Search 73,782 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Karen P.

U.S. Law, :Legal English and Writing, and Introductory Russian Tutor

West Chester, PA (19382)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$65.00
Email Karen P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Karen P.

Karen P. passed a background check on 12/22/11. The check was ordered by Karen through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Karen, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Having retired from a 36-year legal and business career, I now tutor students in law, the American legal system, or English, or all three, as well as basic Russian language. Having authored widely used textbooks on legal writing and oral advocacy, business law, and insurance regulation, and having founded and edited a weekly legal newspaper for lawyers in Pennsylvania, I have a breadth of knowledge about law and the American legal system, generally, and business, insurance, and intellectual property law, specifically. Since retirement, I have developed a specialty in teaching American law and legal English to foreign law students and lawyers.

I earned my CELTA designation - the University of Cambridge's (England) widely accepted certification in English language teaching to adults - in Russia in 2010, where I taught English and the American law system to Russian students in a city east of Moscow. In 2012, I was a Visiting Senior Law Professor in a Russian law school near Moscow, teaching about the American legal system. I also taught the fall semester in 2012 at a graduate law (LL.M./master's in law) program in Moscow and return to teach there the fall semester of 2013.

I taught a grant-funded American legal writing and legal English class to a group of lawyers from Tajikistan for four months last year, then a group from different countries for a month - all at the University of Delaware - and will again teach at that university this summer.

Additionally, I was Assistant Dean for Graduate Legal Studies & External Programs at the Temple University School of Law, administering all post-JD programs, including the master of comparative laws (LLM) degree for foreign students, LLM programs in taxation and legal education, continuing legal education for practicing lawyers, and Summer Sessions Abroad (Athens, Rome, Tel Aviv).

I taught legal writing and oral advocacy to law students at Villanova University School of Law and property law to Villanova paralegal students. I developed a course in Communications Law & Ethics for a new graduate program in international public relations and can tutor that subject. I am interested in teaching English to adults, as well as legal English to foreign students studying law and/or business in the United States or (via Skype) studying American/English law abroad. I can tutor students who hope to pass Cambridge University's International Legal English Certificate (ILEC). I live about 30 miles west of Philadelphia and can travel in this region. I not only have a long, distinguished legal career but also am the mother of a young adult and am accordingly "in sync" with young adults. I look forward to tutoring students!

Email Karen

Karen’s subjects

English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Business:
Law, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Law, Public Speaking, Russian

Bar Exam

I passed the PA Bar exam in 1975. During my first year of law school (covering most of the bar exam subjects), I read aloud all first-year materials to a blind Vietnam veteran law student. I have not tutored anyone recently (recently retired, just beginning tutoring), but I have authored 3 books: One on business law (The Legal Environment of Insurance), one on insurance regulation (Insurance Regulation), and one on legal writing and oral advocacy (Legal Writing and Oral Advocacy). Additionally, for the past 20 years, I worked not only writing these books, but also drafting, literally, thousands of multiple-choice and essay questions on legal and insurance subjects - so I have an excellent feel for examination questions. I also took a graduate course on educational testing. I would advise my student to (1) follow instructions to the letter (we would go over them very carefully), (2) economize on time, not wasting time on things he/she is not sure about, (3) stay somewhere near the testing site so he/she can "fall out of bed" to get to the test (as I did, staying at a comfortable hotel), (4) not talk about the exam with others either before or after the test (too stressful), (5) rest, rest, rest, (6) choose the BEST answer right off the bat and not spend too much time worrying about each one - the initial impulse is probably the correct answer, and spending too much time on conditions, etc. is wasteful. If the student didn't take a particular course at all, he/she should memorize certain aspects of major points. For example, I did not take Sales and Negotiable Instruments - but a wise lawyer told me, "If you do nothing else, memorize the 9-point definition of a holder in due course and be ready to know that, if nothing else!"

ESL/ESOL

I received a certificate in English language teaching to adults (CELTA) from the University of Cambridge, England, in October 2010. I taught English to Russian college students for 2 months last fall. I have also trained in ESL in the Volunteer English Program here in Chester County where I live and have 24 hours toward a master's in English.

Russian

I have taken (in the past 2 years) 24 semester hours of Russian language (for credit - 4.0 GPA, all As, West Chester University) and have taught in the Russian Federation (teaching law primarily to Russian lawyers and law students) for a total of 7 months in the past 2 years (returning this fall to teach another semester). Although I taught in English, I lived there for 7 months and therefore used my Russian every day. In addition, I audited 2 Russian political science courses and 2 Russian culture courses. I just did my first tutoring session with a 14-year-old - I could not teach advanced Russian but am totally competent to teach introductory Russian (as with this student). Thanks!

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Karen

back to top

Education

George Washington University

Northeastern University, Boston (J.D.)

University of Maryland (Graduate Coursework)

Easy Going and Very Pleasant Instructor I am writing to let you know how very pleased I am with your service my son is receiving. My son has displayed some great success. I look forward to my son's continuing progress. Thank you for all your efforts. ...

— Dalyse from West Monroe, LA on 7/8/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $65.00

Travel policy

Karen will travel within 20 miles of West Chester, PA 19382.

Email Karen

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Karen a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Karen or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.