Search 74,239 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Shane T.

Varied teaching techniques to fit the individual.

York, PA (17402)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Shane T.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Shane T.

Shane T. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Shane, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I grew up in a nice school district within Elkridge, Maryland from elementary school up until middle school. I was diagnosed with ADHD at age six, but I did not let it set me back. Although I struggled in the early part of elementary school, I caught up and exceeded most of my other classmates and was placed in advanced classes starting with math and science in the fourth grade. From there, I progressed in my advanced classes obtaining honors at least once a year maintaining a 3.0 minimum or better in all of my classes. In the sixth and seventh grades, I was a few points shy from skipping a grade. I had moved from Elkridge, Maryland back to York, Pennsylvania where the work was too easy and I passed with little to no effort, so I applied to get into YCST, also known as votech, geared towards computer work such as networking and repair. I dropped out in eleventh grade to pursue a personal computer business and to further my education in college, which is what I am currently doing now. I want to help the youth today, especially those with problems in school, today for a brighter tomorrow.

Growing up, I taught my siblings whom were born in 1988, 1994, and 1999. I have many different teaching styles and techniques to give more of a visual and creative touch to doing school, or other, work. I like to make hard work easier by breaking it down and giving other ways of doing the work. Some of the ways I learned were from the teachings of instructors I have had throughout my education while others are ways in which I learned because it suited me better and made more sense to me. I want to work with children whom have difficulty understanding the work, find out why, and what is the best solution and means of teaching them. Everyone is different, so the way someone teaches and learns can not be the same for every single person otherwise it leaves behind those who do not understand it.

I can teach all general subjects K-12, I was a lifeguard, swimming instructor, and wrestler in highschool. I am currently enrolled in college studying Business Management with some psychology courses. What I teach, who I teach, and how I teach varies from person to person. Why give your child the same instruction they are getting in class when they can get the tutor they needs that teaches based on the individual person and the work that needs done?!

Email Shane

Shane’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Adobe Flash, Business, General Computer, Grammar, Java, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Proofreading, Statistics
Sports/Recreation:
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Statistics, Writing
Special Needs:
Business:
Business, Marketing, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Science:
Astronomy, Genetics, Philosophy, Psychology
Computer:
Adobe Flash, AutoCAD, General Computer, Java, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer)
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra, Probability, Statistics
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I was diagnosed with ADHD when I was 6 and was medicated until I was 12. I also have worked with my younger siblings who also have ADHD/ADD.

Adobe Flash

I have used and operated the Adobe Flash software since middle school with little to no problems. Can be easily taught to install and use.

AutoCAD

Limited experience with most of the basics since middle and high school.

Business

Currently going to college for an Associates in Business Management. Also working on starting up my own computer repair business while networking with other small computer businesses.

Chess

I have played chess since elementary school. I am not as good as I use to be but I can teach the basics and we can learn as we go while still having fun.

Cooking

I have been cooking and baking since I was 8 living with a family of 7 and at minimum 3 animals, some of which with a specific diet. I have learned to follow recipes as well as come up with my own from being completely fresh with the right equipment to being from a box and making it up as you go along. There is a mix of art, math, science, and fun all in one!

Drawing

I learned I could draw very well when I was 10 years old by looking at something, such as another art piece or drawing, and drawing it while changing the drawing to my liking.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have taught many individuals, from friends to family, since I was in elementary on all subjects. Varied techniques and experience in all subjects and all ages.

Genetics

Genetics was one of my favorite subjects I took when in high school. During that time, I was earning over 100% in the class and was asked to participate in the science fair but had to respectfully decline.

Marketing

While in college, I took a marketing class. I am decent at the basics and can learn with you as we go along because I am very good at adapting to subjects, individuals, and circumstances.

Microsoft Windows

I have used and learned to operate all forms of Microsoft Windows, from 95 on, since 1997.

Networking (Computer)

I have learned to create, operate, and maintain land, wireless, internal, external, virtual, etc networks since 2005.

Painting

A fun and enjoyable art I have practiced on and off since 1999. I do not take it too seriously because I feel it should be enjoyed and understood.

Poker

Playing, both recreationally and sem-competitively, since early 2000. I know how to play different variations of poker.

Soccer

I have played recreationally and semi-competitively in school and church since early 1999.

Swimming

I was a year-around lifeguard and swimming instructor from 2007 until 2008 with much experience teaching and praciticing swimming.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Shane

back to top

Education

Harrisburg Area Community College (Business Management)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Must cancel 24 hours or more before the start of the lesson or an additional $20 is added (cash only). Multiple hour lessons (more than 2 hours) at a 10% discount.

Travel policy

Shane will travel within 30 miles of York, PA 17402.

Email Shane

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Shane a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Shane or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.