Search 74,074 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Elizabeth J.

Seasoned Tutor Wants to Help You Learn English or Spanish!

Fort Mill, SC (29708)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Elizabeth J.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Elizabeth J.

Elizabeth J. passed a background check on 1/7/14. The check was ordered by Elizabeth through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Elizabeth, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been teaching ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) for almost 10 years and truly love what I do. In addition to being TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) certified, I have undergraduate degrees in Spanish and Psychology. My work experience has been quite varied and has given me the opportunity to work with students from all over the world. I currently work for Central Piedmont Community College in Charlotte in the area of Refugee Education. In addition, I have worked with multi-level students, including those who are not literate in their own language. My preference is to include a variety of methods and activities in my lesson planning to engage the student(s), reinforce retention and make learning fun. Lessons include speaking, pronunciation, reading and writing practice. Activities may include games, puzzles, songs and communicative learning tasks.

In addition to teaching English to non-speakers, I also have a passion for the Spanish language. Learning another language is challenging, but can be a lot of fun as well. Helping others to better understand and appreciate the language is very gratifying to me. I love working with students and seeing the "light bulbs" go off. And, more importantly, I have loads of patience!

Email Elizabeth

Elizabeth’s subjects

English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, TOEFL, Writing
Language:
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Study Skills
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, Spanish, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
GED, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Spanish

ESL/ESOL

I am TESOL certified and have been teaching ESOL for over 10 years to various levels of students, including those who are not literate in their native language. Currently, I am teaching at Central Piedmont Community College where I serve on a curriculum development work group.

In addition, I hold degrees in Psychology and in Spanish, including a certificate in Translating (Spanish to English).

I love the ESOL field and find it very gratifying. In addition to teaching, I also learn a lot from my students!

Spanish

I have a degree in Spanish along with many years of study. In addition, I have loads of patience, a passion for the language, and a sincere to desire to help students learn.

Study Skills

I have been teaching ESOL for over ten years. My students are adults and the majority are not literate in their native language. These are individuals who, in addition to learning English, must learn basic organizational and study skills in order to progress and lead successful lives in America. In addition, my own educational achievements required a great deal of organizational skills and test-taking strategies. More recently, I have worked with a high school student who has struggled with Spanish. This was, in part, because he is ADHD and needed to work on his organizational and study skills. After working with him in these areas, his grades have improved along with his level of confidence.

TOEFL

I have over ten years of experience teaching English to speakers of other languages. In addition, I am TESOL certified. I have degrees in psychology and Spanish, including a certificate in translating from Spanish to English. More importantly, I love teaching and helping students. Meeting people from other countries and learning about other cultures is one of my passions.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Elizabeth

back to top

Education

UNC Charlotte (Spanish)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Travel policy

Elizabeth will travel within 20 miles of Fort Mill, SC 29708.

Email Elizabeth

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Elizabeth a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Elizabeth or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.