting to a group of adult women. All finished their chosen project.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Lisa

back to top

Education

West Texas State University (Nursing)

U.S.Army 45Command and General Staff College (Other)

Very thorough tutor. I've greatly enjoyed my lessons with Lisa! She is extremely knowledgeable and talks on my level of understanding. Lisa is a great listener as well and is patient with all my questioning. I would definitely recommend Lisa for tutoring! ...

— Holly from Grapevine, TX on 12/3/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

A cancellation fee of $35 is charged for a scheduled lesson that is cancelled, skipped, no show, or rescheduled without at least 2 hours notice.

Travel policy

Lisa will travel within 20 miles of Coppell, TX 75019.

Email Lisa

Usually responds in about 6 hours

Send Lisa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Lisa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.