Search 74,374 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 200 tutoring hours

Mary V.

Patient Tutor - Reading, Art, ESL - Specialize in Learning Differences

Memphis, TN (38134)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Mary V.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Mary V.

Mary V. passed a background check on 2/3/14. The check was ordered by Mary through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Mary, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I enjoy working with students of all ages. The subjects I teach cover a broad range from reading, and basic study skills to ESL and drawing and painting.

Being a parent myself, my personal experience with teaching children is extensive. In addition to having a background in early childhood education, I am certified to tutor in several academic subjects, as well as drawing, painting, and art history. (I would be happy to tutor home-school Art.)

Some of my experiences include working with children with ADD/ADHD and other special needs. I was a certified respite care worker and an approved child care provider for Catholic Social Services while operating a licensed home day care for approximately 10 years when my own children were very young.

Relevant College Credit:
Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Development
Developmental Psychology
Bachelor of Fine Arts - U of M

I also have experience tutoring adults in subjects such as reading, art, and ESL.

When I teach, I teach with patience and encouragement, though I can be firm about keeping a student on task. I provide breaks during sessions, usually based on the student's response to the subject. Frustration is never productive so, if those situations arise, I may provide a break for the student, then return to learning.

I love learning myself, and I also love teaching others. Working with adults and children of all ages is a joy. I look forward to hearing from you and sharing the wonderful world of learning with you and/or your child.

Email Mary

Mary’s subjects

Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Photography
Language:
Special Needs:
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

ADD/ADHD

I can help children with ADD/ADHD focus and get more out of their study time and lessons

Relevant College Credit:
Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Development
Developmental Psychology

While a licensed home day care provider for approximately 10 years I was also a certified respite care provider for children with special needs and an approved provider for Catholic Social Services clients. I cared for older children as well as preschool. In addition, my experience includes volunteer work with the Head Start program in Illinois. I have raised three children of my own. The youngest has ADD, has always maintained a B average or better and is now attending a major university.

Art History

I will provide an overview of art history from ancient times to modern. I can also assist in study habits for drafting reports and to retain information for testing.

Relevant College Credit:
World Art I & II
Medieval Art History
Contemporary Art History

Bible Studies

I have been studying the Bible for over 20 years and have gained a solid bank of knowledge. I began studying because of my basic faith but later in my teen years I began to study in depth as I began to question. As an adult I continue to study because I am always discovering something new. I use reference materials in addition to the Bible including history books, historical documents and dependable Internet resources.

Cooking

I have been cooking since I was a child. I believe I can teach anyone basic cooking skills as well as menu planning and food budgeting.

Drawing

I will teach basic drawing in different media or critique and help refine the more experienced art student.

I am an experienced artist. My favorite drawing media are charcoal and graphite. I have earned my Bachelor of Fine Arts degree with a minor in art history graduating Cum Laude.

Elementary (K-6th)

I can help children with study habits for most subjects. Some of my strengths are reading, writing, vocabulary, and art.

Relevant College Credit:
Early Childhood Education,
Early Childhood Development,
and Developmental Psychology.

I was a licensed home day care provider for approximately 10 years while my own children were small. I cared for school age children, as well as younger children. While running the licensed day care I didn't just babysit. I taught lessons and helped the school age children with their schoolwork. I also volunteered with the Head Start program, was a certified respite care provider for children with special needs, and an approved provider for Catholic Social Services clients. In addition, I have raised three children of my own. The youngest, who will graduate this year, has ADD and has always maintained a B average or better.

Elementary Science

I personally enjoy science very much and would love to share that enthusiasm with my students.

ESL/ESOL

Having lived in South America and having learned a foreign language (Spanish) on my own has helped equip me to assist persons desiring to learn English as a second language. I understand how difficult it is being in a foreign country, what it takes to learn a language that is not native, as well as the nuances of usage vs. direct translation.

I have a variety of experiences tutoring ESL/EFL, from tutoring entire families to individuals. I have tutored persons from Europe and the Americas. I thoroughly enjoy this subject as I love learning about my students and their culture as they learn and/or perfect their English.

Grammar

Good grammar is essential for good communication. I help my students get their ideas across to their audience in an effective way, whether in writing or in speech.

Painting

I will provide instruction to the beginning painter in oil painting, watercolor, gouache or tempera, and acrylic.

I can provide more advanced instruction in oil painting as that is one of my favorite painting mediums and where I have the most experience.

Qualifications:
I am an experienced artist and I have earned my Bachelor of Fine Arts degree with a minor in art history graduating Cum Laude.

Phonics

I will teach reading and spelling techniques using phonics while also providing information regarding exceptions to the phonics rules.

Relevant College Credit:
Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Development
Developmental Psychology

Relevant Experience:
I learned reading with the phonics system.
I have many years of experience working with young children through being a licensed day care provider, volunteering at Head Start, and raising my own three children.

Photography

I am an artist and I have experience as well as college credit in photography. I use both manual focus SLR cameras and digital cameras. Because I don't have a personal dark room I would prefer to teach digital photography which would include taking the pictures, loading them onto a computer and editing. If desired I can teach some basics about manual focus SLR cameras and their usage as well.

Proofreading

I am very detail oriented when editing documents. My eye picks up even small errors in almost anything I read, as well as in movies and speeches.

Reading

I love to read and I will share my passion for reading with my students. One reason people struggle with reading is that they don't see the value. Because they find it difficult it doesn't seem fun or worth the trouble. Once a person learns how, then they are able to explore all of the new worlds reading opens to them. I believe that reading should be fun. Even when it doesn't seem to be, such as a class assignment in a subject a student finds "boring," it can still be viewed in a positive way when you know how to find and understand the information needed. I look forward to helping anyone to read. It's like opening a door to a brand new world.

Sewing

I would be happy to teach basic sewing, both manual as well as the threading and operation of a sewing machine.

Special Needs

I was a certified respite care provider in Illinois. I have experience working with children with various developmental and/or learning challenges including ADD, ADHD, and physical disabilities. I also have experience working with the elderly.

Study Skills

There are keys to studying any topic efficiently and effectively. These include: Time management, Environment, Identification of key information when reading, Memory tools, such as acronyms, familiar relatable clues, personalization of the material, and repetition, and The Cornell System of notetaking.

Vocabulary

Teaching vocabulary is a rewarding experience for student and teacher. Having a good vocabulary enables you to communicate well in a broad variety of environments and with many types of people. I will teach vocabulary according to the student's needs and I will also provide the student with tools to help when my tutoring time is completed.

Writing

I took Accelerated Composition in college and currently still write poetry, short stories, and journal. I'll be happy to assist anyone struggling with writing. Each situation is unique just as each assignment is unique, so I am unable to delineate here exactly what a lesson would entail. I can say that I will try to make lessons fun, as well as useful.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Mary

back to top

Education

University of Memphis (Fine Arts and Art History)

Patient tutor. Mary you are so patient with R.J. and seem to know exactly how to work with him. Thank you so much. It may take him a while but I know he will do well with your help! Thanks! ...

— Anne from Memphis, TN on 1/17/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Mary will travel within 15 miles of Memphis, TN 38134.

Email Mary

Usually responds in about 1 hour

Send Mary a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Mary or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.